Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
A cozy and affordable way to experience the city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Location, location, location

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We thought this was a good deal in the heart of SF....short walk from Union Sq. But far cheaper than the big hotels there. Breakfast boxes w/ yogurt and croissants a nice touch, as was free access to the fitness center across the street. All of the rooms are themed...named for quirky SF personalities like Cheech Martin and R. Crumb. The theme and the hipster decor keep it from being a generic motor lodge. $30 per night parking a bit steep but we liked the convenience. NOTE: we are a male couple and don't normally watch where we are going at night on foot with lots of trepidation. But If I were a single female or a female couple I might not stay in this part of town if walking at night was in my plans....many homeless people on the streets and we witnessed a few arrests. More "disorderly" than violently criminal...but not a great neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Nice, small hotel. Super friendly staff. They gave us so much info on what to see, when to see it, etc. The only thing I didn't like was that it was close to what they call the "tenderloin" area, which is a very shady part of town. Other than that, it was an amazing experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Irvine

Everything was ready . . .

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Was clean, secure and well located, plus the staff couldn't be more helpful.
Everything was ready when I arrived, the staff was pleasant, and couldn't have been more helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Charming, clean and convenient location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Hotel featured a comfortable room that was quite charming. Staff were extremely friendly.
Cons: Wish hotel staff in the morning had offered me the continental breakfast that was supposed to come with my room stay. Fitness center not great.
Location: easy access to BART, wine bar Terroir on Folsom St, tasty coffee and watch coffee production at Sight Glass on 7th St, Mr. Smith's bar for cocktails
I was delighted by the charm of this hotel. The room decor is nostalgic with ample space and amenities. Staff are helpful and friendly. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great hotel to stay for the Folsom Street Fair.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: location and a great fresh continental breakfast.
Cons: The hanging lamp over the table in our room, #215, was missing and it was difficult to see when using the table.
Location: Great location, only 2 blocks off of Market Street and all the busses, trolleys and the Muni.
The Carriage Inn was close to the event we were attending, and the main reason we booked, but the hotel was clean, the beds very comfortable, with a large bathroom and James the desk clerk was very accommodating and helpful!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Not a good location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Guys at the front desk were terrific
Cons: Location
Location: Nothing after dark unless you are a sprinter.
I want to caveat this that the two guys that work the front desk are great. The hotel itself as just okay. Rooms were large and clean, decorated in early thrift shop which is what they call retro-chic I guess. Issue here is the location which is geographically close to everything but otherwise terrible. Basically three hotels, the police station, and the courts building, and island in a sea of skid row for about six blocks in every direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom rockland co, ny

Beautiful rooms, city lobby

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: High quality comfort.
Cons: Window seals for noise.
Location: Cellar brewery around the corner. Good beer. No food.
Pleasantly surprised. Last minute booking. Easy to find. 15 minute walk to Union Square. Secure and meticulous care within hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com