Ratings based on 1,810 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

NIce Hotel, close to everthing.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Very cleand and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing. The hotel is getting another resuartant and bar establishment within a couple of months, then it would be perfect.
Location: Midway, Marine museum, tour boats, seaport, gaslamp district are all within walking distants.
Had a great time. The staff at the hotel were pleasant and very helpful. When we checked in and mentioned we were staying for two weeks, they ensured that we recieved a Bayside room. In a general conversation, we happen to mention our anniversary and received wine and a fruit and cheese tray when we returned to our room that night. The rooms are very clean , as was the whole hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Wonderful staff, very helpful and ready to please. Located close to airport and lots of sightseeing opportunities. Only problem was could not use pool at night due to pilots and flight attendants staying there needing undisturbed sleep. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: great view and clean
Cons: cafe
Location: midway
This hotel has great view, nice staff and great room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs

Nice hotel great views.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Great views, close to harbor.
Cons: Disclose the hidden fees.
Location: Great restaurants, excellent night life and nearby beaches.
Did not like the fact that they did not disclose that we had to pay $24.00 per day plus the refrigerator & microwave for an additional $20 per day. Total of $44.00 per day extra fee that was not disclosed at booking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Clean but don't plan on sleeping in.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
I chose this hotel due to its close location to Gaslamp, Marina, and beaches. But when we first arrived we were told to give the card we used to book and ID. The front dest guy without telling me first swipes my card and after tells me that he charged me for 2 days of parking and $50 a day deposit. being that we were on a very strict budget I told that he needed to tell me first because we had wanted to pay cash for parking he said "no". I then told him that he needed to refund that so that we could pay a different way and he called over a lady who said that if we went on a tour and listened to her speak on timeshares she could give us our money back on an American Express Card. I walked away with my key and after that the lady and the front desk called four times that night and the following day and night. Also I paid extra for "free" wifi which doesnt have good service in tower 3 only tower 1 and also there wasn't a laundry facility which we were told there was which was only in tower 1. Each room had a balcony which lacked privacy it's cool if you are ok looking at your neigbors. Also construction on the next door building starts right at 7:00 am. I won't staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff
Cons: Wifi should be faster.
Location: I like the location because everything was close.
Everybody is friendly and I like the view from where we are at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Expect to wait forever at the front desk.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The location, and the room were the only redeeming factors.
Cons: They need more staff. Three people selling trips, only 30 feet from the front desk, with only one desk clerk and 5 people in line. They need a café.
Location: Prepare to walk 45 minutes to the restaurant district. There is limited parking there. The USS Midway is across the street and a 10 minute walk.
( )The room was absolutely perfect. Clean, and newly remodeled. (-)Parking was $24.00 a day with no discount for a one week stay. (---)The front desk had a wait of 20 to 30 minutes, even to get our keys changed, when they magically stopped working one day. (-)They were very understaffed. (---)If you want breakfast, put on your hiking shoes to go 15 to 20 minutes away for the nearest actual breakfast. They had a coffee "bar," more like a wagon. And there was a Deli a 1/2 block away, but neither would come highly recommended. This was a surprise for a building right on the bay, in the heart of the walking area for ships. (-)If you go on a weekend, expect to hear you next door neighbors on their balconies partying until they pass out. Although on e of our week nights, some guests were extremely loud on their balcony after midnight, and the hotel staff actually responded to our complaint and quieted them down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland

Ideal location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
This hotel, right on the bay, is an ideal location to visit the sights of the city. A bonus was the shuttle bus the hotel offered from the airport and the Zoo, which was of great use. The views from the room balcony over the bay were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hollywood

Awesome vacation!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The bay view from the room, waking up in the moring looking at the water.
Cons: Need more lighting in the pool and more heating at night.
Location: The location was excellent, this hotel is near a lot of attractions and San Diego hotspots.
This hotel was awesome! The staff was polite and the service wonderful. This hotel was near a lot of attractions like, downtown, seaport village, and the gas lamp district. The rooms were very clean, and the beds were so comfortable I went into a deep sleep and overslept. I recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to visit San Diego, when you make your reservation make sure you get the bay view room. My girlfriend and I really likes this hotel, and we had a wonderful time in San Diego. We will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maricopa, AZ

Staff makes the difference.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff especially Saul. The view and the sunset.
Cons: Not use tower III.
Location: Talk about location. The USS Midway, the tall ships, right outside the front door. An amazing little restaurant to have breakfast at.
From the moment we arrived (3 hours early) we were welcomed with an amazing smile from an amazing hotel associate. (I did not get her name) She was warm and really showed her Wyndham "one of a kind experience." The star of the show at this property has to be Saul working the Valet Stand. If your having a tough day he will put you in the right frame of mind, and he will be very protective of your car. Parking rates are high but seems like all of San Diego is high? Staff recommended we try Little Italy which was a good walk but so worth the trip. The only thing negative is tower III City View and Water View is the construction site. They start early. But I have to say I would not trade our stay because of the amazing sunset we watched the night before we left. So worth it.