Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

A few days of stay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The hotel was, clean and I was surprised to see the room equipped with a mini fridge, iron & board along with a microwave so that came in handy. Our overall stay was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fowler, CA

Small Room & Wet Carpet

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Cute tiny courtyard.
Location: We went to Candlestick Park for the "Legends of Candlestick" flag football game.
The room was small and the carpet was wet. We couldn't take off our shoes. Very noisy due to traffic. Lite continental breakfast...not good at all. Parking stalls are too narrow. It was hard to get in and out of our vehicle. I guess you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Comfortable queen size beds, quiet when inside the room, decent breakfast provisions
Cons: Faster bath tub drainage
Location: Close to San Francisco airport
Had a comfortable stay, felt safe, adequate parking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to San Francisco airport

Posted Jun 29, 2014
We arrived late due to a delayed flight, and had to check in through a window; it made me think that we weren't in a good area of town, however the staff was friendly enough. Room was quiet and clean and looked as though it had some recent updates. Bed was very comfortable; flat screen TV, and small living area. Appeared clean, and offered a basic continental breakfast, i.e. cereal, fruit, packaged Danish, and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Quality for the money you pay

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Knowing what this chain hotel looks like on average I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the room. It was clean and it looked like a 4 star hotel room. I chose this hotel based off the reviews it has and I was not dissapointed at all but my wife and I felt very comfy in there. On top of it, in the morning when I checked out, the guy at the front desk (which might be the owner) helped me to pay the fast track for Golden Gate bridge - no more cash accepted so you have to pay it online. He was very helpful with directions and went above his job description.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much better than "basic budget"

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I often seek a room that's clean and comfortable, but also a bargain -- so I've got lots of experience with the "basic budget" category. Many chains now offering wi-fi, bed, perhaps some coffee or modest breakfast. Well, this was a cut above the others, certainly above the other ABVI I've visited. The room was clean, etc. but I was really surprised by the quality of the furnishings in the room -- pillows and comforter typical of a much pricier hotel. And Sam, the owner/manager, went out of his way to advise me regarding transportation to the nearby BART station. I get the sense that he really wants to make his property attractive and keep things maintained well. And there are excellent diners nearby. The neighborhood (I walked in the mornings), while not Beverly Hills, is solid, working folk. I really liked this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Alaska

Know Where You're Going

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the owner takes pride in his service.
Cons: Well - there's no shuttle but, whatever - the cab ride isn't much and you don't have to WAIT for the shuttle !
Location: The restaurants are quite nice.. I've stayed on the other side of the freeway (at HoJo's) and it was expensive and not near as good.
Nice Place - The owner bought it in 2008 and he definitely takes a personal interest in the place. First, make sure you've written down the address and have the phone number ready. Most of the cabbies and the shuttle people will argue with you and insist that it is "downtown" San Francisco. There IS one downtown but this one is close to the airport - just a little farther than the usual HoJo Express and Sheraton etc. Tell the driver that it is North of GRAND AVE. and there will be no problem. I took a shuttle there for $17 but when I realized how close it was, I took a cab when I returned to the airport. Cab was $15.80. So - the best part (aside form the clean hotel) is that you can walk 6 blocks and turn right on Grand to enjoy Vietnamese food, Thai food, Mexican food, Italian food etc., etc. and they are all small town places - just neighborhood dining and good fare. That being said, it's a clean neighborhood but still a diverse neighborhood. I wouldn't hang around much past 10:30 or so. Go back to the hotel and have a cocktail in the small but quite nice courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, very convenient located

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Nice rooms, good shower, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel on main route into San Francisco

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Location: Also close to some local shops and on main bus route (292).
We spent two separate visits during our 2 week holiday and was very happy with their being car parking and on the main route for both the city centre and the airport. There was a limited but perfectly acceptable breakfast and the room was very clean. The staff were very helpful with any questions we had concerning getting about etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by latisha from stockton, ca

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Affordable, friendly staff, nice comfortable cozy room