Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Rooms with interesting famous San Franciscan references.
Cons: Almost everything. The carpet in the guest room seemed unclean; the windows were filthy; skimpy bathroom linens; lots of homeless outside on busy st.
Location: I just don't get the South of Market thing. Come up with the extra cash and spring for a hotel north of Market on Nob Hill or Union Square.
Lousy hotel in a crappy part of town. Skip this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, area not so much.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Price & good day time location.
Location: Great nearby coffee shops, wouldn't hang out in area at night.
Great hotel, however the area surrounding hotel is a little dicey at night. What city isn't?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I stayed only couple of nights, but my stay was pleasant. Room was very spacious, clean, bed was comfortable. 15 minutes walk from Moscone Center. The neighborhood itself is meh, but I chose this hotel because of proximity to the conference center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jswole from indianapolis

Close to union station at an affordable price

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Hotel was within walking distance of union station as well as pick up locations for hop on/off buses. Nice rooms but bed was as comfortable as your own. Water pressure was low but it worked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Hawaii

Clean and friendly hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed is comfortable. Convenient location away from downtown. You have access to a pool and workout area.
Cons: Rooms could use a small refrigerator.
Location: I like the fact that you are close to Market Street which is a gateway street to most things in SF. I had to go to the 9th Circuit only 1 block away
Very clean hotel. Nice, friendly staff. I had a very good experience with this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated with a theme. Mine had a 1940s type decor. Fair price and convenient location to the Federal Appeals Courthouse. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Levin from Beijing

It's not a good choice

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: It's not so far from the Bart station and market str
Cons: internet speed and the tap water volume.
Location: to take bart and go shopping around it.
The internet speed is very slow and the tap water flows sparsely. Generally, the price seems some high as to its location\facilities. I won't live in it afterwards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erik from Shelby Twp., Mi

Posted May 12, 2014
Was in SF for a conference, had a "sponsored" room for 2 nights & needed to stay somewhere else for the other 2 nights. After reading all the reviews of various hotels nearby I noted the Carraige Inn had a much higher than average rating for its price point. I booked it and found the reviews on expedia.com to be spot on: charming boutique hotel that was well represented by photos that were up, but I agree that the area (7th & Market/Mission) is a bit rougher than that closer to Moscone (3rd/4th & Market/Mission), but I also suspect this accounts for the lower price. I didn't feel unsafe walking to the Moscone, but was wary of my surroundings, like I would be in any other large city. But as a 6ft5 guy in a suit, I was out of place. But, back to the Carriage Inn: modern, eclectic and hip in decor, a refreshing change from standard chain/franchise hotels. The building is a bit on the smaller size (43? Rooms), but this added to the appeal. Granted, you won't likely get skyline views, but I only use a hotel room to sleep in. The "boxed" continental breakfast is a clever solution for not having a dining space, and unique in that you could eat it there or take it with you. I didn't make use of the amenities offered (across at Best Western) so I can't comment on them. I would consider a return stay at the Carraige Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chere from Reno, NV

The location is just off Market St in SF, C

Posted May 12, 2014
The Hotel is now in an area that is not being taken care of as well as the Financial District, The 9th District Court is not far but it does not seem to have the esteem it should have for being a good location. We saw many street people and some really seemed to need medical care. The Hotel is older but has rooms that are larger than many of the newer ones. It was clean for the most part but could not get the drapes to close and the Motel sign was large and bright. Many of our friends would not stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Staff and parking
I was pleasantly surprised about hotel. I normally stay at 4 stars, this was ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harry from Morgantown, WV

Great hotel with character, good value

Posted Apr 28, 2014
I booked this hotel when I had a conference at the Moscone Center. I didn't spend much time in the hotel. I spent one evening working on a presentation; otherwise, I was out and about and getting in late. The hotel has a lot of charm, with each room named after a historical San Francisco figure. The table in the room had a typewriter with a sheet of paper in it that had a biography of the person whom the room was named after. Nice touch. I also liked all the different wallpaper patterns and some of the unique furnishings (like the extra chair in the room). My room was very big (considering the price) and very clean. The room also had wonderful bay windows. The staff was always very friendly to me. Also, I highly recommend the Chinese/Vietnamese restaurant next door. On the downside, the walls are fairly thin. I could hear the room next door whenever they took a shower, and the street noise was fairly loud, especially since I was on the fourth floor. The pool and exercise center were located in the hotel across the street, which is inconvenient. Also, the neighborhood gets a little sketchy at night, with lots of homeless people wandering the street. I get the impression, though, that that's the norm for the San Francisco area. Overall, I highly recommend the Carriage Inn.