Ratings based on 1,234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Convenient hotel in downtown San Francisco

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: I liked that the staff was helpful, and efficient, and that the room was clean. The cleaning staff also took the time to make bath towel animals.
Cons: Rooms close to the ground floor could use AC if it gets really hot, and street noise is undesirable.
Location: The Ferry Building, Chinatown, and Financial District are very close by.
The general experience was pleasant. The room was clean, the staff was efficient and helpful, and there were generally adequate amenities. My room was facing the street, and right above it, and on the corner, so I had two windows, though one faced the alley. With the windows open, the street noise was evident, and was fine when the windows were closed, but that meant no fresh air. There was no AC in the room, but there was a fan, which was a huge saving grace. All those things aside, the hotel is quite convenient to the financial district, and right on the edge of Chinatown; the Ferry Building is also close by. Embarcadero and Ghirardeli square are much further, but walkable, if you have the time/energy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cleveland ohio

great Indy hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Nice location. Convenient to financial district and Chinatown and Union Square. Nicely kept with vintage charm. Nice touches-I liked the animals made from towels each day in my room. Very cute and fun. Everyone was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle upon Tyne. UK

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Central area. Clean rooms and good staff
Cons: Older hotel but great for the price paid
Location: Central for everything. Big bus stop opposite hotel. Next to China town- walking distance from most things
Staff friendly & they bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. We were allowed early check in as a room was available and looked after our luggage after check out until we left for the airport. Fantastic central area. Would gladly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel muito bom e muito bem localizado

Posted Apr 7, 2015
O hitel fica próximo de tudo e conta com um pessoal bacana no atendimento. O banheiro deixiu um pouco a desejar. A banheira tem uma cortina o que deixa o local muito apertado e a agua acaba indo para o chão do banheiro. Fora isso tudo ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Centrally located. The staff were helpful.
Cons: It needs to be updated and it needs HVAC
The room was old with questionable bedding. Very warm with no air conditioning. There was a ceiling fan but you needed to open windows without screens for any air. The bathtub had peeling porcelain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to everything San Francisco!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Clean, comfortable and affordable! The staff was pleasant and friendly!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good central position.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were hepful and the city position was very convenient.
Cons: Better double glazing to block outside noise. A bedroom chair would add to the comfort.
Location: Much to explore. China town, luxury shopping.
Towels excellent, bed linen poor. Very noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

とても快適なホテル

Posted Apr 5, 2015
今回5回目のサンフランシスコで3月の終わりに5泊しました。ホテルを選ぶにあたりレビューを参考に価格が安いホテルを選びました。 BALDWINは総合的に一番いいと思い予約しましたが、実際現地に着くまではどうだろうかとちょっと不安でしたが、泊まってみていいホテルだと思いました。 まず、立地ですが治安がとてもよかったです。すぐそばが中華街の入り口さらに向かい側がフランス料理のレストランが集まるフランス人街のようになっていて、おしゃれでした。中華料理やフレンチがすぐに食べれます。 ホテルのスタッフもしっかりしていました。部屋も皆さんが書いている通り清潔でした。バスタブはホテルが歴史あるホテルなのですごく近代的なものではないですが、古き良きアメリカの旅行者が体験したであろうバスルームを体験できた気がします。 一番行く前に気になったエレベーターですが、特に狭くて遅いとは思いませんでした。アメリカで買った特大のスーツケースと中位のを主人と二人で持っていきましたが。普通に横にすることなく入りましたし、二人のってもあと二人くらい乗れそうなスペースがありました。(入口は確かにエレベーターの幅の半分くらいです)以前パリのホテルで二人でギリギリだったことがあったのでそんなようなのをイメージしてましたので、狭いとは思いませんでした。 コーヒーが受付の奥においてあり、利用させてもらいました。 フェリービルにも、ケーブルカーにも近く、フィッシャーマンズワーフにも行きやすかったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Well located close to Union Square - easy walking to shops, Chinatown, and other attractions
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland New Zealand

It is a basic hotel at a reasonable price & clean

Posted Apr 3, 2015
This hotel is excellently located in the heart if the city with easy walking distance to good shipping and dining