Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county

Don't even think about it!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Save you're self the bad experience. Overall all I give it a 0 on all areas. We happen to stay there on Pride weekend so everything was over priced and book that's the only reason we didn't cancel once we arrived. Creepy, dirty, old, weird smell, outdated, rude staff, ridiculous policies, horible horrible horible !!!! I never do ratings but this was just a disaster it needs one. The area is bad homeless everywhere and weird people loitering.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentrumsnah aber in einer schechten Gegend

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Location: Nur 10 Gehminuten vom Union Square entfernt. Gegend ist aber trozdem nicht gerade gut. Nachts würde ich hier als Frau besser nicht alleine rumlaufen.
Das Zimmer und die Decken waren nicht gerade sauber. Alles wirkt in diesem Hotel sehr veraltet und abgenutzt. Es wäre an der Zeit, alles mal ordentlich zu renovieren. Zum Frühstück gibt es kostenlose Donuts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Great Location

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel is older, but is surprisingly well kept. The rooms are very clean, and the staff is exceptionally friendly.
Cons: Unfortunately, there are a lot of homeless people who hang around right out front of the building.
Location: Shopping, Restaurants, and many transportation systems (BART/Muni/F Line) right outside the door to take you anywhere in the city.
This is an older hotel, and because it is directly located on Market street, it can be intimidating for some. There are a lot of homeless people in the area, but I have never been bothered by anyone. Otherwise, the location is great. There are multiple transportation lines right outside the door, including Muni buses, F line, and underground lines. Bart is also just steps away from the front door. There are numerous restaurants and shops right outside the hotel, and Union Square is only a few short blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2015
Good location for transportation to center of city and airport
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Hotel built at least 75 years ago

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: discussed above
Cons: new elevator, ice machine, new vending machine and a real continental breakfast
Location: The BART and most bus routes are only across the street. There are a ton of stores that you could never fit in 1 shopping mall within 1/2 mile.
You get what you pay for. It is an inexpensive hotel in a very good location. If you are tight on money, you need to be mindful the the soda machine hasn't worked in 5 - 10 years, you can't get any water in the hotel except out of the sink (and no ice), the elevators are broken and have been there since 1906, the TVs barely work and have no remote controls and free breakfast is only donuts, coffee and tea. The shower moves between hot and cold water every 15 seconds. The only redeeming quality is the hotel has free internet access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Für dieses Geld unschlagbar

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Die Unterkunft ist sauber und wenn man will wird jeden Tag das Zimmer gemacht! Auf die Toilette/Dusche aufm Flur waren immer in Ordnung!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Aceptable, en un buen barrio

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Es un edificio un poco antiguo, sin grandes comodidades, situado en un buen barrio, en general cómodo para llegar solo a dormir.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan Tokyo

スタッフさんは良い人だけど。。。

Posted Apr 2, 2015
かなり設備が古いのでエレベータが 押しても来なかったり、コバエが飛んでいたりします。 また、テンダーロインに近いので 夜中は叫び声などが聞こえます。 ただ、薬局が近くにあるので お菓子などは手軽に買いに行くことができます。 観光をする方にはぴったりの場所です。 ユニオンスクエアの大通りまで徒歩で二分ほどです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

San Fran stay for a run

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff and located next to the Bart and Muni stations. Neighborhood was no different than 3rd ave in Seattle. Bed was a bit stiff and would have liked more pillows. Other than that it was a good stay and loved the traditional dropping off of the keys every time we left. Didn't have the hassle of trying to remember where I out it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patricia from San Diego

Comfort and convenience

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
I chose to come back to the Aida because of the price, comfort, atmosphere, and location. It seems to do a lot of business but never seems crowded -- very private and comfortable. It's uniquely old-style, which gives it a magical character, and just a few blocks from excellent Vietnamese restaurants and a BART station and bus stops