Ratings based on 1,875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pleasant stay in older hotel with small But comfortable rooms. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great place close to everything in the city.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Great price for a stay in the city.
Location: Union Square, Chinatown, access to public transportation.
Centrally located hotel. Able to walk to several places around the city. Access to public transportation and BART thus allowing you to basically go anywhere in the bay area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, IN

Nice, affordable hotel in Union Square, San Fran

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The location was good. I loved the old building and it's character. The staff were excellent. And most of all it was CLEAN.
Cons: I needed space to work and there really wasn't any good space in my room for that. And round-the-clock coffee would always be a welcome addition.
Location: The hotel was in the heart of Union Square. I felt safe walking there even late at night. Plenty of places around to eat. I
I loved the hotel. The size of the room and lack of a fitness center would be my only two complaints. But I know there are larger rooms available if I wanted to take my family there (I was there on business). And I WOULD feel totally comfortable taking my family there. It was within walking distance (mile or less) to China Town, the Financial District, Union Square and the Embarcadero. And compared to the large chains in the same area, it was a fraction of the cost.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pictures are not as described. Very very small!!!! Window view was a brick wall. Was not as described! Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Nice spot in a great location. Beware of the cheaper rooms with single beds though they are perfectly comfortable for just one person. Just don't expect to stretch out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff´╝îgreat location

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Nice and clean while pets savvy. Great for traveling solo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Great area!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Was a great experience. Hotel was close to major stores and great bars. Clean. Only thing was cable was out for the weekend during the football game, so had to go to a bar and see game which was not cheap. And the lady at front desk was rude and disrespectful, saying women are better than men and "that if a mans head was not attached to their head they would lose it."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Cons: A larger bathroom instead of a large closet. A sound prof door to the hallway although we didn't experience much disruption because people were quite.
Location: Great location. Lori's restaurant is a great place to grab a bit to eat. Walking distance to China Town, Market Street, And Union Square.
Very nice hotel on a budget. Great central location. Awesome staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A day in The City.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Coffee in the lobby could be made available later than 10:00am, at weekends especially.at
Location: At the heart of San Francisco, the list of things to do would be too long for this review.
Had a small, clean and comfortable queen bed room that was quiet, with absolutely no view but coffee making facilities in the room were a nice touch. Small is the operative word but no grumbles as we were a stroll from Union Square and only used the hotel for sleeping etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't have asked for anything more in this price bracket in this location.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Convenient and Forgetable

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location was good for tourists and access to transportation.
Cons: Update furnishings and windows to block out street noise.
Location: Right in the heart of San Francisco. China town and Union Square were great.
Some of the staff was very friendly. The hotel is very convenient. Just around the corner from Union Square. The room was small, too hot and bedclothes were shabby. Price was much better than other places near by. If you just want someplace that is basically clean to sleep, and you do not mind heavy street noise it will do. The T.V. Cable went out on my last day and did not get fixed before I left. No work out facilities. The price was good though considering other places near by were $400 or more.