Ratings based on 2,038 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gig Harbor, WA

Nice hotel in union Square.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: location Cleanliness Staff
Staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are small but very comfortable. We were only there to sleep. The rooms as well as public areas, halls, and elevators are very clean and well maintained. Location is central to everything incl BART to Mission. Will stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris France

Hotel très bien situé en plein centre ville

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: sa situation géographique
Cons: A rénover
Location: En plein centre ville ; tout peut se faire à pied sans avoir recours aux transports en commun
Hotel au style vieillot qui demande à être modernisé en particulier en ce qui concerne les sanitaires qui datent. Chambre petite mais propre. Literie de bonne qualité
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Posted May 15, 2015
Location is great but it's an old hotel. No bar or gym but reasonably priced, clean, and pretty ok for a short stay. Very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakdale,Ca

Great location near Union square.

Posted May 12, 2015
Perfect location. We love to walk to restaurants and shopping. Take a walk to the pier if you like to run and are not use to the steep hills. Uber makes getting up the hill reasonable. Park and take bart save your money for the cab ride much more reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Very comfortable accommodations, convenient

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Quiet, good location, great price
Cons: Hard to figure out how to turn on the shower.
Location: Access all of downtown and South of Market
Easy to access, nice staff, very clean and comfortable and quiet!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Location is great, very close to Union Square. Gave me coupons for discount at nearby diner.
Cons: Bathrooms was teeny. Otherwise, hotel room was fine. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.
This is a good budget hotel experience - the staff was very nice and friendly. The rooms are small, with not much to look out from the window (another building). The bathroom was teeny, but I needed it for a night for work so it was totally fine. It was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. It was pretty loud if anyone was in the hall (was woken up by someone shutting a door to a room in the hall), but overall it was fine. The staff again was great, so might stay here again if needed, but it wouldn't be my first choice. Great location close to union square.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom FL

a lot older than you think it is

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: location was good
Cons: REMODEL
Location: Market is walking distance but BART is 5 blocks and with suitcases, you'll want to plan that out.
I guess at the price, I should have known better. not sure how this gets 4 stars from the guests but, this is defrinately not a repeater for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

We loved the location and the old world feel.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The feel and location and being in the middle of San Francisco.
Cons: Our room was very small.
Location: Right near Union Square and easy to get around.
The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Restaurants and stores were all in walking distance. We really enjoyed ourselves and loved San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Quaint, vintage hotel in central location

Posted May 2, 2015
The Cartwright is like a grande dame; she continues to carry herself as if she hasn't aged a day. We chose it because of the value and location and weren't disappointed in either. Staff attentiveness and knowledge of the sites, best way to get there and food options were bonuses. Also, it's an easy 20 min walk to the Ferry Building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

close to Union Square, restaurants, etc.

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: proximity to everything
Cons: room size to price ratio.
Location: Union Square one block away. Good restaurants around. Cable car stop half a block away that can take you up Powell street over to the wharf
Room was smaller than expected (considering the rate), but that seems to be on par with S.F. room rates these days. Room was clean, no bed bugs, bathroom was clean. Hotel is in an older building, so the rooms are not really modern, it does have some character that way, but it's ok. Wi-Fi worked fine. windows in my room didn't shut very well, so you can hear the noise from the street quite a bit, but on the 7th floor it wasn't too bad.