Ratings based on 1,140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Queensland, Australia

Lovely setting and gardens!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Fabulous gardens and location of adjacent trolley service and fashion mall.
Cons: ATT wifi service is a bad joke and needs to be made functional, this has been a long term shortcoming!
Location: Just so many places easily accessed by trolley service, whenever you choose.
Far better than reviews indicate, only shortcoming was widespread failure of wifi network and so we were off the air more than not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little Spring Break VaCa

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Grounds were beautiful, staff was nice, rooms were clean and comfortable.
Cons: Out T.V. was old and small (needed replacing). Double picture. Didn't make sense that as a guest I should pay for parking.
Location: High-end mall and movies within walking distance. Centrally located on Hotel Circle was nice - We kayaked in LaJolla, sailed in Mission Bay and slept.
Nice two night trip with my son for Spring Break in San Diego. Used room as a place to sleep. Clean, beautiful grounds with lots of roses - well kept. Pool was nice (one was heated). Conveniently located on the hotel loop, but a little noisy with the freeway close by. Rates were reasonable based on the area and time of year. Some of the buidlings are getting a little long in the tooth, and are in need of repair, but loved the roses in full bloom. Reminded me of an English garden. Our TV needed replacement, but wasn't there to watch TV, but it annoying late night to view in double vision. Didn't like paying for parking as a hotel guest-most other hotels in this area don't charge. Large complex so can only speak to the rooms in our building - clean, fair size, worth the price. Nothing spectacular. but, had some very pretty spots with the landscaping, fountains, gazebos, etc. - was probably top notch at some point in history.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your son's spring vacation. How fun that you were able to enjoy San Diego by kayaking and sailing in the ocean. The California sun definitely wears you out so you sleep well. We will have the television looked at, I'm not sure if you ever reported the problem, but some of our televisions haven't been updated yet, should be updated very soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Cost 5$ a day for the gym. No free wi fi.. No tv. It was more like a motel than resort! The staff was nice and accommodating. I had to switch rooms for various reasons including a broken AC.!
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about our nice and accommodating staff. We are sorry that your air conditioning wasn't working and you had to switch rooms. As you mentioned, there is a charge for the fitness center and the Wi-Fi, but you can bundle these into a package to make it more cost effective. I'm not sure I understand your comment about no television as all our rooms to have them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok stay

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The hotel was just ok to me. When I first got to my room it was cold, I could get the heater to come on. I called the front desk and they brought me some blankets and while I was at dinner somebody came and checked the heater. My room was by the pool and it was really loud from the teenagers walking by. I probably won't stay here again.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
We're sorry that the heater wasn't working properly when you first arrived here, but I am glad that we were able to get it fixed and keep you comfortable while you were waiting. We do have various room types so another area of the hotel may be more to your liking and possibly not as noisy as poolside was. Thank you for the input.
2 out of 5
by Scott from LA

Not worthy the money

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Not much the parking sucks the hallways are filthy the elevators are even nasty
Cons: The hotel is need of a TOTAL RENOVATION
Location: There is plenty to do near by that wasn't the problem. It just seemed like the hotel just didn't care pretty dirty on the grounds and hallways
Overall just very disappointed not friendly at all this hotel needs a complete makeover ASAP
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
Please know that we have a lot of upgrades in the works for 2014 and beyond so things will be better, however there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness you mention in the hallways and elevators. This is being addressed immediately! We do apologize to you and thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near downtown

Posted Apr 7, 2014
In general, this is a very nice hotel with beautiful gardens. Things can be improved are: 1. The room is too small for its price. 2. Should add a refrigerator. 3.The conference rooms are too far apart, which made it difficult to walk from different parallel sessions.
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for your comment about our beautiful gardens and close proximity to downtown (via the trolley or otherwise). We do have various sizes of rooms so another would probably better suit your needs. Refrigerators are available upon request so you might keep this in mind for future visits. I regret that you felt the meetings rooms were too spaced out, however then you get to enjoy the wonderful gardens. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Sea World and Old Town

Posted Mar 28, 2014
It was a relaxing experience with easy access to the trolly to take places and a mall.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
You are correct in that we are just 5 minutes away to both Sea World and Old Town via car and just minutes to the mall and the trolley walking. Glad you had an relaxing time here at our hotel.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
You are correct in that we are just 5 minutes away to both Sea World and Old Town via car and just minutes to the mall and the trolley walking. Glad you had an relaxing time here at our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claudia from Az

Weekend getaway

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Room was a bit small, otherwise perfect. Close to shopping and other fun SD attractions.
Comment from
Jan 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do have various room sizes and styles throughout the property so be sure and check out another area on your next stay. We'll see you on your next weekend getaway!
2 out of 5
by Lib from San Diego

So disappointed

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Parking was horrible. Our room was so far away from the parking structure and no help in sight or even a cart for the luggage. Front desk did not fully explain how to get to our room....we finally saw another employee who led us to our room. We were given a room next to to the hallway leading out to the pool....so loud from passerby all through the night. We then listened to staff and the gardening crew talking loudly and a leaf blower, shouting out beginning at 6:30 a.m. Walls are paper thin...heard next room conversation and room above us. Terrible experience and a huge waste of my money and i had to pay parking on top of that. Terrible experience.
Comment from
Jan 27, 2014
We are so very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We do apologize to you and will address the issues you mention. The front desk hands out a property map to each guest at check in. They should also offer the service of a bellmen to assist you to your room. The bellmen not only help with the luggage and directions, but can take you to your room should you have to park a little farther away. Again, our apologies to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Iowa

Stayed 4 nights and had a delightful stay.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Security, cleanliness, daily maid service, gazebo, gardens and restaurants. Our maid,Ana Ma, did such a great job cleaning every day for us.
Cons: Room was a little small, but we were there to see the sights anyway.
Location: Great location and close to Sea World, the Beaches, and The Zoo.
Liked where our room was and the courtyard. Parking close to the hotel was nice.
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your 4 night visit. We're so pleased you had a "delightful stay" and look forward to future visits. We will pass along your comments to Ana Ma and thank you for pointing out that she did an especially great job of cleaning your guestroom daily.