Ratings based on 3,984 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Attention to Detail great hotel!

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Very attentive staff. Hotel recently refurbished. Great location - highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2015
It was by the wharf , so you could walk back. & forth . The room was quiet couldn't hear noise from outside . Loved the history museum .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, Ca

Always GREAT

Posted Jan 19, 2015
It is just the best location. The staff can makes thing VERY easy if you just ask....parking......extra drinks.....food comps.....upgrade your room.....plan your day trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good location for Fisherman's Whar

Posted Jan 18, 2015
We stayed over Christmas so an extremely busy period, the restaurant staff seemed to be under a lot of pressure and service was not as good as it could have been. We enjoyed our stay. The restaurant across the road from the hotel which we only discovered on the last night, was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland N.Z.

A great stay

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Location, free stuff.
Location: Bike the Bridge - what a fantastic and fun way to see SF
Stayed at the Argonaut for two nights with my wife and two kids in a double queen bed room. Spacious rooms and well appointed, comfy beds. Enjoyed the Happy Hour as I always enjoy free stuff! Discussed hiring bikes to ride over the Golden Gate and were pleased to discover Argonaut has an arrangement with Blazing Saddles rentals; ended up with two solos and a tandem for the day absolutely free, can't beat that. The location is good with plenty to see, do and eat in close walking distance, but Fishermans Wharf is a very touristy area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Perfect location for San Fransisco

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The nautical style, it was an character building furnished beautifully.
Location: About a 10 min walk to Pier 39, close to the hop on hop off bus. Pier 33 where you go to Alcatraz is about a half hour brisk walk.
I had stayed at a Kimpton Hotel in Miami so I already knew this hotel would be great. It did not disappoint. I loved the nautical theme of the hotel as soon as you walk through the front doors. Our room was a King room and although we did not have an Ocean view we were still very happy with the room. The ammenities were great, the bed was very comfortable, although I did not like the pillows.. Too soft but that's not a deal breaker for this hotel. The staff were great and very helpful. Be mindful though that they take $400 bond, so just be aware that you have plenty of funds for this. The hotel is a little ways from Pier 39 but made for a really nice walk ... About 10 mins or longer if you stop and look at all the shops on the way. It's a quiet area.. Next door is a great little bar for drinks and making new friends at the end of a long day. The hotel is also pet friendly, but super clean. I would definatley stay here again if I were in San Francisco ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Alcatraz, Bay cruises, street cars, Fishermans wharf
Fantastic hotel, great and helpful service, fabulous location - would highly recommend and the view of Alcatraz from our window every day was so special. Room very large, Blue Mermaid excellent for breakfast and dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice place for fisherman wharf

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: nice spot, classic looking
Easy to walk around along the beach, close to a lot of tour spots, such as fisherman wharf and Alcatraz prison. if you rent a car, remember only valet parking available and it is $50 bucks per day, you can find other parking garages 1 or 2 blocks away from hotel with $36 per day. overall, we will give 4 stars, because we think the staff there were not really helping if you have any questions/issues, for example, if you ask them how could we get on a tour for Alcatraz prison, they will answer why the tour was booked without providing solutions, what we want to hear is if it is still possible to catch another tour or there is no way but we have to wait another day, something like that. we don't need redundant explaining how many visitors visit this season… hotel was clean and quiet, we like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
This hotel is beautiful, with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. Right on Fisherman's Wharf, is a place my family fully intend to return to. It's quaint and beautiful yet sophisticated. I cannot recommend it enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Fabulous location

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Inviting, helpful, relaxed, clean,
Location: Central Fishermans Wharf so fab location and easy to get to anywhere in San Francisco you wish to visit.
First stay in San Francisco and very happy with hotel, location etc and would recommend to anyone.