Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bethesda, MD

Well located hotel

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Good location, nice rooms, decent breakfast.
Cons: Check-in was a little disorganized.
This hotel is located near public transport and the downtown area. The lobby looks a bit ragged but the rooms were nice enough. There was a fair amount of noise from outside the hotel, but that's life in the city. While the area does get sketchy pretty quickly if you go a block or two east, I did not feel especially unsafe, even when arriving at night. A woman traveling alone might feel differently. The breakfast, served at a restaurant across the street, was fine if not anything special. There is not a lot of variety so it might get tedious for a long stay. They placed me in the Jello Biafra room, which I appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Well located-reasonably priced.
Cons: Better quality help at front desk.
The hotel is convenient and the rooms are nice sized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well maintained older hotel with a unique vibe.

Posted May 6, 2015
It is great for the area and fits in with the "stuck in the 60's" vibe the area's tourism tries to capture. Hotel has dated facilities that they seem to embrace. It has a corporatized hipster cool feel with a mix of in room accent pieces. The bath, TV, and bed are updated, but most other fixtures are old though well kept. Overall it isn't a bad place to stay vs. the Best Western next door that it actually is a part of. I would say that their restaurant could be better, but the free breakfast wasn't bad. Bus routes near it could be better, so expect to walk a bit or use a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Good value.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Both accessible to downtown and affordable for San Francisco.
Location: 1 1/2 blocks south of Market St and not far from the Powell Station of the BART. Felt safe but I would not carry a purse/briefcase alone on the street
I had a room in back that was quiet and comfortable. Staff were welcoming. I have no complaints and will likely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not beat location

Posted Apr 30, 2015
I stayed at the hotel for business. Rooms were ver apAcious, clean and very comfortable. Very nicely decorated and included 2 bottles of water. I didn't walk very far as I felt uncomfortable with the folks on the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky Hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015
This is an older property that has been upgraded a bit. Room was a good size. Fifties type furniture. Comfortable enough bed with nice pillows. Little cafe across the street where you got breakfast; also great burgers and salads for dinner. Area was a bit 'iffy' and I wouldn't have walked alone at night there. However, it was pretty central and close to the Moscone Center where I was attending a conference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High Parking Charge

Posted Apr 13, 2015
At no time during the reserving of the hotel does it mention that you will be charged $30/night to park your car in an open garage. It isn't until the confirmation email that you find this out. Makes your stay much more expensive!! May as well stay somewhere nicer with parking included!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice hotel very comfortable. Close to Union Square

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff
Cons: The elevator seemed a little dated.
Location: Close to Union Square but to walk there you have to go through a not-so-great area of SF. Plenty of shopping and food places within a half mile.
Nice hotel very comfortable. Close to Union Square but to walk there you have to go through a not-so-great area of SF. Great staff and fun room decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with sometimes good rates downtow

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: No nonsense, just simple and with care for business traveller.
Cons: Noise in the corridors from ice machine, some noise from conditionnair, the rest was fine.
Location: very centrally located, close to Bart and main attractions in SF - walking distance
Nothing extraordinary, but convenient and well located for access to almost anywhere in SF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom UT

Quaint

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: It was relatively cheap, the decorations were nice enough to where it felt better than the average hotel room. Good location too.
Cons: Biggest complaint was that the sound proofing needed some work. While I didn't have a major issue, it could become one with bad neighbors.
I wasn't at the hotel for terribly long, mostly just to sleep. (it was a business trip) But the rooms were nicely decorated, all of the in-room amenities were in fairly good condition as well. The continental breakfast was good (more like pick up the usual associated items from a local diner). However, the diner that provided the food was across the street, so that was an inconvenience.