Ratings based on 4,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, Extremely friendly staff

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Everybody was super friendly!! Location was amazing - walk to tons of shops, restaurants, bars, pier and more. Fast and free Internet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great location for sightseeing

Posted Mar 16, 2015
We stayed at the argonaut for 3 nights and could not have been happier. The building itself is beautiful, room was very spacious, and the lobby was a great area to relax in especially during the free cocktail hour with wine and local beer. The location is ideal for sightseeing. Walking distance of ferry building market, the Alcatraz ferry, ghirardelli square, Lombard street, coit tower, and the entrance of one of the famous cable cars. Fisherman's wharf area is very high volume/touristy but before noon each day it was actually quite peaceful. I highly recommend staying at the argonaut!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Alberta Canada

Staff helped surprise Husband & Sister

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Great service, yummy restaurant and free wine & beer happy hour! The rooms were a nice size and airy.
Cons: Hard to think of anything that could be improved, maybe an area to sunbath but there is sooo much else to do.
Location: Located so close to the Bay, loads of historical boats to see, near beach and Chocolate Factory. I love the location and recommend highly.,
I had mentioned to the staff that I had planned this trip to San Francisco to celebrate my husband's and sister's 50th birthday. They had a bottle of wine and a handwritten note in the hotel rooms, so nice. This hotel is close to the bay and numerous restaurants, and in walking distance to a load of activities. They offer a discount on most activities arranged through them and with their help..... we were so busy and had the best time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Great location Family friendly Staff very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Great location, very friendly staff, nice fitness center, clean room, free wine at night, what's not to like?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Great Service

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Nice hotel, close to Fisherman's Wharf, excellent customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

Staff Does not Get more Welcoming than here

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Staff first, then rooms, then yoga mat in room, then wine and beer in the lobby.
Cons: I personally don't like a sliding bathroom door. I like to hang towels on the back of the door. That's as big a complaint as I can come up with.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf - touristy but so what? It is fun. Excellent musicians play around the wharf. Easy to get around. Cable cars next door.
From the moment we stepped out of the cab, the staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming (thank you Steve). Everyone is incredibly friendly. Rooms are great, roomy, and love the yoga mat in the closet. The free wine and beer from 5-6:00 PM in the lobby is the perfect happy hour. Location is completely fun. Since my stay, whenever I mention that I was at a Kimpton Hotel, the reaction is yes, they are wonderful. Really over the top. I fully agree.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Location and building architecture
Cons: Interior design, Robes, more liquor variety
This hotel is situated in an interesting part of the City but the interior design is outdated and the amenities in the rooms can be nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, WA

Great hotel by Fisherman's Wharf & Ghiradeli Squar

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Attentive staff, clean decor, pet friendly
Location: Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradeli Square
I came to the hotel at 9:30 AM, expecting I'd have to check my back until check-in in the afternoon. They told me that no room in the class I booked was available but gave me a free upgrade to a view room rather than making me wait! What a nice touch, and representative of the service you expect from a hotel like this!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, CA

One Time Experience

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The only thing that was good about this hotel was the decorations/style (in my opinion, my mother hated it), and the view from the expensive room. Valet is 50 dollars!!! and you are pretty much obligated too unless you are taking a taxi. There is no pool or hot tub. If you like peace and quit then this is not the hotel for you, because people are out partying all night. At least on the Saturday night we stayed and according to other reviews I've read. But like I said the view of the bay made it almost worth it.