Ratings based on 3,329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, perfect location.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Perfect location. Staff was amazing. Will defiantly visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Awesome location. Walking distance to food, the wharf, and entertainment. Great clean hotel with very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Bed is super uncomfortable

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Cons: New beds!
The room was quiet and clean. The bed was squeaky and super uncomfortable. Surprising for a Kimpton hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

middle of the action at fisherman's wharf

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Maritime museum was very interesting, great restaurants, Ghiradellie hot fudge sunday are the best and have a nightcap at the cafe Buena Vista.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel right on Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Nautical theme throughout and loved the wine tasting each night. Blue Mermaid Chowder restaurant was excellent
Cons: do not charge for in room water
Location: right on Fisherman's wharf with easy access to Alcatraz, Hop on Hop off buses and restaurants.park area to the side, walks towards Golden Gate Bridge
excellent rooms with modern amenities, in a great place for exploring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This is a wonderful hotel with wonderful staff. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
We had a wonderful experience at the Argonaut. We arrived late on a weeknight and unfortunately the king bed room we had requested was not available. Instead we received a room with 2 queen beds - not a deal breaker since we were so tired we would have slept anywhere at that point. They promised to move us to another room the next day. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only did they provide us with a king bed the next day but they upgraded us to a suite - and as an apology gave us a bottle of wine. That was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. What class!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

An excellent stay at a wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, Rooms, staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Alcatraz, Bike ride over Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Warf, Hippy Area, Big bus tours,visit the mrs Doubtfire House, planetarium, golden gate park
What can you say it was just brilliant stay ideal location marvellous room excellent staff right from the door staff to the maids you don't see we loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: IF there was a way to sound proof the rooms a little more so that you can't hear your neighbor's tv or someone coughing.
Location: There is Ghirardelli's Square with little shops, cupcake shop, and of course the chocolate and ice cream store. Many small shops with souvenirs nearby
We stayed at this hotel as a belated anniversary celebration. The hotel staff were very helpful during the stay with valet parking (although the text-message way to pick-up our car after check-out did not work as they told us it would), check in, and attending to our small needs such as shaving cream we had forgotten to bring. We missed the wine reception and were given coupons to get a free glass of wine at their restaurant, which was a very nice gesture. The room and bathroom were clean, very pretty, and comfortable. We did not get a good view as we had requested in our reservations, although this may have been because we got a lower rate on Expedia. The hotel was a quiet place, although in our room as we were going to bed, we could hear the tv next door as well as a person coughing. This was the most disappointing part, as most reviews had said this would be a quiet place and it broke the mood of a romantic night in a nice hotel. The beds were comfortable. Overall, there was nothing that stood out to us as making it worth the stay, other than the cleanliness and comfort of the room along with it's close location to the Fisherman's Wharf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Great location!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Excellent location between Ghiradelli Square and Fishermans Wharf. Gorgeous views, great decor and friendly staff. Highly recommend!