Ratings based on 1,990 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Updated, Older Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
The staff was very willing to help and so kind. The hotel itself is obviously older but has been updated and is very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Over-priced

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Cons: Staff could be better trained. The breakfast is not of a high standard.
Location: The location is satisfactory, but just be aware that it is adjacent to the Tenderloin District, which is (still) to be avoided.
This is a tired hotel. The rooms are modest; some of the staff are unhelpful and uninterested; and there is a lot of noise. It is, simply, overpriced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Would never go back.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: It is grimy at night. I don't often express negativity but this place sucked.
Smells terrible. Staff was weird. All I can say is parking was easy (next door) and there is a great middle eastern joint attached. Would never return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 nights in San Francisco

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: close to cable cars to get us to the Pier, reasonably price compare to other hotels
Cons: Sincerely I think they do their best with what they have
Location: Close to the shopping area and city transportation
We booked with the Adante hotel as their price was an incentive (paying $500 a night at a regular hotel was not in our budget). The hotel has been remodeled but is still an old hotel. No air conditioning (we were aware of it, the nights being cool, an open window helped cooling the bedroom temperature). fan ceiling only. That being said, you can open your window (with no screen and could have a feather visitor on your window seal) the room was very small (but it was for sleeping, so was OK with it). One elevator, which we barely have to wait a long time for (6 floors, about 20 bedrooms per floor). breakfast, complimentary, with coffee, tea, infusion, cereals, toasts, yogurts...satisfactory. Room and bathroom were clean, bed comfortable. close to cable cars, the shopping area but also close to the "shady" area too. Wouldn't have walk there late at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Bien ubicado

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Cerca de Union Square. El hotel es cómodo para estancias cortas, con wifi y desayuno sencillo de pan y café. Limpio y austero en su decoración, sin comedor pero rodeado de lugares para ello.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno nevada

sf

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: -price -free breakfast -comfortable bed
Cons: n/a
There was a conference in the city, so all rooms in town were sky high. We found this hotel at a very affordable rate and decided to give it a try. The neighborhood is sketchy. Its a close walk from union square area (less than 10 minutes) but as 2 young women, we were uncomfortable returning to the hotel in the evening. There are a lot of homeless and shady characters lurking the nearby streets. We just kept our heads down and walked fast. The hotel staff was very friendly and checkin was quick. The lobby is nice and modern. The room itself was small, but it is an old building, so it was as expected. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and in good working order. There was a free continental breakfast including ego waffles, yogurt, and oatmeal. Overall, for the price we were pleased. Besides the neighborhood, we have no complaints and would consider staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jul 1, 2015
At check in I was surprised by the extra person charge, when it was a double occupancy. The door to the dresser wouldn't close. And the Cable wasn't working.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family vacation to San Francisco

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Front desk was helpful.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Union Square location was close.
The room was much smaller than the online pics made it look. There were stains on the walls, cracks in the ceiling, and overall rundown feeling. There was someone else's dirty q-tip and piece of tissue behind the door when we got there....and they stayed there the entire three days we were there. The cleaning staff made our beds every day but left this garbage sitting on the floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Eggo's and toast

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly, the location was not bad and it was clean I did love that it was very quiet
Cons: maybe a refresh to more of boutique from stark modern
Location: Its fairly close to shopping but I was there on business in the city so I did not have time to check out the surroundings.
To be fair I was really only in the room to sleep and Shower. But the Modern redo of this hotel is already showing its age. the rooms are dark and have very little cheer in them I think due to the wood being painted black. I know bathrooms from the age of this hotel use to be outside of the room and the updates added bathrooms, well mine was huge, I believe it was an old retrofitted room. It had all the charm of a gas station bathroom. Though I did really like the towels. The bed was a raised platform bed soft enough for me but it was on a close second to sleeping on a big rock, I actually like firm so it was good. Don't really plan on breakfast here. I stuck with a banana and some water. It literally looked like Eggo's and toast was the main choices I think their may have been yogurt and Bran cereal. So if you are thinking this into your budget for food it may not be the right place to stay. Almost forgot there is a valet parking sign but you are not allowed to park there and the front desk said it would take 30 min for the car to be picked up, but it will be towed away long before that. If you stay here there is a parking garage 30 ft up the road the parking is 30 dollars for 24 hours and that is better than the hotel at 45. The hotel rate was reasonable and I would possibly stay here again, but I travel for a living and as long as the bed is clean and the shower works I am good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City UT

Good location for the price

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: For the price and location, I think this was a great hotel. Clean, friendly staff, and so close to Union Square.
Cons: The "delicious breakfast" was an over-exaggeration. Bananas, sandwich bread, frozen waffles, Activia yogurt, coffee, and a couple cereals.
Location: Plenty within walking distance. The Bellissimo Pizza joint and Pearl's Deluxe Burgers are really great inexpensive places to grab lunch or dinner.
Only a few blocks from Union Square, it was the best price I could find for the location. It is somewhat close to the Tenderloin area, which might be off-putting for some. The hotel room was nice and clean and not as small as I expected. The staff was helpful. The hotel doesn't have AC (typical for SF, I assume) so we had to crack the window to sleep comfortably, but that meant we had to wear earplugs to attempt to drown out the noise outside. The continental breakfast does leave a bit to be desired.