Ratings based on 1,176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fremont

Hotel close to Chinatown

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The hotel location is very good to everywhere. But parking is very hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, affordable, well appointed.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Good room size; helpful, friendly staff; somewhat tired but clean; good amenities (eg ironing board, iron, safe, TV, wifi, hair dryer); good light for make-up; slightly noisy but that is to be expected given the location. To counter noise, ask for a room on a high floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Posted Feb 23, 2015
We stayed at The Baldwin based on location, price and reviews. Great location. Walking distance to train and buses, with 24 hour diner nearby. Price was affordable and the bed was comfortable. The room was cleaned daily, although it had issues when we checked in. The ice bucket was left with old water and underneath the tub was not cleaned. I didn't appreciate seeing that on our first day. The bathroom hot water ran out quickly and there was poor water pressure. A clean bathroom is a must for me. So, the lack of cleanliness affected the overall rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
部屋も綺麗で掃除も行き届いており、非常に満足しました。ベットも大きく、シーツの取り替えもきちんとされており、寝心地抜群でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Nice Hotel in Union Square/Financial District

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, clean.
Location: Easy few minute walk to Market Street to catch Muni buses, street cars and BART. Easy walk to Port of San Francisco.
The Baldwin is a nice, decent, clean hotel for the budget conscious traveler. It is conveniently located in the Union Square area and just a few blocks from Market Street transportation. The room was clean and spacious for my needs. The bathroom was modern and clean with toiletries that were replenished each day. Staff were friendly. I had room on an upper floor facing Grant Avenue and there was no problem with noise during the night even with the window open. The ability to open a window for fresh air was an added plus. Overall, I would give it a top rating for the incredible bargain price I got. A friend who lives in SF saw the room and took photos so he could recommend it for friends visiting the Bay Area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Baldwin nice hotel for the price you pay...

Posted Feb 3, 2015
they only thing is the noise in the back alley and elevator that takes for ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Staff was very helpful . Room promptly cleaned and would make little towel animals on the bed, very clever. Good location to china town and financial district, and trolley service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island NY

A small Hotel and a big surprise

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Small, clean, quiet, nice staff, all I needed for the 3 day meeting.
For one person attending a 3 day meeting in Union Square, it was perfect and very well located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Nice hotel in Union Square

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Great location and price was reasonable for the area and weekend. Nice hotel for a weekend getaway in the city
Cons: Full length mirror would be nice
Location: Restaurants, bars, shopping
Great little hotel in Union Square area with lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Reasonable parking garage very close also. Rooms were clean and bed comfortable and up to date with wifi, plenty of plugs for charging and decent tv. Starbucks was close for a morning coffee but many other little cafe/coffee shops available. No full length mirror is really my only complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was extremely nice. the bed very comfortable
Cons: The only thing missing was hot water and fridge in the room
Location: excellent location
Overall very nice, staff helpful, wifi worked well