Ratings based on 824 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Dec 23, 2014
This hotel located about 45-50 min from San Diego. There is really not much to do here unless you play golf. I tried their "Starbucks" latte at the market place and it was really bad. You can hear everyone talking in the rooms next to you. The curb side check in staff was eating sunflower seeds as she was talking to me..... The restaurant needs serious maintenance. Their "sliders" had some sort of wonder meet and upset my stomach. You get the picture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: It had everything because every room is a suite. Bring your own food and cook it on the grills they have to use outside.
Cons: nothing i enjoyed my stay
Location: Went to stone brewery only 18 min away and then went to pala(another 18 min) great place to stay.
Came out to celebrate my girlfriends b-day. Its not too far away from SD and close enough to the breweries in Escondido and gambling by the Indian reservations.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Trip cut short -flight cancellation/post pone

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Very quiet, and ground was well kept.
Cons: Management could have been reasonable and gave us the partial refund. Staff should have been more informed about the renovation issue.
Location: In the middle of nowhere. It takes 30-45 min. highway driving before you get anywhere. MUST have a car to commute which I knew ahead of time.
I have never rated a 2-bedrooms resort below "OK". And, I have visited at least half a dozen 2-bd resort if not more. US Airway cancelled and post pone our flight for 1 day. I called Expedia immediate (6:45/7:00am Sun.), and was told to call back in 2-3 hours. They will notify the resort and try to seek a partial refund on the portion of the hotel (flight+hotel package) as we would only be needing accommodation for 3 nights rather than 4. I did and was told no one from the resort could make that decision, must called back on a weekday between 8-5. I emailed the resort, but no one replied. Upon the completion of my trip. I called Expedia and was told the resort refused the partial refund. The Rep was very helpful and seek the same from Expedia and was granted. It told over 1/2 hour, but I saved over $200. First morning at the resort, I called for coffee supply. I was told to pick up our own supply from the on site grocery store. On our way out, we noticed the store was closed for renovation. Coffee supply was dropped off in our unit. We didn't use any of the on site faculties because our holidays were cut short. We did noticed a cup of coffee in the clubhouse costs $2 stored in a coffee thermos. I had to asked for extra toiletries and towels because we have 5 adults and a small infant. We knew there is no crib or highchair so we brought our own portables.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto Canada

Resort is Good for Families

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Restaurant, Monday Farmers Market.....pool was great.
Location: Very isolated...about 7 miles to nearest grocery store. Thirty minute drive to San Diego.
November is a quiet month. Our one bedroom unit was very suitable once inside, however, we were disappointed to get a bottom unit that had two flights of stairs down to unit. It was dark and no sunshine ... We sat by pool since patio was small and shady. The restaurant was outstanding...we ate meals each day....staff were courteous and our stay was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights from your visit with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but slow staff response

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Upon arrival I asked for two rooms next to each other. It took 20 minutes for the manager to locate rooms in buildings next to each other!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was less than perfect, we appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay. We do our best to satisfy all villa requests. It is great to hear you enjoyed our resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom northridge, ca

Huge and very nice

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The map that was given to us when we checked in was outdated. You need to update your maps. Also, the directions that the security guard gave us were not complete, you also need to update the "Orange Signs". We went around many times looking for our room. We finally had to have one of the security guards show us the way by following him in our car. Besides that, our stay was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Dear Rose, It is always nice to hear back from our guests after their vacation because their comments help us decide in what areas we need to improve service. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: It's beautiful surroundings.
Cons: A brighter light in the bathroom.
Location: Nothing right next to this place, but lots to do here.
Very relaxing. A good place for families to get together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit here at Welk Resort San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south orange county

Restful and peaceful getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Family oriented, roomy, clean.
Cons: More frequent shuttles. Another restaurant.
Location: Easy access from the 15 freeway. We never left the grounds which is what we wanted. Multiple pools and two golf courses. Beautiful area.
Stayed in a two bedroom villa. Great layout and amenities for group of six. Spent a lot of time at the newer Mountain pool which was beautiful, clean, roomy and perfect temperature. Lots of families on the property. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and hard working. This was a peaceful place for us to get away from stresses of life and just chill. Multiple recreation centers with lots of games and books to check out. One sit down restaurant on property was just okay, nothing special; but, for us, that was fine as we cooked most of our meals in our spacious and equipped kitchen. There is a shuttle service around the property that was slow. At one point we waited 45 minutes for a pickup. The drivers were all friendly though and apologetic. Only other complaint was we could see and hear the freeway from our beautiful balcony. That won't stop us from coming back again though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Dear kc, It is great to see your family enjoyed their vacation here at the Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort amenities and features as well as the beauty of the resort. Thank you for the feedback from your stay. We look forward to you returning for another fun filled family vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Clean, cozy and safe!!, Good for family vacation!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, relaxing, clean place to stay.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The suite was great, pool facilities great and the food and service at the on site restaurant was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to you visiting us again.