Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We stayed here for one night in order to get a cheap deal in San Francisco. It was very basic and the shared bathroom facilities needed cleaning, but the bed linen was clean and the door locked. We'd definitely pay a bit more next time and stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Good hotel with a reasonable price

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: They have hot water and coffee all day long. I brought some noodles so it was good that they had hot water all the time.
Cons: With the price they charged to stay in downtown SF, I am not sure if they could do anything better.
Location: The location is right outside of the Bart station, Civic Center. Very conveniently located.
This hotel is in great location and it is a decent hotel considering the price I paid for in SFO. I read some people's bad reviews about this hotel and very concerned before I stayed there. But, it turned out to be fine. You just do not expect too much with this hotel and need to be careful with your surrounding using your common sense. I will probably stay this hotel again when I need to have a budget trip to SF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Affordable, but NOT fancy... at all

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Price, location.
Location: Right on Market so close public transport and lots of things.
Basic spot to drop for the night. ON Market, so colorful characters abound out front. Staff pleasant. LOTS of rules about leaving your key and NO guests visiting without paying a fee. Very odd. NO AC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Nice staff. Free coffee and tea. You have to book at least 1 day in advance. It smelled a bit at first, but it wasn't that bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The location itself may be very convenient but the quality of the room I stayed in was absolutely appalling. The moment I walked into the room, I thought I had stuck my head into a dog kennel - it stank really badly. Terrible experience - I would never recommend it to a friend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

you get what you pay for

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was really cheap and everything that came with the hotel showed how cheap it was. Everything was clean but all shared bathrooms, no iron and breakfast was donuts from across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarahfrom USA

Better than I expected!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was reading reviews before I checked in, and it made me a little nervous to stay here. I was surprised, however, how much better it was. I had no issues checking in or out, with the room, or the cleanliness. We had a private bathroom, and it was worth spending more money. Everything was clean and fresh, I had no problems with anything. The only thing is the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. It's loud at night, and there are a lot of homeless people roaming around. Other than that, everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Trevor McGeefrom Portland, OR

Old Style Hotel*Clean*Excellent Value

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked online because of the good rates. Was thinking I'd end up with something not too good. So glad I was wrong. Aida Plaza Hotel is a lovely place. We opted for the room with our own toilet & shower. And, we had a view. The room was very clean. It was a real clean. Not just some cheap chemicals smeared around to give the impression of. I have terrible sensitivity to most cleaning agents, laundry detergents, etc. Didn't have problems at Aida. And yet, the room was clean. The Housekeeping was friendly and efficient. We stayed 3 nights. The Desk Staff were all friendly too. And, for a World Class City, like SF, I appreciate 24HR Staffing, which Aida has; even if it's a Budget Hotel. The vintage charm of the place really made me feel like I was on vacation somewhere. I loved the patterned carpet, houseplants, etc. And, the old time Band, Swing, and Jazz played in the lobby and in the elevator, is a nice touch. I'll definitely be staying again. Also, I like the neighborhood. It just might not be for everyone. But, I don't mind it. It's very central. And, it feels like a city.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Over priced dated hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff here were very slow and it took a long time to check in. The staff had very odd attitudes towards customers and speed was certainly not of the essence.The location of the hotel was ok but i think it was over priced for what we got. The bathroom was very old and in need of attention. It was stained, dusty and just generally grubby.It served its purpose as a bed for the night but that is really it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom utah

Not recomended

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Scary place, a lot of bomb/homeless, parking is far from the hotel... No A/C... Not recomended..Overall rating is Terrible place but the staff are Ok...