Ratings based on 1,833 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calistoga, CA

disappointed

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: location close to beaches
Cons: many things
Location: close to beaches
Pros: -Very close to Mission Beach -Room was reasonable for a 3 star motel (outside room access, this is not a hotel) -staff was friendly Cons: -20 minute wait to register (and my room was pre-paid). -Window locked to prevent it from being opened (not sure why). I prefer fresh night air to AC. -This motel obviously doesn't understand or care that we are in a severe drought. Water running down the parking lot and into the street from over watering landscaping. Watering landscaping during the heat f the day when evaporation loss is highest. -Under the flight path of San Diego International Airport (made to hard to sleep with airplanes taking off ll night long). -Beds were hard and pillows small and hard. -Internet didn't work half the time (free doesn't matter if it don't work). -exhaust fan in bathroom inadequate (mirror took 10 minutes to de-fog). -maids rolling carts around until almost midnight. Clunk-clunk down the sidewalk in front of our room made it hard to sleep. Maybe that is why they have the windows bolted shut. Based on the reviews and having stayed at another Wyndam Hotel, we had high hopes for this place. We will not be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Don't like the stay

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Didn't like at all. Next time will look a better place to sleep better and not in a bend bed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

We did not stay. We checked in, and checked out.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Was mildewy motel atmosphere. Cave like room. Miniscule pool. Parking lot no garden. Overlooked tire shop. Awful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ma

Convenient location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms were good size, staff esp. in the lobby, excellent
Cons: Train your staff to clean the rooms efficiently
Location: For us was very convenient to visit the two colleges in the area, and go to down town and La Jolla
Great staff but the hotel needs some upgrading, esp the bathrooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills

Too poorly maintained

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Relatively clean, but very outdated and shabby. Needs a complete renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.AREA

not good

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: nothing only the lobby
Cons: needs a make over
Location: see above
could not sleep as the room has old fashion a/c which makes a lot of noise. needs new carpeting in room and a lot of tlc. would not stay there again. location not good for tourist as you are away from all the attractions that S.D. has to offer in other words you need a car or taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room smelled

Posted Aug 19, 2014
room smelled like urine bedsheets had stains towels had stains spiderweb above bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the suite

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Even though I loved the suite we had problems with our stay. Internet never worked, the toilet got stopped up and the tv had to be reprogrammed. We stayed a second time and our room was great, still no internet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HB CA

Watch out

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pretty sure my credit card was compromised after this hotel stay. So sad that people can't be trusted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable size.
Cons: Towels for the beach could be made available to guests.
We had a comfortable stay and it was clean. It was in a central location near many activities in San Diego.