Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tx

Out dated and over priced

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The housekeeping service was very promp when I repoted a problem,it was resolved within the hour.
Cons: The menu some of the staff all could do with updating,The show units are wonderful but the entire resort needs to be on the same par.
Location: Good location close to main road.
At first the front desk staff were unhelpful giving direction to our unit.The unit was well equipped but out dated.The breakfast at the grill was ok but the dinner menu left a lot to be desired and was very over priced. The place seemed geared to the welk generation.The bar staff were unfriendly and did not have a clue about mixing drinks.They were in the process of rebuilding so you could not get anywhere but there is hope they are modernizing.The store again is so overpriced you need to go out to shop or make sure you bring everything with you.The pools and water slides and game rooms are nice.overall it was ok but given the timeshare sell you are almost obligated to attend I would not recommend it.Everything closes at 9 pm at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Was exactly what we were looking for! Staff was helpful, rooms were clean, views were amazing and pools were awesome! We will be back there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. It is great to hear you really enjoyed our resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for choosing to stay at Welk Resort San Diego. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful location. Nice amenities

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Front desk staff rude. High pressure sales with timeshare spiel disguised as activities desk. Beware....not advertised as timeshare. When we got to our room it was not fully ready. Towels and blankets were missing as were kitchen towels and toiletry items. Not a huge deal, but not completely finished. Toilet wouldn't flush properly. We called the next morning to have it fixed while we headed to the pool. When we arrived back tho the room later that evening, toilet was still not flushing properly. Very sore flush, like there was a blockage. Called maintenance a second time about the toilet. A very nice gentleman and snaked toilet found a whole bat of soap! On the third day ants appeared in our bathroom, again had to call maintenance. Maintenance staff wonderful. Also staff at pool very friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Erin, I appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying at Welk Resort. I apologize for your the challenges you encountered during check-in and upon arrival in your room. I am glad you enjoyed our location and amenities. We hope you visit us again if you return to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the george

Nice resort in the middle of nowhere

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The pools
Cons: Maid service without fee
Location: Not much to do nearby
Slight pressure for time share presentation. Nice golf facility
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Bob, I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to your return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful views from our balcony

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Paradise in paradise, cant ask for anything better our kids and visitors loved it so much that are looking forward to purchasing a villa soon. Thank you Welk resort for our incredible time we had there it is unforgettable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Sandra, It is great to hear you and your family and friends had a fantastic vacation here at Welk Resort San Diego. I appreciate your kind comments and your taking the time to post a review. We look forward to you becoming a member of the Welk family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: We stayed up on Pelican hill, clean rooms, well equipped with anything you might need.
Cons: The restaurant was supposed to be open at 8:00 am. It was after 8:00 am and the doors were locked, nobody there!.
A beautiful place to stay, great accomodations and an excellent staff from the time we checked in to those working in the restaurant. Excellent food& services for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Frank, Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to hear you enjoyed our Villas and felt our resort team provided excellent customer service. We look forward to you returning to visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York, AL

Very nice and relaxing resort.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It was kinda secluded. And a GREAT honeymoon location.
Cons: Customer Service
Enjoy myself! The only complaint I have is that the staff acts as if you are bothering them when you ask them something. Our neighbors put trash outside their door that smelled bad and looked like a small animal had started eating out of it. I was on my honeymoon and would have preferred seclusion but I was happy with the room and setup.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Yolanda, First and foremost, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort San Diego. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect. Thank you for your ideas on some areas for improvement. It is great to hear you really enjoyed your villa. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice fun place for the whole family

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The pools
It was a great place to be with your kids great little weekend getaway. There's several pools 2 water slides 2 splash water areas they are through out the resort and there is also a 18 and over pool for people who don't want to be around families . So there's plenty for everyone to do
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
I appreciate the feedback and recommendation from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. We look forward to your return visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel in a more remote area.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Interesting location and nice rooms.
Cons: 10am check-out is a joke. That's probably the earliest I've ever had to check out from the hotel. Please push it to noon, or at least 11am.
Location: There's not much to do nearby, resort is located in a more remote area which some people like it.
It's a hotel/time share resort. It's very family oriented so yo will have a lot of kids everywhere; I wish pools were bigger and maybe some pools for adults only unless I missed it. In general it's a nice resort but if you don't plan on exploring nearby attractions you might get bored pretty fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Andrew, I appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. We are a family oriented resort. Our Melody Hill recreation area is an 18 and older recreation area that includes a pool. Please come back and see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Beautiful grounds and fun activities. Great place for families. The room was nice and clean. Sofa bed wasn't great, but everything else was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Thank you for your delightful review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review.