Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doreen from Chauvin, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness, and location
Cons: Perhaps getting queen size beds instead of doubles but that is minor
Location: Location was great. We were able to walk to everything that we wanted to see and much more.
The hotel was perfectly located in San Francisco within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Baseball Stadium, shopping, restaurants, Cable cars, and other fabulous sightseeing things. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. The room was great....clean, comfortable and just a pleasure to come back to. There were 3 of us in the room and there was plenty of space for us. Once again I would highly recommend this hotel to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convienent

Posted Apr 6, 2014
In town for a conference at Moscone Center. Easy walk from the hotel. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Anchorage, AK

Nice room, close to public transportation!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Nice little hotel to stay in for a couple of days. The room was great, plenty of space for not only myself but a friend. It had funky little character that matches the San Francisco vibe. The hotel is SUPER close to BART, and buses. Getting to and from the airport was a breeze. Neighborhood has it's sketchy characters, but if you've been to any major city it shouldn't bother you. Overall, I was happy with my stay and would definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

liked the room and good space of room

Posted Mar 23, 2014
location of hotel is little far from times square and most of nice restaurants are far away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Renoss Alvogne

Nice hotel if there isn't anything else

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the price wasn't that high
Cons: better windows to insulate noise from the street; longer beds, especially if advertised as king size; bigger bathroom toilet and seat; breakfast
Location: close to downtown San Francisco, 7th St and Mission
The hotel was okay considering the price wasn't that high as most of the others around it. Although, there were a number of things that really disappointed me: - the room was noisy, it was facing the intersection of 7th St and Mission and staff refused to give me another one because the hotel was full - the bed was supposed to be king, but my feet were sticking out - the bathroom toilet was really small - the hotel was supposed to have a gym and pool, but they were actually in the hotel across the street - breakfast was included, but all they give you is a box with a few items, which you may or may not like, but that's it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Character, clean, free wireless.
Cons: Nicer mattresses, faster speed wireless, and cable TV would be nice.
Location: Really this hotel is more situated in the Tenderloin than SOMA. It is walking distance to SOMA and easy to get anywhere with the BART right there.
The hotel was nice for the price. Rooms were clean and unique - not a generic hotel. Funky art and character to the rooms. Close to BART which was a plus, but in a very sketchy part of downtown. I was there alone as a woman and did not feel that safe walking back at night. I would stay here again for the price, but not alone given safety concerns of that area of SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Nice hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. It's not in the greatest area of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

JUST AWESOME!

Posted Feb 21, 2014
The staff made our stay fabulous :) They went above and beyond - every recommendation made exceeded our expectation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlene from Los Angeles, CA

Lots of Charm

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The decor, charm, comfort, and staff
Location: There is a great coffee shop down the street, otherwise everything we wanted to do, we ended up driving to
This hotel has lots of charm and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had no problems during our stay - well the fire alarm did go off in the middle of the night, but it was a false alarm and resolved quickly. Otherwise, I would just say we didn't pick the best location for the things we wanted to do in San Fran - which was certainly not the hotels fault. If you want to be walk-able to things in SoMa this is a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quirky renovated courtyard motel surprises

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Funky rooms, nicely renovated, three blocks from Moscone.
Location: Not the greatest locale but I can see it is changing and I expect in a couple of years the area will be gentrified.
Carriage Inn stay was comfortable , convenient and reasonably priced.