Ratings based on 2,184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Had the Jr. suite. The beds were really small and uncomfortable. Small space for a suite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom El Centro

Concert weekend getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Overall great stay. My husband and I went to a concert at the valley view center across the street, thats why we stayed here. It was very convenient to be able to walk to and from the concert! We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the stay very much. We stayed in a king suite nice size room with a little living room area and a bedroom. Micro and fridge was a nice plus too! Staff was friendly. Also we absolutely loved the restaurant DuPars they have, we ate there 3 times!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Hotel lobby was very nice. Looks kind of like a motel they have an elevator which was convenient. The rooms were pretty nice I would stay there again the only small complain I would have was just a lil bit of rust in the bathroom on the towel rack and the door hinges but def not a big deal like I said pretty nice, clean hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

LOVED THE JR. SUITE

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: I liked the room itself, we spent most our time in there anyway so I was happy with the amount of space.
Cons: THEIR STAFF!!! definitely need some customer service classes.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for Vday weekend, I did like the room a lot. I was very comfortable no one bothered us. When we checked in Gloria at the front desk was so polite and pleasant and she is probably the only reason I gave a 2 or else I would have given them a "0". They told us that in the morning they have Starbucks, (MY FAV) so I went down to the lobby the next morning around 8am and the lady at the front not Gloria said, "there is no more, and you have a coffee maker in your room". I did not like her response so I just said ok and walked away. The next morning I woke up earlier and the guy at the lobby told me that they didn't have any either. I was a bit disappointed because why would they offer that and not have it. I guess I am serious about my coffee. Anyway they do have a coffee machine in the room it's not bad but it's not Starbucks. My next complaint is of the restaurant next to the hotel which is very convenient but a little overpriced and the staff is not very knowledgeable about their food. Food was pretty good. Besides those two things I really liked this place, I will definitely come back. It is only 15minutes away from Gaslamp or the Harbor. But if you decide to stay in the area there are many restaurants to go to.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Rundown experience

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Unfortunately, nothing.
Cons: The hotel needs a massive facelift. Also, charge for the wifi if you need to - but don't give us something that does not work.
Location: For someone looking for simply a place to stay, this is not a bad option. It is super close to Seaworld, downtown San Diego, Mission Bay & more.
I was looking for a hotel close to downtown San Diego, when I found the Wyndham which was available at an affordable price. Pictures and setup looked good so I booked my room. The best way to describe the facility is that it was rundown. Looked very seedy, like a cheap motel. Rooms were reasonably clean, but the carpets looked old and dusty. The windows face the corridor, but you cannot close the drapes! All that separated you from the outside was a thin sheer curtain, which too wouldn't close all the way. They advertise free wi-fi, but its impossible to do anything productive throughout the day because the bandwidth is abysmal. I complained a couple of times about it, but I was politely ignored. It was obvious they knew they did not have a fix. Only time I could logon and actually access my email was at 2 am in the morning. The area looked somewhat suspicious, the hotel being completely exposed to the outside with no security in sight. While this is touted as a family hotel, the family suites are really the same size as any hotel room with a couple of bunk beds crammed into a corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Walnut Creek, CA

Just Passing Through

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: I liked that it was not expensive, but a safe location. It was close to Old Town and not far from Down Town or Little Italy.
Cons: Deferred Maintenance -- the door frames and grout tile had not been kept up and looked like mildew or rust was occurring.
Stayed here one night and it was ideally located to restaurants and easy access to freeways. A two-minute drive to Old Town (YAY!!!) and about a 15-minute drive to downtown. The beds were comfortable, lighting was ideal (for us gals to do our makeup). Only thing I didn't like (this is me being picky) is when I was in the bathroom, you could see deferred maintenance on the door frames, and tile grout. To me, that just seemed un-clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago area

Can't recommend.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: Housekeeping needs a lot of improvement.
Pretty noisy place. Front desk people no help with lobby computers. Didn't have proper towels in room -- even after complaining. Short one coffee cup one morning. Parking adequate but spaces are very tight. Buses took up much of the available parking on two nights. One the up side, location is convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Barrie, Ontario

Great price for a one night stop over

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Nice hotel if you have a car for day trips or a one night stop over. Good price.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom calif

Not great

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The front door would not close properly. There was an added charge of $10 per day for parking. They withheld an added charge for incidentals (50.00) told me it would be released same day but when I called to inquire they said oh no it takes 7-10 days for it to be back in your account. Would not recommend or return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel - Terrible Internet

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Overall experience was good - for business travelers, it's a no-no because of terrible Internet availability. Had to leave hotel to go to a Starbucks to be able to access anything.