Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Terrible! Avoid this one like the plague.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: SERVICE .... since there is none available at the moment.
Location: The reason we stayed here was because of its proximity to the Americas Outlet Mall .It was a terrible choice.
We arrived around 2:00 PM at this Travelodge but there was no one in reception. There was just a sign on the door saying that checkin was not allowed until 4:00 PM. We finally found someone who agreed to store our two suitcases in a storage room until reception "opened" He charged us $2.00 to do this and it was payable on the spot which made us suspicious. Breakfast was included. We arrived at 8:30 AM but there was no staff person within earshot. The coffee machines were both empty and no one within sight to refill them. Staying here was a nightmare as they obviously have not figured out how to run a motel without staff!!! Avoid this one at all costs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moclips,wa

The best value in San Diego

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The cost and location
Cons: earlier check in time
Location: see above
This Travel lodge is right on the bus line which connects directly to the trolley system.Its a short walk to a mall area and stores,its a 15 minute walk to the Mexican border.The hotel looks old on the outside,but the room I had was clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed Ive ever had at a hotel.The breakfast was a true continental,with muffins,pastries,cereal,milk,coffee,juice,exactly as advertised.The Pool was extremely clean.The downside is the late check in time of 4pm,but the desk staff allowed me to park my vehicle,which allowed me to get on a bus and trolley and enjoy San Diego.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

A lot of rules

Posted Sep 23, 2014
NO early check-in. No one is even available to talk to before 4pm. NO guests allowed in your room. You need a room key to get into the snack/free breakfast area where you can fill your plate with sweets like Danishes, cereal, muffins, oatmeal, or Tang. It only cost me $57 for the night and the room was extremely clean. For what I needed the room was good and I would stay another night. However, had I been there for more than an over night trip I would have spent a little more money and got something nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My favorite cheap hotel!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I'm a regular at this hotel....won't even consider staying anywhere else. Can't beat it for the price!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Puente, Ca

Close to border. Very clean.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Hotel is very comfortable. Stayed in room 250. Very clean, people comment on how it's not that great but I disagree. Inexpensive and close to the border. Also, may seem like it's in a shady area, but it's pretty safe. Workers are very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was served, there were danishes, toast, cereal, orans juice, milk, fruit. Very yummy for a morning pick me up. Would stay here again if I needed an over night stay from late travel across to Mexico.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

DO NOT STAY HERE ITS A NIGHTMARE !!!!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN,
Location: DENNYS- ALSO A DUMP
THIS PLACE WAS A NIGHTMARE- THEY COULD NOT FIND MY RESERVATION THE ENTIRE STAFF IS RUDE AND HAVE 0 CUSTOMER SERVICE, THE GUY IN THE FRONT WAS STALKING ME KNOCKING ON MY DOOR AND WATCHING ME GET OUT OF MY CAR THEY ARE FREAKS!!! DO NOT RUIN YOUR VACATION LIKE I DID - HAD TO CHECK OUT EARLY BECAUSE I WAS SO UNEASY. DO YOUR SELF A HUGE FAVOR AND LOOK AROUND THIS PLACE IS A DUMP!!! HAD I LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS I WOULD HAVE SAVE ME SUCH A HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE- RUN TRUST ME THIS PLACE IS SO GHETTO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NASTY AND RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING FROM THE HOTEL ROOM TO THE STAFF
Location: I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC... BUSY AREA....NEAR SCHOOLS..BUT I DID GO TO THE MALL BEHIND IT..THAT WAS THE ONLY PART THAT I ENJOYED...
MY STAY WAS UN-COMFORTING!!! WILL NOT STAY AGAIN.. CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS RUDE AND DID NOT ANSWER QUESTIONS ASKED...THEY'RE IN YOUR BUSINESS... BUT SAY THEY VERIFIED... ROOMS ARE FILTHY, THE BATHROOMS ARE NASTY...THE BATHTUB WOULDN'T DRAIN.....I WOULD'VE GOTTEN A REFUND IF I COULD HAVE, BUT WASN'T GOING TO WASTE MY MONEY....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Az

Infested with Ants!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My reservation was booked for 3 nights. My room was full of ants every where I looked ants! And the shower head it's super low! I'm only 5'5 and I had to bend down. I called the front desk and they came to spray my room at 9:45pm. That spray did nothing. Then the next morning I go to front desk to see if I could be move to a different room and no one is at the front desk until 4pm! So if you need any assistance you have to wait till 4pm. There is only someone available from 4pm- midnight. Which is terrible! The staff does not speak very good English either. Overall my stay here was terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Unhelpful front desk person. I was told by Expedia that no credit card would be required and the front desk person was unhelpful in resolving the problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 31, 2014
the room was excellent however when I checked in I was not told about a 200 dollar deposit I had to put in on the room so it came to a surprise to me. Then I asked the staff about why the 200 dollar deposit and when I would get it back and the guy at the counter gave me an attitude and really didnt answer my question.