Ratings based on 1,942 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tolleson, AZ

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE
After reading the reviews about this hotel, i thought OK not bad for the price plus we were just going to be there to sleep since we were going to be gone all day. It was great that they allowed us to check in late, so when we got there to check in which was about 1:30 am. When I booked the hotel i originally booked it for 2 adults. But i unexpectedly had to take my 18 month old with me. When i truthfully told him i had her with me, the clerk cut me off and said i'm sorry but you cannot check in. I then asked him to clarify, that he was not allowing me to check in because i did not not note my 18 mo. old daughter on the booking. He said yes and that it stated on there. I proceeded to tell him, sir it is 2:00am in the morning by that point and i have a sleeping baby in the car , would it be possible to just pay for the room for 1 night to sleep and i will check out and find another hotel. He then proceeded to tell me no, that was not possible, and sent me on my way , then to top it off as i was leaving i asked to use the restroom, and he said sorry that is for customers only. I was beyond furious at that time, and walked out.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, FL

Deceived

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Ran out of rooms. Didn't honor reservation. Rude staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom La Mesa

Used to like this place...

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: I liked the location, the mini banana nut muffins, the price and cable came in clear and TV worked well.
Cons: Courtesy of the Desk Personnel (however, I think they own it). Breakfast & stop forcing guests to have their rooms invaded on multi-day stay.
Location: Lots of fast-food places close. And free close as well.
I've stayed here on 2 previous occasions...each for 3 days. This time was not so great. The check-in time was now 4pm instead of 3pm. I don't like anyone in the room when I'm not there as I have my laptop out, etc. This time they FORCED me to have the room cleaned every day and gave me the option to pick a time. Except, they came in earlier and only replaced the towels...no cleaning. Bathroom in this particular room was ultra-small. Door opened up right against front of toilet. Breakfast was sad. COFFEE WAS HORRIBLE!! Only had cereal, all the bagels were blueberry and smelled old, English muffins were O.K. but cream cheese was old. Did have some mini banana nut muffins that were good. 2 of the 3 front desk gentlemen I spoke with were rude (and I was just asking questions) while the 3rd was very friendly. Pool wasn't heated. I have to say I was definitely disappointed this time.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Hotel overview

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable, low priced for the quality offered.
Cons: Replacement of office staff, revision of hotel guest policy
Location: La Mesa Nearby train station, (La Mesa) library, Vons, Sprouts, other shops.
Hotel was clean and comfortable and staff was friendly the first time I stayed there a few months earlier and this last time in March/April, and the price offered on Expedia for both 28 day stays was less than most hotels (around $47-$52 per night) that were not as nice, so it seemed like a real bargain. However, four days prior to the end of my last stay, I was contacted by the management that I had to leave that day as I stay had been terminated because the cleaners were complaining about a "spicy" or "chemical" smell that was in my room that made them "dizzy" when they cleaned it, but this was total BS as there was nothing in the room that would fit that description- no chemicals and the only "spicy" smell would be the sweets peppers that I kept in the room or perhaps some hot salsa in a plastic container, but nothing that would make someone dizzy! I was refunded for the four unused days but will never know the true reason for my being expelled. Anyway, I am finished with that hotel an all Travelodges in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom La Mesa, CA

Nice Motel Horrible Customer Service

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I don't have any complaints about the motel in general but the staff was very unfriendly and rude. There was an issue with the credit card I used for deposit (which ended up being $250 instead of $200 like Expedia stated) and the front desk guy was very rude and sarcastic. Instead of trying to be helpful he was very dismissive. If it wasn't for the fact that I had already paid for the room and it was late at night I would have left altogether. I didn't want to have any other interaction with the staff after reading reviews later that night. A lot of their policies are obsurd especially the no visitors policy. I know I would never choose this establishment in the future no matter how good the rates are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Decent hotel, nice rooms, but far from central SD

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms, comfortable clean bedding, air conditioning works, there is a fridge and microwave in the room, and the shower has hot water.
Cons: Put carpet in the hallways. The tile echoes and you can hear everything in the hallways at night.
Location: Only 15 miles from central SD, but that's far after a long day. Also far from food when you get the midnight munchies. Best option is university ave.
The most annoying thing about this hotel is the REQUIRED credit card ONLY $200 deposit. Non-negotiable and puts a hold on your credit card, which isn't fun when you're down in SD for a weekend out on the town. It's only about 10 miles from SD but that's a bummer when you're tired from a full day of adventures. The rooms are nice. Comfortable beds, clean, the shower has hot water and the air conditioning works. Only two cons is that there is tile in the hallways so everything echoes, and the doors are thin so you can hear people getting it on in their rooms when you're walking through the halls. Luckily we couldn't hear it through the walls. Thank God.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom anaheim

Wouldn't stay again

Posted Apr 6, 2015
We arrived late in the evening after work. We wanted to stay elsewhere but because it was the holiday weekend, everything was booked. The desk clerk was rude and they required a 100 deposit. The room was small, uncomfortable bed, dirty floors, and the shower didn't have a shower curtain. The breakfast was ridiculous. They had coffee, but gross. We ended up getting Starbucks. Don't stay here, if you have to, stay at super 8 or anywhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

My vacation got ruined

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I had a reservation for a double queen bed at Travelodge. After two days of continuous driving from Canada to San Diego, I arrived at this hotel at around 10 PM very tired and wanted to check in. The person at the hotel desk told me that my reservation was invalid because their policy does not allow more than two people per room and I was given two option that either I had to cancel my reservation and find accommodation somewhere else or pay the full fee of another room. As I was exhausted I objected to this policy with an angry voice and the reception threatened me to call the police in front of my 6-year old son. With my wife intervention, the dispute was settled but I paid $77 extra per night for my little son. It was interesting that after paying that extra charge for another room, we were allowed to stay together in one room without violating hotel policy about more than two people per room! The receptionist at the hotel desk was not trained for his job, he could not speak clearly and convince gusts, he was very rude and impolite, and he did not know how to treat people. I never ever go to any Travelodge location because of the bad experience that I got at Travelodge La Mesa location. Their policy of max two people per room is equivalent to "No kid is allowed" and they should have made it clear in the Expedia website. My son turns his face away when he sees a Travelodge hotel I never forgive them for putting me and my family under stress late night after driving 2600 Km.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Watford UK

Nice hotel with easy reach of local amenities

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Its location to area of where i wanted to visit
Cons: maybe heating the pool a little and a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea an maybe a full TV channel list
Location: the location is ideal for visiting local shops, bars and restaurants (johnny B's Burger and bar, Centforni's, La Mesa Antique Mall, Sprouts Market)
The hotel is well placed for easy access to downtown San Diego and surrounding areas as well as being on the doorstep of some very nice local shops/bars and restaurants would recommend staying here as hotel is very friendly and staff all very helpful and friendly to any request you have
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another Good Stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015
This was the fourth time I've stayed here, and I am consistently pleased with everything. I have yet to find another comparable property with rates like this - you definitely get a lot of bang for your buck.