Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Family hotel for adults with small children

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: Breakfast chaos.
Location: Beach near but not beach front. Hote has shuttle bus.
Excellent family friendly hotel if you have young children. A busy drive to San Diego Daily if that's where you are going which can be a pain. Close to the beach but not beach front. Cookies and milk at 8 nice touch. Breakfast a nightmare! Fitness room small with only cardio and pool not swimable for lengths. Overall a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 minutes to Legoland

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Only 2 words. GREAT HOTEL!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susanfrom Chico, CA

Long weekend stay

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: It is nicely decorated. It is very inviting and comfortable.
Cons: We had trouble with the motion-activated lights in the fitness room. They turned off during our session on the stationery bicycle.
Location: It's near the beach. The Bistro on the property was a nice place for meals.
The West Inn was a great place to stay during our visit to Carlsbad. Centrally located, it was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go in a few minutes. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Daily breakfast was good. We used the fitness room--a quick workout fit in nicely. We will definitely put the West Inn high on our list for our next visit to Carlsbad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel, even better restaurant

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Started going to the West years ago after stumbling upon their restaurant. The absolute best food so far to date of any place I've been. Now we just plan a weekend getaway at the hotel and make dinner reservations. Nice rooms, friendly attentive staff, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anyafrom Northern NJ

OK Location but GREAT amenities make up for it!

Posted Nov 12, 2013
The hotel is located in kind of a weird spot, but there were so many positives that outweighed that one single factor. 1) it is right off of I-5, but that winds up being a good thing 2) their extra services make it a very nice stay (free: breakfast, cookies & milk for kids, happy hour for adults; BIG rooms, felt virtually sound-proof; should I go on?) 3) close proximity to Legoland and downtown Carlsbad....for good restaurants; 4) the Bistro is very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming into the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T. Pepperfrom Riverside, CA

Awesome Hotel!

Posted Oct 5, 2013
A coworker suggested this hotel. I'm so glad we listened. It was an awesome place to stay and worth every penny. We were there for my son's 4th birthday. Check in was smooth and easy. Upon entering the room, there was a balloon bouquet with a bag of fruit snacks on his bed. Later, we enjoyed warm cookies and ice cold milk before bed. In the morning we had a really good breakfast that tided us over for our day excursion at Legoland. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even bringing a step stool to the room for my son so he could reach the sink in the bathroom. The housekeeping staff was very friendly also. Everyone made my son and my husband and I feel very welcome and special. We plan to go back to visit again very soon for just a weekend away. Thank You West Inn & Suites! This was definitely a step up from the rest and the price couldn't be beat!