Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Beautiful place to stay. The staff was very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lidingö

Great family hotel/resort!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Our family of five spent 8 days in a family villa with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Spacious and well looked after, we'd love to come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
peter, We would love to have you back! it is great to see you and your family really enjoyed your vacation here at Welk Resort San Diego
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very small room sizes atleast the one we got.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Nice resort with good staff but the villa sizes are really small
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Absolutely loved loved this place! For our family of seven there is no better experience out there! Thanks welk resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Okay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Convenience of a business centre, family athmosphere, and fairly quiet at night, security was great.
It was a beautiful location, one rec centre under construction. Sofa bed that our teens slept in was not good, sore backs for both our 14 and 17 yr old kids, one ended up on the floor on cushions. Shower taps leaking and noisy, wall paper in the bathroom was peeling, not great appeal when you are paying over $200/night.. Hot tubs were great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort. I apologize for any challenges you experienced during your most recent stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading some of our amenities here at Welk. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Awesome experience with family for a relaxed vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. It is good to see you and your family had an excellent stay here at Welk Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Dec 23, 2014
This hotel located about 45-50 min from San Diego. There is really not much to do here unless you play golf. I tried their "Starbucks" latte at the market place and it was really bad. You can hear everyone talking in the rooms next to you. The curb side check in staff was eating sunflower seeds as she was talking to me..... The restaurant needs serious maintenance. Their "sliders" had some sort of wonder meet and upset my stomach. You get the picture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: It had everything because every room is a suite. Bring your own food and cook it on the grills they have to use outside.
Cons: nothing i enjoyed my stay
Location: Went to stone brewery only 18 min away and then went to pala(another 18 min) great place to stay.
Came out to celebrate my girlfriends b-day. Its not too far away from SD and close enough to the breweries in Escondido and gambling by the Indian reservations.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Trip cut short -flight cancellation/post pone

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Very quiet, and ground was well kept.
Cons: Management could have been reasonable and gave us the partial refund. Staff should have been more informed about the renovation issue.
Location: In the middle of nowhere. It takes 30-45 min. highway driving before you get anywhere. MUST have a car to commute which I knew ahead of time.
I have never rated a 2-bedrooms resort below "OK". And, I have visited at least half a dozen 2-bd resort if not more. US Airway cancelled and post pone our flight for 1 day. I called Expedia immediate (6:45/7:00am Sun.), and was told to call back in 2-3 hours. They will notify the resort and try to seek a partial refund on the portion of the hotel (flight+hotel package) as we would only be needing accommodation for 3 nights rather than 4. I did and was told no one from the resort could make that decision, must called back on a weekday between 8-5. I emailed the resort, but no one replied. Upon the completion of my trip. I called Expedia and was told the resort refused the partial refund. The Rep was very helpful and seek the same from Expedia and was granted. It told over 1/2 hour, but I saved over $200. First morning at the resort, I called for coffee supply. I was told to pick up our own supply from the on site grocery store. On our way out, we noticed the store was closed for renovation. Coffee supply was dropped off in our unit. We didn't use any of the on site faculties because our holidays were cut short. We did noticed a cup of coffee in the clubhouse costs $2 stored in a coffee thermos. I had to asked for extra toiletries and towels because we have 5 adults and a small infant. We knew there is no crib or highchair so we brought our own portables.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto Canada

Resort is Good for Families

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Restaurant, Monday Farmers Market.....pool was great.
Location: Very isolated...about 7 miles to nearest grocery store. Thirty minute drive to San Diego.
November is a quiet month. Our one bedroom unit was very suitable once inside, however, we were disappointed to get a bottom unit that had two flights of stairs down to unit. It was dark and no sunshine ... We sat by pool since patio was small and shady. The restaurant was outstanding...we ate meals each day....staff were courteous and our stay was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Hutch F, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights from your visit with us.