Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S.K. from Santa Barbara, CA

Nice location, parking included

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: I like the convenience of the location, parking included, clean updated rooms
Cons: The patio deck looks like it needs a little updating.
Location: Gave us access to nice eateries in the immediate area and public transportation at your doorstep that allows you to easily access other parts of town
We enjoyed our stay at Becks. The rooms looked like they had been updated; there are other parts of the hotel under renovation but that did not affect our stay. Our room was away from the street traffic so it was quiet at night. The streetcar stops right in front of the hotel and took us to the Union Square district so we didn't have to drive. There are several nice eateries on the block and across the street. All and all a very pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bobo from La

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
New rooms are great but place still in transition but prices moved high. Location and parking are great
2 out of 5
by Kerry from LA

No hot water...

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: hopefully, that's what they're trying to do...improve
Beck's is ripped apart for construction, and I could not get hot water (even after running the faucet for 10 minutes) in the bathroom sink. This place used to have rooms for less than $100...now they're over $200 and not worth it, due to renovation work that has created a loud, unpleasant mess.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by chris from mac

scary, dirty

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Motel 6 is better. Noisy - both from.other rooms and outside. Neighborhood is dangerous. There was an armed robbery right around the corner.
2 out of 5
by Kerry from Hollywood, CA

Under Construction

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Years ago, this place was a delightful, inexpensive and convenient motel, but my recent stay was barely adequate and way over-priced...mostly because the joint is being renovated, and it is a mess. There were construction noises constantly, the elevator doesn't work, and it has none of the charm and cozy atmosphere I remember from days past.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Rio Nido/Guerneville Ca.

nice hotel close to the Castro

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: location and free parking
Cons: we wear on the 2nd floor and the person on the third floor above us was very noisy starting at 5 am
Location: great gay bars and restaurants with in walking distance
beautiful weather at the SF Zoo, did not need a coat. Usually it is cold and windy by the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by angelo from CT

Centrally located. Provides off-street parking.

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Although the 'Motor Lodge' was one third under renovation, the parking lot was packed both Friday and Saturday night with cars which did not belong there. Security should have offenders removed. We were very lucky to have an economy car (very small), which we squeezed into a small space left. The only complaint I have...the renovated room was very nice and quite affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JK from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Mid price near the Castro

Posted Sep 25, 2012
Pros: the coffee maker
Cons: the terrible shower pressure
Location: perfect, close to the Castro
Hotel is older but kept up. Rooms are small but comfortable. Bedding is mediocre as is mattress quality. Coffee maker is excellent and having a refrig is nice. Shower is poor, no pressure and no shelves in shower stall, also no tub. Thought the housekeeping staff was excellent. Location is excellent, close to the Castro and mass transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rms from Washougal, WA

Great location in San Fransisco

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Great location. Free parking. Everything worked fine.
Cons: Had to ask the office for a hair dryer.
Location: On Market Street, near Castro - lots going on.
Beck's has a great location in San Francisco, close to public transportation and to the vibrant Castro Street scene. It's pretty basic in a lot of ways, but the rates are reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Watch out for the neighborhood

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Cons: the location
Location: not suitable for families
the hotel was ok, had a bad experience while on a walk near the hotel. I will most likely not take my family back there not because of the hotel but because of the area it is located.