Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Location...location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
This small hotel is situated half a block from the Chinese gate. Entrance to Chinatown and two blocks to Union square and it's great shops etc. also Close to cable car. Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price hotel close to financial district

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Room was compact, but enough to stay. And room service was good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose area

Good hotel, convenient location, helpful staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We were treated well throughout our stay, while we were in SF for the AvonWalk over the weekend. For a small rate increase, we were able to upgrade to a 2-bed room, which hadn't been available when we made the reservation. There was always someone at the desk, even when we left in the very early morning, and they were always helpful. They stored our luggage all day on the day we checked out and we felt confident in the security of our items. Our only complaint was some banging when someone rifled a dumpster in the middle of one night- otherwise, there was little noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The quality is so so..

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Comparing to the price I paid, the quality is not that good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel, location and staff

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Central location and clean.
Cons: Nothing - we really enjoyed it.
Location: Awesome location, right on the doorstep of Chinatown and loads of fabulous stores within two blocks. Very short walk to both Union Square and BART.
We had two rooms - both overlooked the alleyway (not ideal as the alley was in constant use by trucks and other noisy vehicles) - but they were clean and well maintained. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful (nothing was too much trouble). The complimentary coffee, tea and lounge facilities in the lobby was appreciated. In fact, we bought some salads and used the space for a "picnic" dinner one night, which we all enjoyed.
3 out of 5
by rico from vancouver

Clean and functional but very basic

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Satisactory but missed not having in room coffee and air conditioning. Bare walls, minimal tv channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff and Ruben from Toronto, ON

Excellent location and very good value for money!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location, excellent value for money, cleanliness, no bugs, pleasant staff, location, excellent value. Will return for sure!
Cons: Black-out drapes, more sound-proofing on windows. Great, though, for people like us who are out & about all the time and only at the hotel to sleep.
Location: EVERYTHING!!! Literally in the centre of the city with equal access to all areas either by foot or by readily available MUNI / BART transport.
My husband & I stayed for 7 nights at the Baldwin and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The facilities are limited, true, with no in-house breakfast option, no pool, etc. However, we found an excellent breakfast place across the street (Café de la Presse, ask to sit in the dining room with either Nina or Andrea as your servers -- great!!!) But the Baldwin more than makes up for any perceived deficiencies with excellent location, literally 2 minute walk to the famous Chinatown Dragon Gate or 5 minutes down to Market St and the shops & excellent public transit. TIP -- get a MUNI Passport (day, 3-day or 7-day. We got the 7-day Passport and used cable cars, buses, streetcars/ trams and the subway/ metro. Great value and huge time-saver!) Union Square shopping is just 7 minutes away and Castro/ Mission, Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, etc., are easily reached from the transit running just outside the Baldwin's front door, destination reached within 20-25 minutes. We'd shop, stop back at the hotel to drop off bags and then go out again. Easy and convenient -- for a very reasonable rate. The rooms & hotel itself were very clean and comfortable. We will DEFINITELY RETURN when we are back in San Francisco. TIP -- insist on a room on the 2nd floor, REAR of the building. This will provide easy stair access (slow elevator) and be dark and quiet. Street rooms can be noisy due to traffic and garbage collection at night. But still a great place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from London, UK

Affordable hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
I booked the Baldwin Hotel as an affordable choice in the central, downtown area of San Francisco. I was extremely impressed by the location - immediately near the main shopping part of the city, and really convenient for all main attractions, transport links. I'd say the location was ideal. The hotel had all the facilities you'd expect. I wouldn't say it was high quality / luxury, but you get what you pay for. But the room was a good size with a nice, new-looking bathroom. Had good stuff like free wifi, free coffee in the lobby, free toiletries etc. Nice touch was some towels folded into a dog shape to greet me - unusual!! Fun touch! Staff were helpful, happy to store my luggage for the day. Minor criticisms: the room and bathroom were generally clean, but I did find a few stray hairs that definitely weren't mine, on the towels and sheets, Also, ice was only available in the lobby (I was on 7th floor), so bit inconvenient. There was only one elevator, and it was very slow, so usually had to wait to get between lobby and room. However, I'd also add that I was a young woman travelling alone, so safety was important to me, and I felt completely safe and comfortable at the Baldwin. Overall, very good value. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adriana from Australia

Excellent location and close to all facility.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Proximity to all places
Location: Union square and the big bus
Close to Union Square and other places of interest. Hotel was clean but rooms are small and clean. Good cafe across the way with nice and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Keller, TX

Good location

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Central location Clean!!!!!
Cons: Better coffee or something for breakfast
Location: China town Little Italy
The Hotel is really nice, staff is great but if your room is on Grant Ave be prepared that trash pick up across the street is at 2:00 am and 4:00 am and with no AC you might have your window open because it is nice and cool. And on the weekend there was a saxophone player paying the same thing over and over again. There is really nothing else the hotel offers - don't try their coffee there is a Starbucks 20 yards up the road. With all that I still like the hotel you just need to know.