Ratings based on 2,328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Was disappointed in the room it wasn't at all like the picture
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Average Old Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: It was close to H & M landing
Cons: See Above
Location: Fishing
We arrived at 2:30 pm hoping to check in due to an early morning Ocean Fishing trip the fallowing morning. By 2:45 after waiting in line for service we were told to come back at 3 as no rooms were available. Numerous other guest were also waiting. We left and drove over to H&M landing had a meal and checked on our trip. We returned to the Hotel at 5PM and they still had to check if a room was available. I saw where you had a sign in the lobby saying that on January 2016 you would start charging $10 a night for one car to park. Excuse me but its sad that you now have to charge for one guest parking at a hotel. You can rest assure that you will never ever get a $10 fee from me to park. I ask about a complimentary breakfast and was told you had none but if i showed someone my hotel key some blocks away they would give me a 10% discount. I would suggest that you folks consider adding $10 to the hotel room and not insult folks to pay to park at your facilities. Yes you are located in San Diego but your establishment is very old and if you wish to have more than transients residing you need to come up with a better game plan.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Rainy Review

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Good location and nice buildings
Cons: Many things. A maintenance department for one.
Location: Near Sports Arena and Sea World.
Rain impacted our stay in San Diego July 18-21. The staff and circumstances poured on the disappointment at the Wyndham Garden Hotel San Diego. This hotel did not offer Wi-Fi. Sure, that excuse worked for a day or two due to the weather, but should have been fixed by the third night. The local ABC and CBS channels were not available. We even had ants in our room. Good location and nice buildings, but no excuse for the other shortcomings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stillwater, MN

Adequate hotel close to Mission Beach

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Internet service!
Location: Close to the beach . The other attractions-Sea World and the Boardwalk are also close by the hotel.
This hotel is close to Sea World and Mission Beach and is affordable compared to the other hotels closer to the beach. There is also a 24 hour restaurant right next to the pool. The room was clean but very dated-say back to the days of Eisenhower. The air conditioner was unable to cool the back of the room where the bed was due to a pair of French doors in the way. There was a small exhaust fan to suck the cool air through but failed miserably to do so. The worst part of my stay was the absolutely horrible Internet connection. Spotty at best and after 12PM virtually nonexistent!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad timing

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Only stayed one night but storm hit power went out middle of the night .. fire alarm went off several times for long periods of time. Power back on about in the early morning but no hot water to shower before check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Everything went well except there was a problem with the A/C unit but ti was fixed the next day and worked great thereafter. All staff was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ROOM and COST

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The hotel was fine, but not worth the price we paid. The room had cobwebs on a light fixture and i left a note to staff to remove, but it never was.....the rug was filthy, you couldn't walk barefoot without having your feet getting really dirty.... the staff were all very nice, and with the exception of the above, all was well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from RIVERSIDE, CA

IT WILL DO.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: In walking distance of stores and restaurants.
Cons: The property was large however the pool was too small for the capacity of guest. Build larger pool on the property that does not have a Bar attached.
Location: The location is little more than one mile from Sea World and Ocean Beach. It is in walking distance of numerous restaurants, retail and grocery stores
I HAD RESERVED A ROOM FOR TWO NIGHTS HOWEVER THE DOOR CARDS WERE DEACTIVATED AT TH FIRST NIGHT. THE ELEVATORS ARE SMALL AND THE STAIR WELLS SMELLED OF URINE. FURTHER THE OUTSIDE DOOR TO THE STAIR WELL COULD NOT BE OPENED FROM THE GROUND FLOOR, FORCING ME TO WALK TO THE ELEVATOR TO ACCESS MY ROOM. IN ADDITION THE HOTEL DID NOT HONOR THE ONLINE RATE FOR BOTH NIGHTS. ALSO DISAPPOINTED THAT I WAS CHARGED FOR PARKING, AS A GUEST NOT PARKING IN A SECURE PARKING STRUCTURE ON THE PROPERTY, I FEEL THE SHOULD NOT BE CHARGED. I WAS ALSO SURPRISED THAT THE FAMILY POOL AREA WAS ATTACHED TO A BAR. ITS A SAFETY RISK ON NUMEROUS LEVELS. FEEL THAT THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN ANOTHER POOL AREA ON THE PROPERTY FOR FAMILIES WITH SMALL CHILDREN.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

*Worst HOTEL we have EVER stayed at!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Booked a suite with bunk beds and got a day bed with trundle. This took up the entire floor space. Ants in the bathroom. Pillows are toddler size. All compact parking spots. WIFI is terrible. Located in the ghetto. Adult shops, strip clubs and loitering bums everywhere. Was not the safest area. Would recommend to save your money and use it towards a nicer hotel. Don't let the Wyndham name fool you, this hotel doesn't even compare to a Motel 6. Will never stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
This motel is quite close to the SeaWorld which is the reason we chose it.