Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Classy Hotel... in the 80's

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The rooftop pool and exercise area were definitely the highlight of the hotel. In fact, it would bring me back during the summer.
Location: Excellent location near Horton Plaza, Retail Shopping, Gas Lamp Quarter and PLENTY to eat/drink. Great nightlife in Gas Lamp. Excellent tours as well.
I am perplexed about this review. This hotel has many amenities, a great staff and was very clean. The Decor was not at all to our liking, but I know that's just my opinion and it may suit others very well. It was very European and was dated. Furthermore, the entire hotel (rooms/lobby/etc.) smelled like an old museum. After we opened up the window and aired out the room, it was very pleasant. It seems like they could install a system to help generate a fresh smell throughout the hotel (?).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

it was a very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: the age and how well it is kept up
Cons: not charging for parking while a hotel guest just seems unfair
Location: its downtown endless things to do
nice facility pool workout room and just overall cleanliness
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Garden Grove, Calif.

The Westgate Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Elegant Style.
Cons: Water pressure in bathroom.
Location: The location was great, the Westgate Hotel was one 1/2 block from the event I was attending.
The room was very nice, and the staff was GREAT ! I had a great view from the 18th floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Noisy!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel inside and out. Very nice pool and outdoor lounge area. Very close proximity to the court houses and city administration building.
Cons: Launder the top bed cover after each guest or replace them with coverlets that can be washed. Ours had a reddish stain.
Location: Shopping at Horton Plaza, 25 minute walk to Seaport Village, catch the trolley to Old Town or Tijuana. 10 minute walk to the Gaslamp District.
Located in downtown San Diego right next to the trolley line with a stop right outside the hotel and within walking distance of Horton Plaza and Seaport Village. The hotel is beautiful and the amenities are quite nice. Unfortunately, there is a large population of homeless people sleeping in very close proximity to the hotel. Both the trolley horns, police sirens and shouting made noise an issue for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Very nice!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Employee warmth (smiles, opening doors, etc.). The concierge was very knowledgable and fun. I also enjoyed being greeted when calling on the phone.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great new coffee shop around the corner and a 7-11 across the street for snacks. Just a short walk to the Gaslamp district.
This is what you would expect from a large, European-styled hotel. The customer service was exceptional. Everyone greeted us warmly and was quick to help. The only exception was the waiter in the restaurant, Oliver, who was a bit cool despite us being the only patrons in the room. The pricetag was a big high, but not unreasonable considering that it was Valentine's Day (and President's Day) weekend and on par with similar hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Watch out for added fees!

Posted Feb 12, 2015
This was a deal on Expedia. Price was right. But when I arrived - bam - $37/night for parking. Then at check-in a "use" fee of $15/day. So what's a "use" fee? You get to use the fitness center. And the wifi. OK. But the wifi was so slow I had to use my phone as a hotspot. The hotel is nice enough (the baroquish lobby is a bit odd) and the location is great. But make sure your room isn't on the side of the hotel above the street car. The trolley horn is quite annoying every time it leaves the stop. So I guess hotels are trying to imitate the airlines with fees for "extras." To me it feels dishonest. There's no way to decine them once you're there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015
This is a very nice place. I travel extensively for business and would rank this place in the top 5 among 4-star hotels that I have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: very comfortable and a large room with all facilities
Cons: Noisy because of no double glazing on windows
Good, the hotel met expectations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iceland

Very comfortable and nice hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Location: Gaslamp Quarter.
Really comfortable hotel. Perfectly situated if you want to stay down town. Quiet and very nice hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rancho cucamonga, ca

Great place

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Great place! Right near lots of restaurants and shopping.... Pool was beautiful