Ratings based on 748 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Families

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Cons: Have air conditioning. The room ventilation was poor.
This hotel might be good for business travelers, but the rooms are too small to accommodate more than 1 guest. Also it is very noisy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

EnjoyStay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Although the hotel is old, it has a nice location and low cost. I will stay this hotel, if I come to the town again.
I red reviewers' comments befiore check-in that someone complained about noise. When I checked-in, I requested to stay top floors. Unfortunately, due to late check-in, I got a room on the third floor and may have a chance to change room in the morning of the next day. I felt OK after the first night. Then I did not change a room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from Clearwater, Florida

Quaint hotel near everything - good value!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location. Value. Very comfortable bed.
Cons: Drapes were marginal in covering window for privacy. No A/C means open windows (no screens - no bugs either) for ventilation which increases noise.
Modest room overlooking Grant Avenue entrance to Chinatown. Hotel location makes easy walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, French Quarter and the Port of San Francisco Ferry Building. Numerous eating options covering all varieties of cuisine at anytime of day or night. Revel in the sounds of the city at any hour of the day including the early morning removal of recyclables and garbage. A Starbucks on every corner, as well as, many other chain and independent coffee houses covers the bases for america's favorite caffienated beverage. Overall customer service provided at area restaurants and shops was excellent and service staff very friendly and accomodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Toronto, ON

Nice clean hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff, great price
Cons: Wifi
Location: Great location near Chinatown and Union square. Easy to get around as a tourist.
Comfy hotel in a great location. Rooms were nice and clean. Beds were pretty good, and the towel animals are a cute touch. Bathroom was quite cramped, but shower pressure was good! The wifi was worthless, could barely even connect unless it was the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
This hotel was recommended by a friend and we were pleased with our stay. The Baldwin has an excellent location for shopping and dining. It is located right by the gate of China Town. Also, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vr from Santa Monica CA

I'll be back!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for. Great location! Chinatown in vew and steps to Union square. Helpful staff. Felt safe as female traveling alone. Very clean. Comfortable firm mattress beds. Nice towels. Windows that open. Free wifi. Loads of outlets. No valet, but parking is down a block where they valet for you. You can unload and load in front if need to. Slept really well. I'm coming back.
2 out of 5
by Ashley from Boston

Very cheap hotel for Union Square booked v. early

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Towel folding and the price
Cons: WiFi, WiFi, WiFi.
Location: Great location. Halfway between ChinaTown and Union Square.
I booked very early and the price was $99/night plus taxes, amazing for Union Square. A friend who booked the week before paid almost double that. If I'd paid that much, I'd have been upset. Rooms were reasonable and the staff very friendly and good. Lovely, creative towels folded into a different animal on your bed when you got back to your room each night. Nice touch. My complaint and the reason for the bad review is their WiFi was really, really terrible. Very difficult to get to the login screen. If you succeeded, speed was slow. Better in the lobby, but who wants to sit in the lobby to do their computing? Others had the same experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by greg from florida

Great location

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Price, location, quiet.
Cons: Mattress could be more comfortable
Location: In the center of the city with lots of restaurants, shopping and museums nearby.
Short walking distance to the convention center, and good restaurants. Basic amenities but clean and helpful and efficient staff. Great value
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Overall, it's an okay hotel. Facilities are not fantastic, however, the location is good and rooms were alright.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: location