Ratings based on 1,408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location. Security. Close proximity to restaurants, tour buses, cable car.
Cons: The renovation being done right now is rather inconvenient. Completion of it will be a definite improvement.
Location: The location is great. Within walking distance of lots of attractions for us. 3 blocks to Union Square, 6 blocks to Chinatown. Lots of restaurants.
This hotel is very old which I liked as it adds to the experience of staying in the downton area. It is still in the process of being renovated. It is also quite inexpensive compared to the newer and bigger hotels. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. Comfortable bed and nice clean modern bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you want a clean comfortable room and don't want to spend a fortune I would recommend it. Strictly no-frills. If you expect a plush room with fancy furnishings you should go to the Ritz or Westin but they will cost you 4 times as much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Old everything

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good, but that's about it.
Cons: Definitely make the rooms look clean, and make sure the facilities are working properly.
Location: A couple of foreign food shops on that street, Chinatown is about 20-25 minutes walking distance.
Stayed there for 1 night since we were on a waiting list for a flight. The lady at the front desk was rude and unhelpful when we checked in. The room we had was not good at all, the carpet was eaten through in some places, dirty with dust and stains in others looking as it hadn't been vacuumed in some time, and the transition from carpet to bathroom tile had a screw sticking out about 1/16" from the ground and I got a small cut from it in the bottom of my right foot. In out bathroom the toilet looked like it had a blocked pipe or somehting because the water would slowly drain out. We stayed there for a necessity, it was only 1 night, but I would still advice anyone to use this hotel as a last resort. PD The pizza place next door is amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close to city

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Decor, floor level, breakfast
Location: Close to city centre
Room near street was noisy , was no problem tomove
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, Ca

Close to downtown. Kinda scary though.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Check in was a breeze. Hotel was being renovated so there was nothing pretty about the inside. Room wasn't as nice as picture. Could use a lot of maintenance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sac

Fair value

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The room was small but quaint. The bathroom was very small. Received trial size "packets" of shampoo/conditioner. The problem was staff disposed of unused portion so by day 4 I was out of hair product. There is construction, so there was no lobby. There were no paintings in room, only a mirror above desk. The power strip was plugged into an extension cord in the wall behind the bed/mattress which came unplugged so my phone didn't charge. Not sure this was up to fire code. Appreciated room safe. Hotel was convenient and I felt safe walking at night. View was of the building behind us. Travelers were friendly when met in elevator which made trip interesting. Might go back once construction is complete.
2 out of 5
by lawrence from singapore

Stayed at San Francisco Value for money

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Near better hotel service staff
Location: Location great walking distance to Macy and bus stop outside hotel
Stayed 3 nights fm 17 to 20 June. Hotel lobby is under major renovation Indian Receptionist not helpful when ask for airline number to call Room window unable to lock Breakfast place over crowded and lousy
2 out of 5
by Touring from Chicago

Older hotel close to Union

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The biggest negative was that we arrived and the front was boarded up, we go inside and everything is under renovation. It would have been nice to be informed of this, I checked their website and there was no mention of renovations going on. Everything was loud and dirty and under construction with tarps separating the little table they set up as their front desk and the construction area. The others in our group asked to see our room first before we checked in and they said the room they saw was much worse than the one they ended up putting us in. The room we were put in was relatively clean but definitely old - window coverings had holes (either torn or burned - didn't inspect them too closely), and one of the sheets had some stain. Takes 20+ minutes to get your car back if you valet and when we tried to call ahead no one was answering their phones so we had to walk back to the hotel to tell them we needed the car and then wander around for 25 min killing time until they brought it back. Also kind of expensive - $39/day. Overall the location was good, but for the price I think you could definitely find something better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is under renovation.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: this hotel require total demolish they serve a really mediocre breakfast in a room which is half constructed. antisanotry conditions
The entire first floor including the checkin office is under construction. I called this hotel and requested late checkin, as we were driving in from a long. We arrived really tired at around 1am and found that hotel is under construction. The computer system was down, as the checkin office did not exist. It took over 1hr to let us in to the room, which was on the 3rd floor and considered "finished" The room had really old, smelly carpet a 1000 year old TV and plumbing. We had to accept it as it was really late and we were tired.
2 out of 5
by Barbara from K.

Noisy hotel in poor neighborhood

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Unsafe neighborhood. Small room with no air conditioning. Windows painted shut
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EMac from Huntington Beach

Solid but not great

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Tight fit for 2 grown men but nice location...During the day...Easy access to downtown and AT&T. Good rate. Nice staff, a little slow but nice. Worth the money.