Ratings based on 1,445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Just enough. Good bed and shower close to what you want to see and do. Nice staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel, great neighborhood

Posted Sep 4, 2014
This is a very basic hotel in a great neighborhood very close to downtown. It seemed strange to us that this room didn't have central AC, but we didn't really need it. Other than that, the room had everything that we needed for our stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Though we couldn't get an early check-in, they were more than happy to store our bags. They also stored them the next day even though we weren't spending another night! HOWEVER, do NOT expect much from breakfast. We were warned when checking in that it would be small, but a table of bread, Eggos, and rotting bananas was what was a "free continental breakfast." But when one is on vacation, eating out can be one of the best parts! Overall, this hotel was worth the money we paid for it, and I would stay here again if traveling to San Francisco. I hope you have found this review helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai; UAE

Fine hotel but too expensive for standard

Posted Sep 3, 2014
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Loud Night Life

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The hotel is old. Not as nice as the pics on the web make it seem. No air conditioning and a lot of street noise and people yelling until after bars closed. I think a person could find nicer for the price. Positives were comfortable beds and good Chinese restaurant across the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average hotel but friendly staff

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location!!
Cons: Bathrooms
The hotel has a great location in SF but it is very expensive for what it is. The bathroom was unappealing and the shower was not working well. There was barely enough room to walk between the bed and the desk. The staff is extremely helpful though, and that definitely made my stay better! Good for people on a smaller budget, especially given how expensive hotels are in San Francisco.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sonoma

Lost of remodeling going, very inconvenient

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: No comment
Cons: Is a long list
Location: Six bloks from union square
I got a junior suite through expedia but for the remodeling wasn't available so they give me a standard room, without explaining the reason. I went down to the reception to ask why I didn't get what I ask for, they explained the situation and the only options were to get a suite for $110.00 dlls more or just get charged $99.00 dlls per night. Since my friends, who were visiting from Mexico, were allready installed in their room, I decided to stay and keep the small room, but wasn't the same
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ct.

Good location, but Hotel under Renovation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The location on Geary Street is wonderful... The staff were friendly, helpful. A quiet hotel for the most part
Cons: A make shift breakfast room and quite crowded the first morning.. Did not like what they offered....below par continental breakfast
Location: Hotel very near Union Square and easy walk from Powell St. BART Shopping near by, lots of restaurants etc.
The Andante Hotel is under going a lot of renovation.. lobby area, breakfast area and rooms being redone... Their website does not indicate all that is being done and pictures of the interior on their site are very different from what I saw.. My room was clean, repainted and the Bathroom had been redone.. Basic work done... For this reason, I would wait to recommend the Hotel under all is completed..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location. Security. Close proximity to restaurants, tour buses, cable car.
Cons: The renovation being done right now is rather inconvenient. Completion of it will be a definite improvement.
Location: The location is great. Within walking distance of lots of attractions for us. 3 blocks to Union Square, 6 blocks to Chinatown. Lots of restaurants.
This hotel is very old which I liked as it adds to the experience of staying in the downton area. It is still in the process of being renovated. It is also quite inexpensive compared to the newer and bigger hotels. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. Comfortable bed and nice clean modern bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you want a clean comfortable room and don't want to spend a fortune I would recommend it. Strictly no-frills. If you expect a plush room with fancy furnishings you should go to the Ritz or Westin but they will cost you 4 times as much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Old everything

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good, but that's about it.
Cons: Definitely make the rooms look clean, and make sure the facilities are working properly.
Location: A couple of foreign food shops on that street, Chinatown is about 20-25 minutes walking distance.
Stayed there for 1 night since we were on a waiting list for a flight. The lady at the front desk was rude and unhelpful when we checked in. The room we had was not good at all, the carpet was eaten through in some places, dirty with dust and stains in others looking as it hadn't been vacuumed in some time, and the transition from carpet to bathroom tile had a screw sticking out about 1/16" from the ground and I got a small cut from it in the bottom of my right foot. In out bathroom the toilet looked like it had a blocked pipe or somehting because the water would slowly drain out. We stayed there for a necessity, it was only 1 night, but I would still advice anyone to use this hotel as a last resort. PD The pizza place next door is amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close to city

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Decor, floor level, breakfast
Location: Close to city centre
Room near street was noisy , was no problem tomove