Ratings based on 1,313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: A small fridge in each room
Location: Just near the start of Chinatown and also a short walk to Union Square
I was pleasantly surprised but how central the hotel was to everything. The staff were delightful and helpful. I would happily stay again and I have recommended it to a friend already.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Nice downtown location

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Central Location and Clean
Cons: Queen size bed even in the smaller rooms.
Location: See main review.
I don't often stay in a downtown location so this was a treat as far as location is concerned. The room was small but clean with a full size (not Queen) bed for my wife and I. Free tea and coffee in the lobby anytime but no breakfast of any kind which was a disappointment considering the room prices. Despite being on the 8th floor facing Grant Ave., we still had a lot of street noise at night. If you are planning a trip to SF and want to stay at this hotel, don't rent a vehicle as everything in this city is well connected with local transit (good location). We rented a car and felt it was a waste of money especially with a $30+/day parking charge for a car we didn't use apart from travel to and from the Airport. We were walking distance to Union Square (10min), Chinatown (2min), Pier 39/Fisherman's wharf (25-35min), Powell Ave. cable car turnaround (10min), Lombard St. (25min) and Market Street (5min). Walking times will differ depending on fitness level due to the insanely steep streets SF is known for. Open top bus tours could be caught at Union Square and the cable car at Powell ($6US/ride) can get you to the piers for any boat tour you want to book if you don't want to walk up the steep streets. Overall a nice boutique hotel that served its purpose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location. Helpful staff at desk. Vic was abl

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and great location at a reasonable price.
Cons: Coffee maker in room?
Location: Right next to China town. Several breakfast restaurants near by. We like Lori's and Roxanne's.
We were able to get to every place easily by walking. It was our first time in San Fran. Vic gave us good suggestions from the front desk. They helped us with a parking garage for our rental car at $30 per day. I appreciated the use of a computer in the small lobby for .50 per minute.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
毎度宿泊しています。こぢんまりしていますが立地,部屋の清潔さなどが良いです。 無料のホテル内Wi-Fiも高速で素晴らしいです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value close to much

Posted May 31, 2015
Awesome except wake up call upon early departure did not work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Liked the convenient location.
Location: Close to a lot of things.
Enjoyed the location of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Seattle

nice hotels walking distance to close to Chinatown

Posted May 12, 2015
I enjoyed the hotel the one downside is it's a little noisy at night time and the rooms are very hot. the ceiling fan was a nice touch but due to the noise we had to keep the window shut at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Bare bones hotel at the gate to China Town

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Price, proximity to fun things.
Cons: Coffee machines in room, maybe. Perhaps another chair. The room was small, though, so another chair might have been too much.
Location: Located a block from the gate to China Town. There are some wonderful restaurants near by and there was a cool Scottish store around the corner.
The staff was courteous and helpful when we spoke to them. They were very quiet and reserved. The room was small but clean. I was thankful for the way the windows kept out the street noise. Not much to be had in the luxury department, but it was a good place to rest and keep our things between activities in San Francisco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Solid hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Free Wifi works well everywhere in the hotel, including the room. The maid staff does there job very well; you'll never be lacking for fresh towels.
Cons: This is an old hotel - the rooms are small and there isn't any climate control.
Location: Close to China town, about a 10-12 minute walk to Union Square and big conference hotels. Lots of expensive shopping within a 2-3 block radius.
The Baldwin isn't fancy but it's not your depressing run of the mill 2 star hotel either. The rooms are very clean, if a bit cramped. I didn't see any sort of climate control (thermostat or combined heat and A/C unit) in the room. I stayed during a cool, dry week in April so I just left the window open and was just fine. The beds were comfortable, the closet was enormous, complimentary toiletries were replaced every day, and the shower had pretty good pressure which is impressive considering the drought in California right now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rennes

Hôtel très pratique

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Cons: Un peu bruyant, double vitrage à mettre en place
Location: Vous êtes au cœur de tout !
Super bien placé, à l'entrée de China Town et à 2 pas d'Union Square. Propre, service Ok, ce n'est pas un Palace mais ce n'est pas ce qu'on lui demande. Literie confortable.