Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close enough the Bay.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: I like the location and the view of this hotel.
Cons: Parking space would be nice especially free parking space. I believe if parking space is free with hotel price, many people would love to stay longer
Location: location is great. Near a lot of nice and tasty restaurant.
Hotel is nice, clean, and affordable. It's secure and it's a nice place to stay for a night or two. I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The breakfast was awesome and the service was fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Todd from Linden, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable. We slept great. The staff was great. Very helpful and accommodating. Everyone said hi when you walked by.
Cons: The parking. We didn't like that the garage is connected, but a different company. They weren't the friendliest employees either.
It was a nice hotel and the staff was great. The complimentary breakfast was good. The room was comfortable and clean. It's close to Union Square and all the shopping, but the area in between isn't the greatest. We took cabs to and from what we were doing so we didn't have to walk which added a little to money spent, but that was ok.. We enjoyed our stay there and would do it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee

Cozy hotel w/ horrible parking

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The hotel was very small in size but very clean. My biggest complaint would be their parking. The hotel does not have "hotel parking" for their guest. There is an outside vendor within the lot of the hotel where you can pay for parking (it's normal to pay in the city). My problem with that is even though you are a guest at the hotel you are not guarenteed a parking spot since people who are not staying with the hotel are able to use the lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: clean and comfortable and safe. Shuttle to several locations in the city.
Cons: Breakfast should include choice of juices and something other than oatmeal for hot item. Also shuttle to Golden Gate Park would be nice
Location: Tommy's Joynt for dinner. Mel's for breakfast. Best of all was the Red Crawfish for dinner. Kind of a Louisiana Asian Fusion- very, very good.
Very clean, modern rooms. Staff was excellent. Bed very comfortable. Would like to have had a microwave in room and small refrigerator also box of facial tissues would be appreciated. Complimentary breakfast was ok but no choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clint from Red Bluff, CA

Great hotel for price!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Had a great stay at cova! I was able to check in early, which was a necessity for us! Friendly!!! Parking is reasonable for the city of San Francisco! Complimentary breakfast was decent, can't complain, it was free! Defintely would stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy and clean

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The room, staff, and hotel were great. The only downside was that the walls were so thin that I could hear the people In the next room so clearly that they could have been standing right beside me. It was very irritating at midnight when I was trying to sleep and they were talking and blow drying their hair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Mar 25, 2014
The terrace is worth the hotel loved going at night. Little things wrong with the hotel but good over all. There's no parking so you have to go to a garage downstairs It is in the ghetto but I drove so didn't have an issue with it. 24 bucks a night parking
2 out of 5
by Angry Joe from S

Google Tenderloin before booking. 2 stars at best.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
I was not happy at all with this booking. I sent several emails and called Expedia about their rating system actually. This hotel is located in the Tenderloin district. If you have any intentions of walking about in the evening, don't book here. The staff are friendly but the hotel is - at best - 2 stars. The furniture is very IKEA-like, our bathtub drained extremely slowly, the sink (while updated) was cracked... but most of all, there is no A/C. You get an oscillating fan that didn't oscillate well. There is a shuttle to get you out of the neighborhood but have to book it, at least, a couple of hours in advance. If you want spontaneity then plan on getting cabs and MUNI when you can. Very disappointed with Expedia on this one. I even started polling the cabbies and locals about what they'd pay for a hotel in the area, I think the highest bidder was about $65. All were shocked about the $100+ power night that we were paying. Save yourself some headaches and grief by just paying the extra $50 or 60/night that you'll end up paying in cab/bus fare anyways. If you're coming to San Fran with a bunch of dudes then this might be fine because someone has someone else's back. But, if you're bringing your girl, spouse or worse family...bad idea. My wife had a hard time sleeping with all the bottle bashing, wino fights and the occasional screaming for help. Not good, lol! and you've been warned. We're from Detroit so we've seen rough spots. While not the roughest, don't pay +$65
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in the city

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Staff was awesome. Free breakfast was good. Facilities were average but clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent, clean, but noisy

Posted Mar 20, 2014
The hotel had a nice appearance and was generally clean. What I would term a basic hotel. However, the place was terribly noisy - there was basically no soundproofing between my room and the next, so I could hear them as they played guitar and talked late into the night, and I especially got to enjoy listening to my neighbors tinkling in the bathroom (joy). As other reviewers have stated, there are quite a few homeless people around. I in no way thought them to be a safety issue (although I wouldn't want to stay here with kids), but the main issue was again with noise - in the rooms I could hear lots of outdoor activity, and between multiple nightly police sirens and ongoing exclamations at loud volume from the street inhabitants until quite late, don't plan to stay here without earplugs if you're at all a light sleeper because of noise. Overall, you might pick this place based on price. I wouldn't necessarily pick this place for any special amenities and would recommend against if noise is an issue. Also, the options for nearby eating were somewhat limited and are strongly biased toward Asian food (for good or ill - up to you).