Ratings based on 1,027 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove

Special Visit!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The décor and furnishings were superb, and the staff were fun to interact with. :)
Cons: The only improvement would be to waive the daily parking fee, if someone stayed longer.
Location: The location is excellent. Right in heart of San Diego's "gas lamp district", close to beaches, and airport.
My goal for this occasion was to stay at one of San Diego's finest hotels, and a friend recommended Westgate. Expedia provided it as an option because of its rating and price. We made the choice and were thoroughly pleased with the experience. The room was exceptional and the hotel itself was spectacular!! We only stayed one night, so I didn't get to enjoy the gym or pool, but I did stop by to see what was there, and clearly it would have satisfied all my needs. Looking forward to coming soon and staying three days! The parking fee was unusually high from what I normally pay when I travel, but I guess the area necessitates the charge. Thanks for asking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Classic hotel in the heart of Gaslamp District

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We stayed here for two nights while on a short visit to San Diego. The facilities show their age but the ambience is of a classic European hotel. The staff is friendly. The location is excellent, within short walking distance to restaurants, bars, and shopping areas of San Diego's Gaslamp District. Also, a nice big pool on the third floor along with a jacuzzi - great for relaxing with your friends or family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: The old world charm, the polite and attentive staff, and the food!
Cons: A little noisy from outside emergency vehicles. Can't be prevented.
Location: Great location in San Diego. Near shopping and gaslight district.
We were enchanted by the old world feeling when we entered the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. 5 Star treatment throughout our brief stay. We enjoyed room service and breakfast in the restaurant. The food was presented well and was prepared perfectly. The hotel was booked and yet we felt like we were the only guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: the rooftop pool
Cons: interior cleaning and room upgrades
Considering the room was over $300 per night not including Taxes and Parking I was very shocked at how poor of condition the hotel was in. Our bed was broken down on one side so bad you could not stay on the bed sitting or lying. The toilet was broken and ran continually and the fridge room did not work at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Older hotel, very nicely appointed and we'll kept.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
All parking is valet (35.00/night) but can find other parking nearby. Very close to San Diego civic center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gonzales Ca

very accommodating in our early arrival.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
very nice hotel, would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Over all wonderful stay. The staff was extremely genuine. I would recommend valet parking just because it's so busy. Love the face that everything is walking distance . The hotel was very beautiful, I stayed in the premiere room and had an awesome view !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very Classy

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Room, Location, pool, staff, easy parking and great food.
Cons: Parking and room services is very good but on the expensive side.
Location: Too many to mention. We had 3 nights, was not enough.
Out of 8 hotels we visted in our fly drive, this and one in Las vegas were the best 2. Everything about it was just perfect. Free upgrade as we were on our honey moon. Best view we have every had of any city. Top food, you have to get your dinner delivered to your room one evening and open the patio doors. It was like we had a private restuarant over looking San Diego all to ourselves. Parking is a litlle pricing but you will always pay in citys. 5 minutes walk and your on the main streets for food and drink. Great location, superb staff and facilities. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Classy Destination in Downtown San Diego

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Entering through the elegant, low-traffic lobby made it seem like our own place. Did I mention the staff? Excellent!
Cons: The small bar was very nice. But I wondered if it could be expanded. Make it more of a destination and a larger showcase for the musicians.
Location: Amtrak, Metro Trolley, Horton Plaza, Gaslamp Quarter, USS Midway. Forget bay views, you don't need it. You'll see the bay plenty on your visit.
Approaching from the street, the hotel is recognizable as a 1970’s era luxury design. But upon entering, I was taken by surprise. The lobby design and décor is obviously inspired by Versailles and it has been lovingly maintained. Look around the hotel. At the lobby level is a small bar (jazz singer Jonathan Karrant on Saturday nights – wow, I thought I was in New York!), beautiful dining room and an outdoor pool on the 3rd floor with views into the city. They set the lobby up for afternoon tea on the weekends. We had a day planned and had to miss it. I’m not into tea, but I kept looking back over my shoulder wishing we could stay. My suggestion, bring some nice clothes and stay in for the tea. They draw a classy bunch. Our room was wonderful. Décor is older hotel luxury style. But when that style is so well maintained it’s just great. With all the hip and hard edge designs in vogue now, I had forgotten how nice the older luxury style can be. And the Westgate is in its prime. It’s a short 10 minute walk from the Amtrak station. Stretch your legs and roll on over. I can’t wait to go back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ok

Not pleasant!!!!

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: not much. Pillows too hard. Staff was uppity. No continental breakfast. Gave us a note because they just had to clean our room. I cleaned it better .
Cons: Everything. Valet parking $158. for 4 days plus tips. Outrageous. Not too many people there at the hotel. Why?
Location: San Diego is nice, just need to stay somewhere else, like Holiday Express.
Everything and everyone. Had to tip everyone even if you wanted some ice. $158 for valet parking for 4 days. Ridiculous plus tips to park the car 20 feet. Whoooo!!! Left us a note because we left a do not disturb sign on the door saying they had to clean our room. I cleaned it better than them. Pillows hard and flat, Mattress hard, no continental breakfast. Total experience Lousy!!!!