Ratings based on 3,126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Amazing hotel! We will go there again for sure.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Apr 15, 2014
If you don't know San Francisco, you might find everything is so expensive there but in reality, SF is not a cheap city to vacation in. The nightly parking I thought is VERY EXPENSIVE, so best to avoid rental car and use taxi or bicycle. My other complaint was quality of sleeping and the matress was very soft for someone who is not used to it. The staff are very friendly and helpful I recommend this hotel, only if its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of the tourist area.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The afternoon happy hour was good and the Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar connected to the hotel was good for a quick breakfast.
Cons: Room was noisey - 4th floor - sounded like an HVAC unit was on the roof directly on top of our room.
Location: Location is right near the Buena Vista Cafe and the Powell Street Hyde cable car - plus you're right next to the bike trail - so location is very good
Spent 7 nights at the Argonaut Hotel. Initially I was not too pleased with the hotel's location - it felt a bit too close to all the noise and congestion associated with the wharf - but after a couple days I started to really appreciate having so many bars and restaurants close by - plus the crowds thinned out considerably after the weekend. The room was clean – and the staff was very pleasant. Really enjoyed the daily happy hour - very good. Horrible view from the room - interior room - all we saw from our window was the other rooms without any view and the lobby roof. The wine tasting room was a joke - expensive and not worth the time or energy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel in a great location.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
We just spent five nights at the Argonaut. The hotel was decorated beautifully and the rooms were a great size for us and our two kids. We enjoyed having Queen beds! We especially enjoyed the complimentary wine/ beer reception each night in the hotel lobby. They even gave the kids sparkling apple cider so we could all enjoy it! The hotels location was perfect for us with many restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location, could stand some updating

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Checked in on Thur left on Monday morning. Great location. Walk west toward Golden Gate bridge, for 4 miles. Room was clean and well serviced. We got wine at happy hour which was nice. Staff was very friendly. Overall hotel needs some updating, e.g. carpet looks tired, etc. No way to get white noise, repeated efforts to keep the fan going were not successful so made it tough to sleep. Well stock fridge. Business office was a complete ripoff. $7.95 per 15 minutes and 79 cents to print 1 page, are we in the hotel business, or the ripoff your business customers business. I'd still recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura from california

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Would definitely stay there again. Its right on the wharf and a cable car stop is just around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Chicago

Fantastic in every way!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Everything. Nothing negative to say.
Cons: Maybe the elevators could be faster - but no biggie!
Location: Walking distance to all the piers, restaurants, and shops on Fisherman's Wharf.
Perfect location. Quiet but so close to everything. Had the King Suite with view of Alcatraz - such an amazing room. Wine tasting a great touch! No problems ever. Housekeeping does a thorough job. Loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cara from London, UK

Lovely, spotless and great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Fantastic hotel, amazing beds and great wine hour. Staff were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kenka from San Diego

Great location and experience!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Front desk staff could have been more welcoming and ask if there was anything else they could do Restaurant slow with many staff socializing.
Location: Wonderful location. Close to everything and cable cars just out the front door.
Very charming hotel, with great bell staff, comfy rooms, great location and service. Awesome wine and beer hour. Great concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leanne from Manitoba, Canada

Awesome experience!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The Argonaut has a fantastic location, close to so many of the tourist attractions we wanted to see. Loved the wine reception! Only problem we had through the whole stay was getting a taxi on check-out morning. We asked to book a cab the night before but were told it was not necessary, then waited over half an hour (before dawn!) for one to come.