Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Central location in San Francisco

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Close to Union Square and Chinatown as well as major shopping brands
Cons: The shower over old style bath could be improved otherwise all ok! A mini breakfast bar would be helpful although there are a number of cafes close.
Location: Chinatown located next door and Union Square just around the corner for tours. Trams are only a couple of blocks away as is Market Street and the BART
Great hotel for its age. Staff were helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Great location near the china gate which is a stop for the hop on hop off bus! Starbucks and nice french cafe across the road. Beds were comfy! No air con only a fan which got a bit hot! Floor 5 was a bit smelly not sure why quite old and musty i guess - very comfortable stay however i would try a different floor based on the smell however the hotel staff were very accommodating and very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay for location and $

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Location and room
The room exceeded my expectations. I had read the reviews and wasn't sure if we would like the room. Room was updated, a good size, clean and comfortable. It was warm the two days we were in San Fran and there isn't air conditioning, but we opened the window and used the fan. There isn't much to the lobby, but we really only used the room. Hotel is in a great location. I thought the staff could have been friendlier...they had some very strict rules regarding losing a key ($20 replacement), it was only a key card, so that seemed strange. Most hotels don't care much as they simply reprogram lost keys. I would stay there again...great value for the $.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Location...location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
This small hotel is situated half a block from the Chinese gate. Entrance to Chinatown and two blocks to Union square and it's great shops etc. also Close to cable car. Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price hotel close to financial district

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Room was compact, but enough to stay. And room service was good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose area

Good hotel, convenient location, helpful staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We were treated well throughout our stay, while we were in SF for the AvonWalk over the weekend. For a small rate increase, we were able to upgrade to a 2-bed room, which hadn't been available when we made the reservation. There was always someone at the desk, even when we left in the very early morning, and they were always helpful. They stored our luggage all day on the day we checked out and we felt confident in the security of our items. Our only complaint was some banging when someone rifled a dumpster in the middle of one night- otherwise, there was little noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The quality is so so..

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Comparing to the price I paid, the quality is not that good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel, location and staff

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Central location and clean.
Cons: Nothing - we really enjoyed it.
Location: Awesome location, right on the doorstep of Chinatown and loads of fabulous stores within two blocks. Very short walk to both Union Square and BART.
We had two rooms - both overlooked the alleyway (not ideal as the alley was in constant use by trucks and other noisy vehicles) - but they were clean and well maintained. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful (nothing was too much trouble). The complimentary coffee, tea and lounge facilities in the lobby was appreciated. In fact, we bought some salads and used the space for a "picnic" dinner one night, which we all enjoyed.
3 out of 5
by rico from vancouver

Clean and functional but very basic

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Satisactory but missed not having in room coffee and air conditioning. Bare walls, minimal tv channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff and Ruben from Toronto, ON

Excellent location and very good value for money!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location, excellent value for money, cleanliness, no bugs, pleasant staff, location, excellent value. Will return for sure!
Cons: Black-out drapes, more sound-proofing on windows. Great, though, for people like us who are out & about all the time and only at the hotel to sleep.
Location: EVERYTHING!!! Literally in the centre of the city with equal access to all areas either by foot or by readily available MUNI / BART transport.
My husband & I stayed for 7 nights at the Baldwin and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The facilities are limited, true, with no in-house breakfast option, no pool, etc. However, we found an excellent breakfast place across the street (Café de la Presse, ask to sit in the dining room with either Nina or Andrea as your servers -- great!!!) But the Baldwin more than makes up for any perceived deficiencies with excellent location, literally 2 minute walk to the famous Chinatown Dragon Gate or 5 minutes down to Market St and the shops & excellent public transit. TIP -- get a MUNI Passport (day, 3-day or 7-day. We got the 7-day Passport and used cable cars, buses, streetcars/ trams and the subway/ metro. Great value and huge time-saver!) Union Square shopping is just 7 minutes away and Castro/ Mission, Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, etc., are easily reached from the transit running just outside the Baldwin's front door, destination reached within 20-25 minutes. We'd shop, stop back at the hotel to drop off bags and then go out again. Easy and convenient -- for a very reasonable rate. The rooms & hotel itself were very clean and comfortable. We will DEFINITELY RETURN when we are back in San Francisco. TIP -- insist on a room on the 2nd floor, REAR of the building. This will provide easy stair access (slow elevator) and be dark and quiet. Street rooms can be noisy due to traffic and garbage collection at night. But still a great place to stay!