Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice stay!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Pool, lobby, room service. Staff was ver friendly. The chief concierge gave great suggestions and very helpful.
Cons: Noise through the vents.
Location: Horton plaza, gaslamp district, old town, little Italy, seaport, etc.
Overall stay was very pleasant. Pool was fantastic, along with having access to cardio machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Classy hotel & lovely stay for my family.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The amenities! Enjoyed the rooftop olympic pool and spa, the small gym was sufficient and clean, and we enjoyed a great breakfast at the restaurant.
Cons: The parking cost should be comparable to the others in the area, and should be $20 a day for hotel guests, not $32!
Location: Many eateries within walking distance, though we did not take advantage of the train which was right in front.
Hotel itself is quite classy, we really enjoyed the amenities during our four day stay. Valet staff was great, but there's a bit of a wait when they're catering to party guests (on Friday and Saturday nights). Concierge and front desk staff were attentive and friendly, and housekeeping (didn't get a chance to meet them) always did a wonderful job cleaning our room and turning down our beds. We would have preferred a different side of the hotel, we had a room that was in front of the train and we could not keep our sliding glass doors open, because of the noise, but it wasn't too bad. We will be returning!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Never again!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Hotel is in bad neighborhood. Parking 32 dollars a day !!! Hotel is old and tired needs updates . 2 occasions our room was not cleaned until 5 pm. Charged 15 dollars a day for bottled water and wifi in room. Lack of amenities ! One day pool closed for event and no notice given , that is there only amenity not even a coffee shop. Never going back !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: maid service
This hotel was very nice and in a great location. The food was good in the restaurant. Everyone was very pleasant. My only complaint is that the maid service was slow and somewhat inconsistent. One morning there the coffee had not been replenished for the in room coffee maker. Another day we left the hotel at 0830, granted we did not ask that the room be cleaned early but when we returned at 1530, tired from walking, the room had not been cleaned. With that said, I would happily go back there in an instant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn Hills, MI

Beautiful, inside and out

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The rooms were grand and so was the staff.
Cons: Shuttle to nearby areas.
Location: Very close to Gaslamp District and Waterfront. Not far from airport, no highway driving required.
From the moment we pulled up, we were impressed. All the staff we encountered personally were very pleasant and eager to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. I had picked the hotel as a surprise for our family as a special way to end our week long trip across the Southwest. They were thrilled. So close to many restaurants and things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson, CA

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The furnishings are all gorgeous . It's a great location in downtown .
Cons: One small thing would be a store to buy essentials. I had to walk a block to buy some Tylenol.
Location: Close to Gaslamp district. Short distance to the Midway ship, Harbor cruises and Seaport village , with shops and places to eat.
We went there to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful and better than expected. The staff was very helpful and accommodating to my husband that has health problems. The staff went above and beyond even helping us find a steakhouse to eat for our special anniversary dinner. The Westgate dining room was also fantastic with delicious food. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Close to many resteraunts and mall

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Great hotel concierge is great and helpful and sweet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great hotel in the City

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Room is beautiful, quiet and serene--especially for being in the middle of a city. Staff seem to really enjoy their jobs.
Cons: Nothing...loved it.
Location: Catch the jazz/blues in the evening on 5th Avenue. There's a phenomenal salad place called Salad Style on F street. Best. Salad. Ever.
The location is perfect...just a few blocks from Gaslamp but is still quiet and restful. We really enjoyed the hotel and the room. People at the front desk are incredibly helpful with whatever you might need. The hotel is elegant and charming. Since we were also traveling outside of the city, we parked our car there and walked everywhere while in San Diego. It's also a quick cab ride to the airport if you don't have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Nice hotel and clean

Posted Aug 12, 2014
It's great hotel with nice view I like it... I was with my family and it's close to everything in San Diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was impressed

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Our hotel room was beautiful! I was told by the staff we received one of the nicest rooms they have on the 18th floor. Beautiful view of San Diego, great rooftop pool, and the nicest bathroom I think I've seen for a hotel. It came with 2 showers which was convenient since there were three of us in the room. Only tricky thing was the hotel key. The door handle doesn't work and is just for show.