Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Ok

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Cliff House is pretty cool, China Beach and Baker Beach.
Good location, but we had no aircon, so had to sleep with the window open and the train coming by is incredibly noisy. Either way, it is close to some nice coffee shops and the beach of course!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location!!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
perfect place to stay for a one night getaway ... so close to so many great establishments especially the beach!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Safe, Very run-down

Posted Sep 22, 2014
This is a very run-down place, the sureoundings are safe enough and there's plenty of room to park. Uber to the city at night was around 20-40 bucks. It's right by the coast and has a bar underneath it. If you don't mind a bit of a stained carpet and funky smell this place is not bad. Clean linens and towels. Shower worked fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

gooooooog

Posted Sep 2, 2014
i liked it and will be back if i am at the area. i liked it and will be back if i am at the area. i liked it and will be back if i am at the area. i liked it and will be back if i am at the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Loud, cold, and inconvenient

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The heater in the room was not working well, and the bed was uncomfortable. The muni comes right in front of the hotel, and it's quite loud. Not to mention, it takes a long time to get a cab. I won't recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

NEXT TO A COOL BAR!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was right in front of the trains, so it was easy to get a train ride to downtown. The rooms were bigger than I thought they would be. It was clean and very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

no sleep to stay for one night.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: nothing.
it's very old for the furniture, and carpet is dirty, wall has some black holes and can see mould. some bad smell. very old window can not lock, facing the bus-train trail and street, the city bus-train passes every 10 mins for the whole night. the bathtub and faucet blocked, water will not blow away. the neighbor played noisy music and spoke louldly till 2AM.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Cheap stay in the city

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Very basic small room. Check-in is through a glass window, bank style. No a/c, no WiFi, but fairly clean. The tram in front of the hotel is loud and shakes the room. Walking distance to the beach and Golden Gate park. Nice cafe down the street for breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jessica from Ventura County

Run down in decent neighborhood, close to Park

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well I got what I payed for. $90/night for a cold, weak streamed shower, and loud buses at night. After reading the reviews for this place I was prepared for night with earplugs so I slept well. The next morning after my arrival the water heater for the whole place broke. However, they were very prompt at replacing it about an hour later. As an interior design student I was horrified at the lack of update this place had, and the layout of the bathroom didn't make sense. But for crashing for a few nights to sight see with friends and visit my sister who is a local it was fine. I picked the hotel because it was close to my sisters house where the neighborhood seemed safe. I wasn't planning on spending much time in that place anyway and the place was decently clean, although I was skeptical. My friend and I looked under the covers for bed bugs our first night there, but didn't find any thankfully. Bed was comfy enough and there was a couple of great breakfast nooks right across the street to get us going. I was also planning on spending time at Golden Gate Park and the hotel is just about 5 blocks from the hotel. It is two blocks from the west beaches as well. If you are going to San Fran for the big city sights and you like being comfortable, then this hotel is NOT for you. To be honest it was pretty bad. I was glad to say goodbye to that hotel. Although I got some laughs because of it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com