Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not as it seems

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Don't be fooled by the pretty pictures you see online. These are timeshares, so the staff cannot help you if there are any problems with your room or reservation. We planned this vacation with another family and were suppose to have adjoining rooms. Needless to say we were booked on total opposite ends of each other and was told during check-in that they couldn't do anything about and that we would have to wait until Monday (this was on a Sat.) to CALL someone about the reservations. In addition, they gave us a handicap room even though none of us are handicapped so the bathroom was basically one room with a tile floor and drain in the middle. You could go to the toilet, brush your teeth and shower all at the same time, which also meant that everytime you did shower, everything got wet!!!! It also took us two hours just to get blankets for our beds. I will not be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

late check-in/early check-out, spa? huge disapoint

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The view and grounds appeared very nice. Really liked the bbq''s in front of the rooms, wish I knew a head of time
Cons: Staff was confused due to maximum attendance Reservations should be a must when you only have one restaurant check out time is cruel.
Checked in handed room key, while staff was still cleaning room. Had to wait until almost 5pm in the parking lot. Upon occupying room noticed chips still in a bowl on the table, spider webs in several locations on the walls. Luxury Spa? Had to call staff back to clean more. I pointed out a stomped out cigarette in the hallway but housekeeping said that's not their responsibility because its outside the room and stepped over it and walked away. Luxury Spa? No reservations taken at the only restaurant (facility must occupy enough for three restaurants) had to order a pizza...geez thanks. Once again, Luxury Spa? Finally the best part....check out is 10:00 am and they wont move it no matter how late they are in preparing your room. I was even threatened with a $50.00 per hour charge to my credit card. Between my wife and I getting ready (shower, etc) and packing, I was forced to set an alarm clock. Now that's Luxury!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for your review as well as your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during check-in and with housekeeping. We will make sure to address your concerns with our staff. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

Beautiful setting

Posted Aug 13, 2014
I took my nephew we had a great stay staff were great beautiful surroundings the only thing is its not that close to anything
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Dear sam, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your nephew enjoyed your stay here at Welk Resort San Diego. We hope to have you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern Illinois

Beautiful resort but be careful..

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Beautiful resort. Well maintained facility. Pools were clean and also a place to sit down.
Cons: Service/Front desk help need to own an issue and resolve it.
Location: Located in beautiful area, 8 miles or so from multiple food choices..
Stayed first week august 2014, had two seperate rooms. Requested 6 months in advance that both rooms be located in same building, and at a minimum one of the rooms be on ground level.. Neither request was granted. Check- in was an event!! Checked in at 4pm, went to both rooms and they were not ready. Took 6 HOURS to track down housekeeping or someone at checkin desk to just get sheets for the beds and towels to take a shower.. They gave us 2 towels for a room of four people!!! Tried and tried and tried to get more towels, but I was told they were out of clean towels.. Went to Front Desk at least 6 times in first 3 days of our stay and could not get this issue reslved. Even when i told the front desk people that i can see golf carts going up and down the resort FULL of clean towels.. Finally broke down and went to local store to purchase towels..so be careful of Service at this resort.. Rooms were very nice, comfortable beds,etc.. No other complants other than .. In my opinion, empower Customer Service people to actually help people, too many of them did not seem to care about customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and facility

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Beautiful 2 room suite and amenities. Great place to walk or bike. It's like it's own community with several different clubhouses
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Hutch, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Great Place for families, spacious 1 bedroom villa
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Hutch, Hotel Management
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the Welk Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great resort with plenty of activities

Posted Jul 26, 2014
I stayed here with a friend for one night as part of a Southern California tour. The resort is huge and absolutely beautiful. They have daily activities from wellness walks and water aerobics to teen movies under the stars and craft making courses. The hotel is quite a bit off the beaten path so I wouldn't recommend staying only one night as we weren't really able to take advantage of all the amenities. I would however recommend an extended weekend or longer stay to families or couples as there is just so much to do for kids and it's set in a very romantic location. We had very few complaints during our stay, however there was only one restaurant on site (not including a Pizza Hut Express) and it closed at 9 pm. It would have been nice to have a place where you could have a few drinks or munchies into the night, though our room did have a huge kitchen. Next time I would plan ahead by bringing late night food and beverages to enjoy after the restaurant closes. There is a 'market' which sold items you'd see in a gas station, but it's overpriced and closed early. My second suggestion would be to have some sort of 'Snack Shack' at the pools. Of the (6 or 8 pools - can't remember) it looked like only one pool had anything like this. As many families spend a good chunk of their day at the pool, I think this would do very well. A swim-up bar would also be fabulous in the adult-only pool! Overall, a beautiful resort and I would absolutely recommend it for 2 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Hutch, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsey, Thank you for such a great review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your villas as well as our amenities here at Welk Resort! I appreciate your ideas for improvement as well as your recommendation. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great place to relax with the family!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Would go back again. Great place to go and relax. My two boys 9 & 7 had a great time as well. They were a little pushy with the time share.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Hutch, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the amenities and accommodations here at Welk Resort. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Okay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Parking and building design/layout. Not easily changed I'm sure.
Location: Not much close by. See above review.
We only stayed here because of a golf tournament, so keep that in mind. We wouldn't have chosen to stay here under normal circumstances. We've stayed at similar properties on the Big Island of Hawaii, so that is where the bar is set. Arrived late in the evening, check in was quick and easy. Finding a parking space reasonably close to our building was not. That wasn't a big surprise, however, the design of the building was odd in that our first floor room required us to go up a couple stairs then down a flight. Not easy when you have sleepy kids and a bunch of luggage. The room itself was spacious and clean. A little dated, but they've done a good job maintaining it. The clubhouse/pool area was nice and the staff were friendly. Had a pretty tasty burger at the snack shop. The pool was so crowded it was standing room only, but at least they had Wii games and table games as an alternative. Laundry facility was pretty standard. There were some evening activities like a "Hawaiian Night" with performances and food for sale. There's also a small convenience store and a Pizza Hut Express (largest size is medium). Most Resorts we've been to like this are designed to keep you on the property. This is no different, especially since it's kind of in the middle of nowhere. There is a Westfield Mall about 20 minutes south for those that need more dining/shopping options. Would we stay again? Probably not, but we only stayed for the tournament to begin with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Hutch, Hotel Management
Dear J, We appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. I hope you enjoyed the golf tournament. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort if your return to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Want to live here!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Took our 5 year old granddaughter for her birthday because of the pools, price and proximity to Wild Animal Park. We walked into our amazing room and she said..Mama is gonna DIE that she didnt see this awesome room!! Spent 6 hours in pool.. Watched a Netflix movie, ordered pizza. It was the PERFECT weekend. Can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Hutch, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your granddaughter had an awesome birthday here at Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent visit in the near future.