Ratings based on 1,460 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

It's really like being in the country!!!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
It was horrible!!! Smells like old people!! And no flat screen tv, the tv was on one side of the room so the other guest had to be closer to the side of the tv!!! We paid, $350 for 2 nights....then when we get there, we have to pay an additional $14 per night for resort fee and an additional $18 for parking!!!!! Totally $400 for 2 nights in an outdated hotel!!!! Never again will I stay there especially for that outrageous price!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Overall I enjoyed my stay at the town and country resort and hote
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Barbara, Hotel Management
We appreciate your 5 Star rating and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Town and Country. Come back any time!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroach and spider in room. No bedspread,

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Bad experience. No bedspread, cockroach and spiders in room. Didn't give us glasses when asked for them and never got our wake up call
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Barbara, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback, but are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your, or our, expectations. We have already created a work order for our pest control company to come out to the room and do apologize. There's also no excuse for not providing you with the wake up call or the drinking glasses. We will follow up with both departments and are very sorry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Close to downtown and other attractions. Bathroom is clear. Carpet has musty smell. Mattress is uncomfortable. Needs a vending machine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Work and Pleasure

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe getting that Kelley's steak house re open
Location: Excellent, there is something for everybody
After attending a convention for three days the family spent an extra night at the property; when kids are happy the whole experience is worth while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Barbara, Hotel Management
What a great idea bringing your family along on your business trip so that the last day could be spent with them having fun. It's so true that when they're happy, all is well. Trellises Garden Grille now features some of the specialty items that guests enjoyed at Kelly's. We currently have no plans to reopen Kelly's, but do have plans for future food and beverage establishments -- so, stay tuned. I hope we have the pleasure of your company again for business and/or pleasure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Needs updating and deep cleaning!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The bellman who brought me the keys to the 2nd room was polite and apologetic.
Cons: This hotel seems dirty to me, Rooms need renovation and treatment for mold.
Location: There are lots of things to do close by. This is a central location for visiting most of San Diego's many attractions.
I stayed at the Town and Country the first week of October. Check in clerks were not friendly and didn't seem to want to answer any questions. When I got into my room, the smell of mildew/mold was so strong that I had an immediate allergic reaction. I called the front desk and asked to speak to a manager. I was told that the manager was too busy to speak with guests. I explained the problem and was told that with Expedia you book a lower quality room and she could change rooms, but that any other room location would require a cancellation and rebooking, upgrade fee. With Expedia you apparently get the older, motel portion of the "resort" . I asked to be moved upstairs and was given that. No mold smell upstairs, but the room is similar in quality to a Motel 6. The bed was very uncomfortable. I was meeting friends who stayed in the towers and paid $10 less than I with no $14 parking fee.. We booked the same day, but they called the hotel and bargained down. The resort charged me the $14 parking fee and then added another $14 dollar fee which they explained covered the pool and wifi fees and if you booked a spa treatment you would receive 10 percent off. There are many other hotels in this area. I'd suggest you try those!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and I do regret that your original room had an odor issue. A work order has been created to check the room and we appreciate your letting us know. Please know that the hotel service fee is not for pool usage (this is complimentary as a guest), but for Wi-Fi, fitness center, hotel shuttle service, local and 800 calls from the guestroom, daily newspaper and discounts at the spa. We'd love to have you back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Pictures on line don't reflect how old is the plac

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Paid for parking disappointed photos on line are nice compair to what it is been in there.no bad experience but No to do it again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calexico

Rough night

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: clean room
Cons: customer service
Our air conditioner did not work properly. Had to call the front desk. No one ever came to fix it. Couldn't sleep at all. As I checked out all I got was an insincere sorry when I complained to the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Close to shopping mall

Posted Oct 5, 2014
The only problem we had with this hotel is that the bar closed at 10 pm. When we returned from sightseeing we were not able to get a drink to relax before bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your 4 Star rating. The bar in Trellises did close at 10:00 p.m., but we have another bar in Charlie's that was open until midnight both evenings you were with us. I'm sorry you were unaware of this. We'll try to get the word out to our guests better in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

Hotel is dated, furnishings old, good location.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent, right off the 8 freeway. The onsite bar was dated but had character and served ice cold Guiness and had good appetizers.
Cons: The rooms could have a cosmetic remodel, paint, new carpet, furnishings, television upgrade.
Location: The hotel is in a great location, close to Seaworld, Oldtown SD, downtown, PETCO park, Jack Murphy/Qualcomm, Balboa Park, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach
Hotel staff and check in were quick and pleasant. Facility, mainly room seemed very dated and run down. Furnishings were old, restroom was tight, television was not even a flat screen and half the channels were cloudy. I was disappointed based on the reviews other Expedia members left. My review would've been worse but we just used the place to sleep and spent our time at a Padre game and Seaworld. They did have a bar centrally located that served Guiness on tap and had pretty good appetizers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our closeness to the various attractions in San Diego and the beer and appetizers in Charlie's. You don't mention if you took the trolley to Petco Park for the game, but it's located right behind the hotel via a footbridge and is easy and affordable to both Petco and Qualcomm. We do have plans to update the rooms. We'll see you next visit.