Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected....

Posted May 25, 2014
The general condition of the hotel was very bad, the mirror was broken and and been repaired with tape. The city experianced recored high temps while my stay in this hotel that had no air conditioning. I was miserable until the temps returned to normal. I will give them credit, the room was always clean.
2 out of 5
by casual travelle from W

Close to beach

Posted May 24, 2014
This hotel has a great location and is affordable. Unfortunately the location is also next to a major metro line that goes by every 15 minutes from 6am to midnight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Not many positives.

Posted May 19, 2014
This hotel would have been 3 stars if it wasnt for the noisy location- right next to noisy train that runs every 15 minutes and upstairs fom a noisy dive bar... the plusses was that it was across the street from good coffee/breakfast shop java beach.. will NEVER stay here again...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Northern California

Inexpensive hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: convenient and cheap
Cons: hook on bathroom door, coffee pot
Location: ocean and VA Hospital, Cliff House
This hotel is old. However, our rooms were clean, carpet clean. Cheap towel and linens, but clean. Noise from train and bar on corner is an issue if you have a room facing the front. New flat screan TV, internet connection. Bring your own soap. Convenient
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yoga Gal from Central Valley, CA

Location great; hotel completely adequate

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Cons: Really, cons aren’t bad at all. Stained carpet. Thrift-store-looking aesthetic. Big deal. You just need to know what you are signing up for—cheap nite’s stay (in one of the greatest/most expensive cities in the world), a place that’s a bit down-in-the-heels in a funky “real people in the 99% live around here” ‘hood. I was a bit worried after some of the sad reviews of this hotel, but my experience was just fine, and even unexpectedly...well...fine! Pros: Public transportation right outside (no, the noise isn’t awful) to anywhere. Outer Sunset area. FAB. Walkable ‘hood. Free parking if you need it. Free wifi that worked great. Skylight in the bathroom, light and airy feeling, good pressure in shower. Micro, fridge, hair dryer, some soap and shampoo. Java Beach Café, Beachside Café, SeaBreeze Café, Trouble Coffee all only a block or two away. Within a few blocks, Devil’s Teeth Bakery (to die for), Pizza on Noriega, organic market, Thai and Chinese restaurants galore…then, Golden Gate park, THE BEACH, and running/biking paths along breathtaking coastline. The owners were helpful—once I forgot to close my window and I called and they took care of it; helped with maps and questions; nice folk who stick by rules. So this isn’t a destination hotel, but it doesn't bill itself as such either. My stay was positive. I have another weekend yoga workshop coming up, and I'll book again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tamara from Novato

Close to the Beach, the zoo and the park

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and the staff really nice , courteous and helpful. We enjoyed to be near the beach, and near restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Keith from St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada

Not into posh but there are reasonable expectaions

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have been tripping around for weeks, and have stayed in much less expensive hotels, that were perfectly satisfactory, and far beyond the service provided by this hotel. There was no place on which to put laptop, chair was not at all comfortable and drawer had to be taken out of dresser to lay laptop on, to bring it up to a satisfactory height, to provide any access to computer. When asked for small table, (card table, collapsible coffee table or something), no provision was made., Asked for extra towels, but didn't happen. Dingy best describes overall appearance and badly in need of basic repairs and upgrades. First contact with receptionist was cold, indifferent, and no effort to meet any requests. Told when we reserved the room that it was smoking but when we arrived, it was non-smoking. Seems the owners were out to make money but not willing to put oblige in any way. Would not recommend this hotel. There were no amenities, Slum landlords.
1 out of 5
by charles from Santa Rosa

Smells. Very loud area. No heat or ac. Over priced

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Wouldn't ever stay there again or recommend this motel. Only good thing was there was a bar rite below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mary Thurber from Twain, CA

UCSF WAS OUR DESTINATION

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
I live in a small town in Northern California, and I have been seeing a surgeon with the UCSF Spine Center since 2/09. I expect to make future trips to see the colleague to whom my surgeon referred me. My daughter helps me make the trips. We arrived exhaused Monday night, and were pleasantly surprised with the location by the shore. We wasted no time getting around to walking on the beach, and we were impressed with the accessibility of the motel to UCSF, as well as to local attractions. The Caltrain dropped us off right behind the hospital, and it took no more than 5 mins to reach my doctor's office. Also the motel's free parking is accressible to large SUVs and trucks. Most of its competitors cannot say the same. We will definitely return to the Beach Motel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to ocean beach

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The windows were so dirty on the outside I could not see the ocean very well. peeling paint and wallpaper.