Ratings based on 829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Clean comfortable. I will stay there again. Friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

The Baldwin

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: It's location was spot on. Right in the middle of the hub bub of the city.
Cons: Installation of a small fridge to keep drinks and water cool in each room should be standard.
Location: Union Square and the bus tours. right outside the door! awesome! Chinatown just over the road and great restaurants within one block.
These guys have done a wonderful job and looked after us really well. Highest marks given! I will be recommending them to all our friends. Thanks Guys!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location!!!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Add small fridges and microwaves in rooms. Remove public restrooms from basement.
Location: Banana Republic, Chanel, Ross for less, Marshalls and more nearby. Lots of restaurants around, Starbucks down the street. Cable car and buses nearby.
hotel is right in Chinatown, close to shops and within a few walking blocks off Union Square. Hotel amenities are modest, no microwave available in lobby and only 1 small fridge available at front desk. Didn't spend much time in hotel so wasn't too much of a problem. Our hotel room was basic, clean and comfortable for 2 people, bathroom was a bit small but functional. Also no AC in room, but I suppose not needed since windows can be opened, central heat. Furniture is a bit outdated but some renovations were made on all door locks. Staff was friendly and helpful, location a must! We could see the Coit Tower from our room. Price reasonable for San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great San Francisco Value

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Outlined above
Cons: Outlined above
Location: Outlined above.
The Baldwin Hotel was a pleasant surprise beginning with great curb appeal. Room and bathroom were a good size and very clean. Staff seemed to take great pride in the hotel. Great location near Union Square, Chinatown and Financial District. Only downside was the room was noisy as all downtown San Francisco rooms are. Highly recommended but bring ear plugs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Next to Chinatown, close to tourist attractions

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location and cost. You will have to park about a block away in a public parking structure and pay an additional $32 per 24 hours.
Cons: The facilities were clean and the staff was friendly. A hotel like this really doesn't need to change anything. They aren't trying to be a resort.
Location: Union square shopping, China town. My wife and I walked to AT&T park, which was about an easy 15-20 walk, but longer than some people would prefer.
This hotel is right is super close to Union square and Chinatown, and is very affordable given the location. However, we had a street facing room, and of course the city of SF is busy throughout the night, so the there was a lot of noise. However, the facility was very clean and my wife and I were not disappointed with the hotel in general. Just don't expect anything fancy or for the staff to go above and beyond their normal job to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel in an excellent location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
We stayed 3 nights and found the rooms clean, quiet and comfortable although a little small. The beds were extremely comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Baldwin Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Handy to market street for shopping
Cons: provide a fridge and coffee making facilities
Location: Really handy for shopping, good transportation to other areas especially the pier area, transportation was cheap and good services to other areas.
The hotel was very convenient to main town shopping area and handy for trams to the waterfront. The hotel amenities were clean but dated, the shower in the bath particularly old and difficult to get in handout for older persons. There were no facilities for team and coffee, no fridge etc. The elevator slow and small. However the staff were good, very friendly and helpful. Overall as we only required clean beds and a shower it was acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Central location in San Francisco

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Close to Union Square and Chinatown as well as major shopping brands
Cons: The shower over old style bath could be improved otherwise all ok! A mini breakfast bar would be helpful although there are a number of cafes close.
Location: Chinatown located next door and Union Square just around the corner for tours. Trams are only a couple of blocks away as is Market Street and the BART
Great hotel for its age. Staff were helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Great location near the china gate which is a stop for the hop on hop off bus! Starbucks and nice french cafe across the road. Beds were comfy! No air con only a fan which got a bit hot! Floor 5 was a bit smelly not sure why quite old and musty i guess - very comfortable stay however i would try a different floor based on the smell however the hotel staff were very accommodating and very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay for location and $

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Location and room
The room exceeded my expectations. I had read the reviews and wasn't sure if we would like the room. Room was updated, a good size, clean and comfortable. It was warm the two days we were in San Fran and there isn't air conditioning, but we opened the window and used the fan. There isn't much to the lobby, but we really only used the room. Hotel is in a great location. I thought the staff could have been friendlier...they had some very strict rules regarding losing a key ($20 replacement), it was only a key card, so that seemed strange. Most hotels don't care much as they simply reprogram lost keys. I would stay there again...great value for the $.