Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenience

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Parking right next to hotel, very clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in dowtown SF.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Very good stay for the price. Good room, very comfy and nice location in dowtown close to city hall (couple blocks only from public transportation of all sort - tram, cable car, buses, etc...). Would have rated it 5 star all around if we didnt had a room next to the laundry (waking up to the sound of washer/dryer through the wall was unexpected). But I guess that was just bad luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free upgrade to a room with a beautiful view!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We started in a nice room but literally no view & not what I had imagined from the website. The staff was very accommodating with a free upgrade to a room with an amazing view. It made our stay so much more enjoyable!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Hotel Parking Lot

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Parking Lot
Location: nothing
The hotel's parking lot, I had to pay each time I would take my vechicle out so I could take my family site seen. I ended paying for the two days that I stay close to one hundred and twenty dollars ($120.00).
2 out of 5
by H from Australia

Intimidating location

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Not much
Location: need a taxi to union square - do not walk you may get rolled
STA recommended this hotel as did several trip advisor and expedia feeds i searched - do not stay here if u plan on walking to union square. It says its in union square - its not ...its on the outskirts where all the scary homeless people are laying in the streets staring at you. I was rudely suprised when i walked out of the hotel. It was small and there was only 1 person at the reception so took ages for us to check in and out. Also had bugs in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with wonderful staff!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff were wonderful! Convenient shuttle service w/friendly drivers. We were served a simple, yet classy, continental breakfast!
Cons: The shuttle driver should carry a list of people reserved for pick up times. We almost didn't get on because people who didn't sign up got on board.
We arrived early and since we had reservations to do a SF bus tour, the front desk agreed to hold our luggage until later that evening. Our 2 night stay went perfectly...can't say enough about the front desk staff...very helpful, informative, and accommodating. The check-in/check-out process went smoothly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caroline from Montréal

Really good hotel in a poor area

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Clean & comfortable room, gorgeous smell and smiley staff! Free WIFI :)
Cons: Maybe the location?!
Location: Union Square, Powell Street, Market Street, Van Ness Street, Bart/Muni Station
We enjoyed our 8 nights in Cova Hotel. Clean & comfortable room, gorgeous smell and smiley staff! The included breakfast was not really great and the same every morning, but it was free. A very short walk to the Bart/Muni station, Union Square & Market Street. The once negative point is that this hotel is located in a poor area of SF, the Tenderloin. We didn't have any problems while we came back late at night. But we crossed many strange people in this neighbor. Just don't look like a tourist and keep walking. To compensate for, Cova Hotel offer free shuffle service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by williamson from Sacramento

nice spot

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only one complaint, the valet parking is an unannounced charge. Everything else for a Tenderloin hotel is very mce especially the rooftop lounge
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Ok but won't stay again

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Was clean, friendly staff, decent breakfast.
The location was on a terrible neighborhood. Right in the tenderloin on the 3rd worst street in San Francisco. The shuttle was nice but I love to walk the city and I would not dare to walk these streets. We watched drug dealers and prostitutes from our window. My 16 year old son said he was afraid to stand in the window cause he felt unsafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Nevada

Bay to Breakers

Posted May 25, 2014
The staff were very accommodating. We got there at 10:30 and they checked out bags in with no problem. They gave us a map of the area and which places may not be the most pleasing. Always were able to answer questions. We got back late from the run and they were so nice about it. The restaurant was amazing. The parking attendants were pleasant. Although still comfortable, the rooms didn't look anything like the pictures and the view was of the scaffolding. I would defiantly think about staying here again.