Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and inexpensive.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, easy and inexpensive for SF hotels.
Location: It's close to the beach in a quite and safe neighborhood. It's easy to get around town with the street car line right outside.
I was pleased with the cleanliness of this hotel and the responsiveness of the owners. Being in a room just above a bar was a bit challenging at times. Unlike the regularity of the street cars running by, the noises from the bar were somewhat jarring at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Ok

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Cliff House is pretty cool, China Beach and Baker Beach.
Good location, but we had no aircon, so had to sleep with the window open and the train coming by is incredibly noisy. Either way, it is close to some nice coffee shops and the beach of course!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location!!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
perfect place to stay for a one night getaway ... so close to so many great establishments especially the beach!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Tony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Safe, Very run-down

Posted Sep 22, 2014
This is a very run-down place, the sureoundings are safe enough and there's plenty of room to park. Uber to the city at night was around 20-40 bucks. It's right by the coast and has a bar underneath it. If you don't mind a bit of a stained carpet and funky smell this place is not bad. Clean linens and towels. Shower worked fine.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ethel Kirkfrom Guerneville, Ca

Ugh!

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Couldn't find the site. Sign painted on the building in the middle of the block of apartment houses with an obscure driveway. I am somewhat handicapped with rooms only on the 2nd (19 steps) and 3rd floor. Room was small with stains everywhere. No fan of any kind and the bathroom (fan casing on wall full of dust) was not clean looking. I had to leave the 2 windows (filthy) open on the side where people walked to and from rooms all night, to keep from sneezing from the dust. One lamp near the bed was out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by SteveWfrom Hastings, MI

good hideaway

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you can sleep thru the noise of the street cars every twenty minutes then this is the perfect place to stay. The room was a little shabby, even homely, but clean. No problems. Pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

gooooooog

Posted Sep 2, 2014
i liked it and will be back if i am at the area. i liked it and will be back if i am at the area. i liked it and will be back if i am at the area. i liked it and will be back if i am at the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Loud, cold, and inconvenient

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The heater in the room was not working well, and the bed was uncomfortable. The muni comes right in front of the hotel, and it's quite loud. Not to mention, it takes a long time to get a cab. I won't recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

NEXT TO A COOL BAR!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was right in front of the trains, so it was easy to get a train ride to downtown. The rooms were bigger than I thought they would be. It was clean and very comfortable.