Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from quebec, montreal

The hotel is close to downtown business district

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The staff is very professional, the amenities were excellent (wifi was slow on my iPhone) And the room comfortable.
Cons: The noise is présent since it is downtown, maybe a four star hotel can afford thicker windows on the side of main streets.
Location: The entertainment district, business area and the port are quite close. This offers a diversity to fill a couple of days.
The hotel was pretty good except for the insonorisation, I could hear music in the room beside me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful hotel close to Gas Lamp/Seaport Village

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We came into town for the weekend. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Walking distance from everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Fantastic Hotel!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff is very cordial, professional, and efficient. The hotel itself is very elegant. The pool and spa are magnificent. The bar is very cozy with great service from the bartender. The view from our room had partial views of the ocean and harbor, had a large walk-in shower, and a very private entrance which eliminated any noise from guests walking down the hall. We'll definitely come back to this hotel if we ever stay in San Diego again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Beautiful inside and friendly staff

Posted Oct 16, 2014
My husband and stayed just one night in this hotel. We live in North County and didn't want to drive home after an event at the Zoo. So we checked into this hotel and were thrilled with its amenities. Rooftop pool. Effortless wifi. Teensy balcony in the room. Notably friendly staff. We look forward to staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

grand hotel, but no grand review...

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: great location downtown.
Cons: the gentleman behind the front desk needs improvement on how he treats the people checking in and out of the hotel.
the day before my stay I called the hotel to confirm my room and request an early check in. the woman who answered was great. she looked into it, and said it wouldn't be a problem and left a note on my account. once, I entered the hotel that was a completely different thing. the gentleman behind the counter was so rude and extremely unhelpful. leaving me to sit for 15-20 mins while he checked to see if my room was available. just looking at me not doing any with this mean glare. the funny thing is days later I was sitting at another hotel bar and the gentleman next to me also stayed there a couple night prior and had the same horrible experience I had w this individual. if it wasn't for the concierge who then approached me approached me 20 mins later, I would have def asked to speak to a manager. this was def not a welcoming experience to san diego at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Excellent location

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Very clean, efficient, friendly staff. Great housekeeping just overall very well run.
Cons: n/a
Location: Good location near shops and about 15 mins walk to the harbour.
The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the shops and about 15 minute walk to the harbour. When we first walked into the hotel I thought wow it was very nice, piano, lovely staircase, lovely chairs and very welcoming. The housekeeping in the rooms was very well run and very good. I would, without any doubt, stay here again. our room was lovely big bed, TV and lovely bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta Canada

Terrific Find

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Central to everything.
Cons: A little "musty" in the hall to our room and our room.
Location: Walk to Little Italy for a meal or to 5th ave. for food or entertainment. Close to the Padres ball park and the waterfront.
Great location with very friendly staff. Restaurant has very good food at good prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: We loved everything!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location! Near shopping, beaches, Petco Park, and great public transportation!!
We were extremely satisfied with our entire hotel stay at the West Gate Hotel. The room was beautiful, clean and well stocked, with everything we needed for our stay, including a cork screw!! ALL the staff at the West Gate Hotel were friendly and extremely helpful. There was even a door man to open doors when we came and went. We will definatley stay at the West Gate Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ensenada

A must know Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: This hotel is located a few steps of the Civic Theatre
Location: Close to Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp Quarter
Since you arrive, you can feel the kidness of people, the magnificent of the facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, Big rooms

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Cons: Reserved 2 identical rooms. My parents room had fresh lemonade/chocolate dipped strawberries but mine didn't! I think reception mixed the room keys up
I've stayed at this hotel twice. It's in a great location, just a two minute walk and your in the Gaslamp district. The rooms are very large and they have a lovely bathroom with separate dressing room/closet area. It's not for you if you modern/trendy, its more tradition. Very large windows with good city views. I've never used the pool so can't comment on that.