Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Alex from Los Angeles, CA

Don't waste a perfect vacation on this hotel!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Management staff
I really tried to keep an open mind, but this was one of the worst vacation experiences ever! We got suckered into a 1.5 hour time-share presentation, which turned into 4 hours with the promise of staying another night for a lower rate. We didn't end up staying another night, even with the so called "gift" we decided to pay full-price at another hotel and get the heck out of here. The the so-called management staff shows no leadership skills, I actually felt sorry for Scott's (in Concierge) employees if they were learning customer service skills from him. If you hear time-share presentation - RUN! The "gifts" they offer you are all lies! Overall, the so-called resort is old, our room smelled like wet dog. I expect to go to a resort and lay by the pool with staff walking around serving beverages. Not the case here, no beverages and you can't even bring in a cooler! So how are you suppose to cool off and stay hydrated?? We'll stick with La Costa. Lesson learned!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Los Angeles

Private Resort perfect for Families Fun Time!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Pools throughout the resort. Kids play area. BBQ by the pool. Friendly staff. Great restaurant.
Cons: The mattress pad for the sofa bed did not fit. Our food was thrown out on last day while we were hanging at pool prior to us checking out.
Location: Escondido. Went to Legoland.
We decided to try a new Hotel on our recent trip to San Diego. Came across Welks Resort on Expedia and although it looked a bit further off from the 5 freeway than we liked, the grounds looked worth trying out. We have a 3 year old daughter and a 20 year old daughter. Big gap (obviously) which can make it a challenge to find a place with amenities to please everyone. The Welks has plenty to keep all happy. Several pools, toddler splash and play area, pool slides, fun family contests, pool side BBQ food and drinks available, and affordable private cabanas for extra shade. There's a Family very affordable and quality restaurant on the resort grounds as well as a mini convenience store. The villas have a full kitchen so you can bring prepare your own meals if you choose. The grounds have several BBQ grills for you to use with seating. There's also a theater that has several performances scheduled throughout the year. So overall a great get away place to go with family. As I mentioned, it's further out from local attractions but close to the 15 freeway which will get you to where it is your going in a reasonable time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Vancouver, BC

Good location. Really good resort for famiies.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The friendlyness of everyone from the people staying at the resort to the staff.
Location: Legoland and Safari park are a short drive. So are the beached
Even though the weather was cool for few days, we had a good experience with legoland and Safari land. The facilities at the resort are very good. When the weather got better, it was an easy grive to the beaches. This place is excellent value for the dollar.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear George, I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your vacation here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to having you vacation with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Troy from Vernon, BC

Nice distance between Disney and Seaworld

Posted Mar 27, 2014
We did not have enough time to take advantage of all the resort had to offer. Great for young kids. We will be returning for sure
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Troy, I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to your return visit so your family can enjoy all of our resort activities and amenities.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Vancouver, BC

For those individual seeking a retreat

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Very nice pools and child friendly
Cons: Add every other day room service
Location: 30 minutes to the beach, San Diego Safari Park. 45 minutes to the Zoo, and Seaworld.
The hotel seems to be in transition between a timeshare complex and a retirement centre. We were put in a one bedroom which was pleasant if not a bit dated. The room was clean but there was no room service so we had to request new towels every other day. While I don't expect a lot from room service it is nice if someone came by daily to freshen up the room, especially at the rate we were paying. When we checked in we were asked to take a 90 minute tour of the facility. There was no pressure involved but some may wish to take advantage of the free offers that accompany the tour. We declined. The pools were nice and there were four to choose from. We never felt crowded and the newest pool near their presentation centre was very nice. The hotel is a bit out of the way (30 minutes to the beach and most other activities. We don't think we'll stay there again because of the lack of room service, as we'd rather not do dishes and clean our place while on vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice nostalgic hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Location, restaurant, staff
Cons: There was a slight smell in the lobby & room when we arrived. I think it may have been due to the dampness & all the wood. Putting on the AC helped.
Location: Shelter island is nice to drive around.
I chose Humphrey's because it was close to the airport & had good reviews. I also got a great deal on-line & I would say that it was fabulous value. The staff were very friendly & courteous. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool area is quite nice. It would be an awesome venue for their outdoor concerts. We had breakfast at the restaurant & it was delicious & well-priced. The in-room amenities are very nice as well.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cornelius from San Diego, CA

Great family getaway

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Very nice and family friendly
Cons: Ensure house keeping is on thief job.
First 2 rooms we were given weren't cleaned or ready. Hotel manager upgraded our room and paid for our dinner. Thanks Josh.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Cornelius, I apologize for the challenges upon check in. I am glad that Josh was able to get everything squared away. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by FRG from San Diego CA

My getaway weekend

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Clean and pools
Cons: Better variety on both snacks and drinks for purchase at the pool
Location: You will need to drive south about 20 min or so to get to restaurants or stores
Family oriented. Kids not very happy when they close the slide at 5pm!!
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Dear FRG, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and choosing to stay at Welk Resort. I am happy to see your family found our Resort vary family oriented. I apologize for the closing time on our slides. We look forward to you returning for another visit in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 17, 2014
my family had an excellent time here. it was a great neighborhood to be in.
Comment from
Jan 21, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your family had an excellent vacation at Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation

Posted Mar 16, 2014
It was a beautiful place to stay. The restaurant on site had excellent food. Also, the staff was helpful with finding things to do in the area.
Comment from
Jan 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear you had a great vacation here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.