Ratings based on 3,131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from b

Great location for families.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Great hotel and location! We rented bikes and road in the nearby parks and made our way across the Golden Gate Bridge. Concierge was outstanding and made great dinner recommendations. We enjoyed our stay by the wharf. Parking is around 50 per day so be warned!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from new jersey

Cool hotel close to everything!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Stayed w my husband and teenage boys. Had a wonderful. So many places are in walking distance. The staff is very helpful and the daily wine tasting was an added plus!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location, and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The location, the service, and the clean fresh appearance of the hotel. There was so much more included in the hotel than normal!
Cons: More chairs downstairs for wine hour :)
Location: The location is right near Fisherman's Warf and Pier 39. There was no lack of restaurants around either! We loved the Mexican place around the corner!
We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our honeymoon! We had a suite on the 4th floor. The view was amazing and the room was much larger and nicer than we expected. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. When the bellman found out it was our honeymoon he had a bottle of wine at our choosing brought up to us. The wine hour downstairs was a great way to meet and talk to people also staying at the hotel. It gets busy though so get there early. The hotel was in a great location and within walking distance to a couple of great restaurants, a trolley stop, and a Walgreens. Cabs were very cheap and the hotel staff was willing to do whatever we asked of them. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family, and plan to stay here again if we come back to San Francisco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good base

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Common areas
Location: Very close to the cable car and a beach.
For the price we expected more. The location is very good. The room was clean and comfortable, just a pity that it was beside the lift with its noise of rushing air every time it moved!. The staff were pleasant and helpful. But we had that wherever we travelled in the US and the Argonaut really offered nothing more. The only common space was a busy and quite dark lobby. Some sort of bar area would have been helpful but the adjunct to the hotel only offered wine tasting and the neighbouring restaurant offered nothing special So all in all I would look for the the same facilities elsewhere for less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Amazing hotel! We will go there again for sure.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Apr 15, 2014
If you don't know San Francisco, you might find everything is so expensive there but in reality, SF is not a cheap city to vacation in. The nightly parking I thought is VERY EXPENSIVE, so best to avoid rental car and use taxi or bicycle. My other complaint was quality of sleeping and the matress was very soft for someone who is not used to it. The staff are very friendly and helpful I recommend this hotel, only if its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of the tourist area.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The afternoon happy hour was good and the Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar connected to the hotel was good for a quick breakfast.
Cons: Room was noisey - 4th floor - sounded like an HVAC unit was on the roof directly on top of our room.
Location: Location is right near the Buena Vista Cafe and the Powell Street Hyde cable car - plus you're right next to the bike trail - so location is very good
Spent 7 nights at the Argonaut Hotel. Initially I was not too pleased with the hotel's location - it felt a bit too close to all the noise and congestion associated with the wharf - but after a couple days I started to really appreciate having so many bars and restaurants close by - plus the crowds thinned out considerably after the weekend. The room was clean – and the staff was very pleasant. Really enjoyed the daily happy hour - very good. Horrible view from the room - interior room - all we saw from our window was the other rooms without any view and the lobby roof. The wine tasting room was a joke - expensive and not worth the time or energy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel in a great location.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
We just spent five nights at the Argonaut. The hotel was decorated beautifully and the rooms were a great size for us and our two kids. We enjoyed having Queen beds! We especially enjoyed the complimentary wine/ beer reception each night in the hotel lobby. They even gave the kids sparkling apple cider so we could all enjoy it! The hotels location was perfect for us with many restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location, could stand some updating

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Checked in on Thur left on Monday morning. Great location. Walk west toward Golden Gate bridge, for 4 miles. Room was clean and well serviced. We got wine at happy hour which was nice. Staff was very friendly. Overall hotel needs some updating, e.g. carpet looks tired, etc. No way to get white noise, repeated efforts to keep the fan going were not successful so made it tough to sleep. Well stock fridge. Business office was a complete ripoff. $7.95 per 15 minutes and 79 cents to print 1 page, are we in the hotel business, or the ripoff your business customers business. I'd still recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura from california

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Would definitely stay there again. Its right on the wharf and a cable car stop is just around the corner.