Ratings based on 818 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for SFO travel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Gave us delicious breakfast, free long term parking and shuttle. Very good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Clean and spacious, comfortable bed.
Location: close to airport
Just stayed at the hotel for one night. The shuttle service from the airport was great I called the hotel when I arrived at the but stop within 15 mins the shuttle was there. I had and early morning flight out of San Francisco shuttle came right to my door to take me to the airport, hotel staff was helpful and friendly, room service was also great not to costly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rita from Smithers B.C.

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Close to the airport
arrived late at night to a comfortable room and fairly quiet except for the train crossing behind the hotel. Over all we were happy with our 8 hour stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynne from Wolfville, NS

Beautiful inn!!!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Excellent and friendly staff. Close and easy to get to the downtown area.
Cons: Warmer weather ... LOL
Location: Buses and BART very close by ... easy to commute to downtown area. Very close to the 101 interstate.
We arrived early in the day, a few hours before check-in time, and the staff had no problem accommodating us for two rooms. Excellent staff, very thoughtful and considerate. The room was clean and comfortable. I checked out the exercise room and I was very impressed, unfortunately, I didn't have the time to take advantage of the exercise equipment. My only complaint ... the weather was cooler than we had anticipated, so we couldn't go swimming in the outside pool. We also had dessert and drinks in the café / lounge later in the evening, and we enjoyed it very much. Very close to the airport ... maybe 10 minutes if you know where you are going. We did a practice run to the airport first. If we go back to San Francisco next year, we would definitely re-book here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport and 10-15min to the nearest BART

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: It was fairly quiet and the airport shuttle is quick and convenient; they will even pick you up from your room.
Cons: Staff professionalism.
Location: Nothing tourist friendly close by. 10-15min walk to BART station to take the train to Powell station/Union square. Good local Mexican restaurant!!
My overall stay was pleasant. The room was fairly clean but the bathroom was small. The breakfast does not live up to the standards that I was expecting. It is not a hot breakfast they do offer some nice baked items in plastic (indiv. wrapped) that they will heat up in the micro for you at your request. Hours for breakfast are great 430-930am which is great for those departing on early tours or flights. Disappointing that there is a lot of plastic waste and no recycling at the hotel dining area or in the rooms. I would say that 50% of the hotel staff (in the lobby) were very nice and professional. However, if you are using the internet in the lobby in the evening expect to hear unprofessional banter which includes the topics of staff friends, gossip, and other inappropriate topics in a public lobby space (so ensure you're kids are not around the lobby in the late evening while you are checking out a tour or printing your boarding passes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by evsdad from Middlebury, VT

Good Location, Ample Service

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, services
Cons: Better sheets
Front desk staff are quick, friendly and helpful. Small swimming pool, bar and restaurant all sit on an island in the middle of the large motel complex. The sheets are relatively low thread count, which keeps me from giving El Rancho a higher grade but the old-ish rooms are clean and well appointed. The wifi is weak. The shuttle service is prompt. I'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Fred's Mom from Raleigh, NC

This place must be party central

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfortable, room was clean.
Cons: Restaurant, waitstaff, shuttle service, and PLEASE CLEAN THE WALKWAYS AND STAIRWELL!
Location: Didn't explore, used this as an overnight on the way back from Sonoma before an early morning flight.
While the room was clean and comfortable, the stairwells and walkway outside through out the complex just reeked of alcohol. The restaurant was very disappointing, things shown on the menu were not available and the quality of the food was not very good. The waitstaff was not very attentive. We took an early shuttle to the airport and were worried that we wouldn't make it because at each stop the driver had to wait for people who were clearly late. And someone please tell the drive that rap music at full volume at 5:00 am is not appreciated by most people. Overall, I don't think I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Seattle WA

Convenient, welcoming, accommodating, pleasant.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant staff. Good TV selection, HBO.
Cons: Would have liked a tub, not just shower stall, in my room.
Location: Restaurants, grocery stores, drugstores, Catholic Church, and BART all within walking distance.
I picked the El Rancho because of the location, price, and the 24 hour availability of an airport shuttle. It is also within walking distance ( a little over one mile) of the BART station. Be aware, however, that it's likely a 30 minute, not 15-20 minute, wait at the airport for the shuttle to arrive, and that this shuttle also stops at 2 other hotels on its route. I did appreciate that there was a working hot tub - had one good long soak.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by rusty from ohio

nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Stayed two nights and visited some San Fran attractions. Went on a 15 day cruise to Hawaii, and returned to stay another day at the hotel, before retuning to Ohio. Enjoyed Millbrae, San Fran and the our stays at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ramon from Madrid, Spain

Convenient hotel near airports

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Clean, attenive staff and convenient. Close enough to San Francisco and very coveniently locate near SFO. Ideal for the last night before departure