Ratings based on 997 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver, BC

Nice...a little over rated but nice

Posted Jan 22, 2015
The hotel was a nice place the roof top patio was in the second floor but it was nice..the only really annoying thing is the keys we has to change ours like 6 times. I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Great experience, well maintained, friendly staff and hotel well maintained. Will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Adequate hotel A little dated Not up to W standard

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Price was ok when I went. Good location.
Cons: Update rooms, building infrastructure, etc.; stop gouging for parking.
Location: Gaslamp district, downtown, near the ocean, lots of bars and restaurants, not far from shopping.
Hotel was fine and in a good area (although good area in SD means $40/night ACE parking). The staff was fine, did their job and were polite enough, nothing special. The hotel itself was a little disappointing. The building looked like it had formerly been a Hampton Inn or similar, just a boring rectangular tower. I was a little surprised that, while all the rooms have windows looking over the city, there are no rooms that face toward the ocean - seems like a missed opportunity. The rooms were fine - like all W's they tried to make the decor a little edgier and more contemporary, but you still got the sense they had just redecorated guestrooms from tan old, lower-end hotel. The a/c wasn’t working when we checked in and we had to call to have it serviced. They were able to fix it so it was no big deal, but it just kind of demonstrates the kind of property this is – a dated Hampton Inn that they tried to give a facelift to. I’ve stayed at a few other W’s and I tend to like them. This hotel didn’t really seem like the same brand. Like I said, it just kind of felt like more of a Hampton Inn or similar. When I stayed (December 2014) it was priced about the same as a Hampton Inn, so I guess I have no real complaints there. The only thing I will complain about is that their "rooftop" pool and bar are on the 2nd floor????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Monica, CA

The W Hotel is a very cool hotel.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Great food and drinks! Friendly staff! Roof top bar. Play tic tac toe with my kids in lobby.
Cons: Aside for offering a firmer and bigger beds.. not much needs improvement.
Location: A nice walk to gas lamp district, restaurants, and the bay/marina. Close to shopping malls.
The hotel is very stylish and hip. It is clean and inviting. Staff was super helpful and friendly. The hotel is within walking distance (long walk) to the gaslamp district and to the bay. Food was fabulous and the drinks were great. A little pricey, but worth it. Favorite drink on menu.. Passionfruit Gimlet! A must try. Make sure to hang out on the roof top bar at night. The sculpture fire pit was really cool and kept us warm. Area was lit up with lights and has comfortable seating. My only complaint about the hotel is the room size is on the smaller side and we has double beds. I found the beds to be a little soft for my taste. Don't get me wrong the hotel is great and I would not let the size of the rooms sway you if you are a couple or going with a friend. We traveled with kids so it was just a tad bit to small for a family of four.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, WA

Best experience ever

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The sheer opulence!
Cons: Put up sound proof doors. We could hear all conversations from the hallway.
Location: the W is in central downtown with easy access to all freeways, Balboa Park and the zoo.
We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were large and the staff upgraded our suite when we told them we were in town to celebrate our anniversary. All the staff were extremely friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Amazing hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Beautiful interior design and wonderful ambiance! Such a relaxing experience for the weekend. I will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

NIce hotel, dull area

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The rooms are pleasant and quiet and the staff were nice.
Location: The hotel is located in a dull part of town though it isn't such a long walk to more interesting areas.
I chose to stay here because of the rooftop bar and pool area advertised online. The rooftop bar is not on the top of the roof- it's on the third floor and the pool area is kind of sad and sorry because the pool is so tiny. Maybe a barbie dolll could swim some laps in it. Other then this and the dull downtown location, the hotel is fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Great hotel! A little from the Gaslamp but that keeps it quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Best

Posted Dec 29, 2014
This is the best hotel I've ever checked in .but I hope the wifi can be free for guests in the room . And AV charges too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Great hotel for families too! My 6&4 yr old girls loved the chalkboard on wall and daybed along the window.