Ratings based on 1,605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I was a little worried by some of the reviews, but I checked in hassle free, the guy at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was nicer than expected and felt rather clean. I would stay here again on my next visit to the La Mesa area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
This hotel requires a $200 deposit, which seems like a lot considering a room is only $40. I called ahead to ask if I could pay the deposit with cash and get the cash back when I checked out and the woman on the phone told me that was fine. When I arrived at the hotel the man told me that they don't accept cash and that it was impossible that someone told me they do. He wasn't very friendly about it. I'm still waiting to get my $200 back, too. Other than that the room itself was fine and pretty spacious. The breakfast was pretty bleak - just cereal and muffins/bagels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Spotless

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Cons: Bath tub could be replaced (surface worn).
My room was spacious and attractive. All imaginable amenities were supplied and in working order: mini fridge, microwave, bar sink, coffeemaker, room air conditioner, etc. The bed was comfortable, the towels were thick and new, and well-presented. Even the stairwells, laundry/ice room were immaculate!! I left feeling lucky that I chose this property!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Alabama

OK for the price

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Not the TV
Cons: Remodel all the rooms and update those old TVs
Location: Everything looked fine but the hotel was robbed our last night there.
We only slept there but the hotel was robbed about a half hour going to our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, CA

Clean and spacious room

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The room was clean, but the bed was a bit uncomfortable. The staff was nice and professional. Good experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Consistently good.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Excellent value for the money.
Cons: Earlier check-in.
Always stay here because it's super clean, and very comfortable and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel in La Mesa

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, affordable.
Cons: The breakfast was lacking, but for the price...what should I expect?
This is the second time for Travelodge, La Mesa. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Check in staff were efficient. Nothing fancy about the accommodations, but the location was good and price was right. I'd stay there again when in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel, relatively close to SDSU.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Decent hotel, good value for the price. The breakfast was limited, but acceptable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee WI

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: total attitude adjustment
arrived late, room air was not on, clerk was not interested in helping about anything, had to park on the street, no attempt to tell about breakfast times
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Evil front desk

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing, couldn't get past the front desk
Cons: Customer service
I would give zero stars if I could. I walked in and told him i had a reservation under my name he asked for a credit card to take a $150 deposit on a $60 room. I gave him my id and the company card and he said he couldn't use the card because it wasn't in my name I said it was a company card and showed him my other company credit cards all matching my name as proof I worked there. I called my boss to ask what to do he refused to talk to her when she requested to talk to him. I asked for his managers name and he said there was no manager I said he was lying to me because that's not possible, he then called me a baby and I told him I'm 3 months pregnant and sick I just need a place to rest he continued being a jerk so I walked out before I started crying. We booked and paid for the room on Expedia. They refunded our room, gave us a coupon for our next booking and apologized so no complaints with them but I have never experienced such blatant disrespect.