Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quiet and relaxing!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Peaceful and relaxing environment. Great get-away to unwind and recharge.
Cons: It could use an onsite restaurant, but we were told it was in the works.
Location: Location is a little remote, but it is next to a country club and golf resort, there are several cites within a 10-15 minute drive and many vineyards.
Had read some bad reviews, but took a chance that things would be better under the new management. So glad that we did. Everything was wonderful. Our trip was quiet and relaxing. The grounds were beautiful and the soaking tubs were private, hot and oh so relaxing.There was a little construction (interior room updating) going on, but it wasn't noisy or bothersome. Our room had been remodeled with Travertine tile and it was spacious, with cathedral ceilings and a huge set of French doors opening onto a private balcony with great views of the valley, golf course and tree tops. We can't wait to go back! Veronica, Guillermo and Mike were so friendly and attentive. We truly felt appreciated for being their guests and can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from garden grove

Nice quite place

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: the size of the room, location, beds were great, we had a room that was just renovated with new tile floors and it looked great.
Cons: The one thing it could use would be having a small refrigerator and microwave in the room....
Location: A golf course is close and I will play it on our next trip here, we took a drive around the area and found a great restaurant near buy in Bonsall.
This was a nice quite place, walking distance from a golf course, (which I will play at another time) it had a nice pool and 4 different soaking pools to just relax in and spend some nice time looking at the stars. We went to a nice Mexican restaurant near buy and the food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We were a late arrival so they left an envelope with our key and instructions under the doormat in our room. Staff was very friendly and helpful, room is outdated but it had a "cottage" like feel to it, I enjoyed it. The soaking pools was probably my favorite part of the place, it had three joining tubs with waterfalls in between, perfect after a long day. And the view from our balcony was the golf course. I absolutely loved this place and their staff, would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Quiet setting in the hills.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
This would be a beautiful hotel with a little TLC. The room was large, with a balcony overlooking the pool and shady gardens. The beds were very comfortable with soft, thick mattresses. The linens were worn; pillows were cheap and flat. The towels were plentiful, but rough, stained, and well-worn. The towel rack fell off the wall the first time I went to dry my hands. I was there 4 days and no one fixed it. The shower looked clean and recently tiled. There were toys under the bed and balloons behind the tv cabinet, left by a previous occupant. The carpet was filthy, making our socks & feet black. There was a mini fridge on the floor, but we had to get on our hands and knees and crawl under a table to get to it. No microwave. No continental breakfast or room service. The only food within 5 miles is a golf course grill, open on weekends. Ironing board but no iron. The room was non-smoking but the balcony is shared, with a partial divider, and the neighbors smoked 24/7 so we couldn't open our door. No AC, just a portable floor unit that put out warm air. The pool and 4 warming spas were clean and very nice. The grounds have gardens and mature trees, but they show a lack of care. There were cigarette butts and beer bottles in the shrubs. Fountains & ponds are broken. Parking lot is small, if you come in late you park out on the street and climb the hill. The parking lot was covered in litter and trash, the trash bin overflowing with piles of trash bags filling parking spaces.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Great potential! Nice surroundings!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Surroundings are very nice.
Cons: It desperately needs updating!
Location: It is located in the middle of a golf course. Not really anything close by as far as restaurants go.
I've known this place before the renovation and after. And really, not much has changed. They put a new bed in the room, but besides that, EVERYTHING, and I mean EVERYTHING is still the same, like the carpet, the lazy boy chair, the paint, the bathroom. Right after the renovation, the prices jumped to around $150, and now, they are down again. I would never pay $150 for this place. It is very dated, it could use a fresh coat of paint, new carpet and bathroom updating. I would not call it a resort. It has great potential, but they have not been optimized. The staff is ok. I had a young kid checking me in, dressed in shorts and T-shirt, and his phone never left his side. For a "resort" you would expect something more professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Okay for a quick one night stay

Posted May 12, 2015
So, we just arrived from San Diego International Airport and needed a place to stay before we had our three day stay up in the San Diego mountains (Escondido). When we arrived they had a different check in time. That worked out as the front desk guy rearranged our itinerary and gave us a room that night. Since our check at the other hotel was in the afternoon we asked for a late checkout which was quickly denied. The room it's self looks like it hasn't been remodeled yet touched up for 20+ years. The bed was comfortable but the neighbors upstairs were pounding all night long. Along with a door that squeaked amazingly loud all night and sketchy people just hanging out, outside which just made the stay subpar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Lovely area, improving facilities

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The room was clean since carpets were cleaned recently. Rooms are being renovated every week. The villa would work well for family groups, although the living room accommodates around 10. The spa tubs are nice and the foliage is beautiful. They need a restaurant on the property and evidently are working on that. We enjoyed it and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gloria from Lomita

One day was okay!

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this hotel because it was very close to Rawhide Ranch and we were going there. If your looking for fancy and new, this is not the place to go however, if you are looking for a clean,quiet place to lay your head along with a VERY comfortable bed and an excellent staff, then stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ojai, CA

Don't stay here

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
This hotel was a total mistake. There was nothing "resort & spa" about it. The facilities were in disrepair, the staff was rude and unprofessional, the so-called gym room was filled with old furniture, including a toilet, the pool was green with algae and we had to step over a dead lizard on the walkway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Bad choice and if only - cancel. Stayed 1 night. R

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Almost nothing. Near golf course & Well Resort.
Cons: Everything. Very outdated.
Location: Enough said.
They should refund both nights. Place changing hands and was starting to be remodeled. This info should have been on the website. Better yet the website should have said under remodel. I would not have stayed here in a million years. No-one was there. Also very noisy from road. Very outdated. Need I say more. Very bad experience.