Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great place to relax with the family!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Would go back again. Great place to go and relax. My two boys 9 & 7 had a great time as well. They were a little pushy with the time share.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Okay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Parking and building design/layout. Not easily changed I'm sure.
Location: Not much close by. See above review.
We only stayed here because of a golf tournament, so keep that in mind. We wouldn't have chosen to stay here under normal circumstances. We've stayed at similar properties on the Big Island of Hawaii, so that is where the bar is set. Arrived late in the evening, check in was quick and easy. Finding a parking space reasonably close to our building was not. That wasn't a big surprise, however, the design of the building was odd in that our first floor room required us to go up a couple stairs then down a flight. Not easy when you have sleepy kids and a bunch of luggage. The room itself was spacious and clean. A little dated, but they've done a good job maintaining it. The clubhouse/pool area was nice and the staff were friendly. Had a pretty tasty burger at the snack shop. The pool was so crowded it was standing room only, but at least they had Wii games and table games as an alternative. Laundry facility was pretty standard. There were some evening activities like a "Hawaiian Night" with performances and food for sale. There's also a small convenience store and a Pizza Hut Express (largest size is medium). Most Resorts we've been to like this are designed to keep you on the property. This is no different, especially since it's kind of in the middle of nowhere. There is a Westfield Mall about 20 minutes south for those that need more dining/shopping options. Would we stay again? Probably not, but we only stayed for the tournament to begin with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Want to live here!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Took our 5 year old granddaughter for her birthday because of the pools, price and proximity to Wild Animal Park. We walked into our amazing room and she said..Mama is gonna DIE that she didnt see this awesome room!! Spent 6 hours in pool.. Watched a Netflix movie, ordered pizza. It was the PERFECT weekend. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Great hotel with fully fitted kitchen.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Have fully fitted kitchen.
Cons: Daily rubbish collection needed.
Everything is great there, but only thing I don't like is: with fitted kitchen hotel means you can cook, but no place to put the daily rubbish out, is everyone keep the rubbish in overnight?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Relaxing, fun and convenient!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Our three night stay at Welk San Diego was the perfect way to start our San Diego vacation. Quick, easy access to Safari Park, Legoland and the beaches. Super well equipped suite. Only drawback was uncomfortable pullout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hollywood, CA

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great facility conveniently park next to your room. Full kitchen with appliances washer & dryer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Welk Resort is a friendly and clean atmosphere. Great for families or couples of all ages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Kids loved it

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This resort is so good for kids - activities, pools , water slides, free kids meals with adult AND the food is great Just do it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

A little bit of Heaven

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The rooms were ones that you could live in for awhile. They had everything
Location: It was close to the city and San Diego, however the property had everything on it
This place was amazing - the facilities were gorgeous, the staff was friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay longer and will definitely return to this property. The grounds had everything from golf, dining, shopping and a waterpark. The room also had everything. The views were gorgeous and it was so relaxing just to sit on the balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Stay away from the sales people

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I wanted to relax, not get bombarded with a sales pitch. Everywhere I went I was invaded by golf carts with people doing timeshare tours. This included relaxing at the pool, lounging with my kids. The facility is great (equipment for the games ie pool cues etc) is old and broken and they are not worries about replacing. Faculty was very nice and clean, but the chronic golf cart sales people were simply too intrusive. If you are looking to "get away" stay away from this place. If you don't mind that atmosphere, then the place is great.