Ratings based on 1,866 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Great area!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Was a great experience. Hotel was close to major stores and great bars. Clean. Only thing was cable was out for the weekend during the football game, so had to go to a bar and see game which was not cheap. And the lady at front desk was rude and disrespectful, saying women are better than men and "that if a mans head was not attached to their head they would lose it."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Cons: A larger bathroom instead of a large closet. A sound prof door to the hallway although we didn't experience much disruption because people were quite.
Location: Great location. Lori's restaurant is a great place to grab a bit to eat. Walking distance to China Town, Market Street, And Union Square.
Very nice hotel on a budget. Great central location. Awesome staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A day in The City.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Coffee in the lobby could be made available later than 10:00am, at weekends especially.at
Location: At the heart of San Francisco, the list of things to do would be too long for this review.
Had a small, clean and comfortable queen bed room that was quiet, with absolutely no view but coffee making facilities in the room were a nice touch. Small is the operative word but no grumbles as we were a stroll from Union Square and only used the hotel for sleeping etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't have asked for anything more in this price bracket in this location.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Convenient and Forgetable

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location was good for tourists and access to transportation.
Cons: Update furnishings and windows to block out street noise.
Location: Right in the heart of San Francisco. China town and Union Square were great.
Some of the staff was very friendly. The hotel is very convenient. Just around the corner from Union Square. The room was small, too hot and bedclothes were shabby. Price was much better than other places near by. If you just want someplace that is basically clean to sleep, and you do not mind heavy street noise it will do. The T.V. Cable went out on my last day and did not get fixed before I left. No work out facilities. The price was good though considering other places near by were $400 or more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Amazing classic hotel in the best part of downtown

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Adorable rooms. Friendly staff. Great rates. Over all our stay here was one of the highlights of the hole trip. We are 100% staying here again on our next trip. It's in such a cool part of town too!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The room was way too small and everything was outdated. No A/C, the bed was uncomfortable. Overpriced for what it is. Front desk people weren't too friendly. Not worth the stay. Many better options out there for similar price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Why I rated it a 3

Posted Jan 11, 2015
The only reason I gave the hotel an overall rating of 3 is due to the room size. The building was built in the early 1900's. Overall the hotel is small compared to the newer hotels. The room was very clean and decorated very well. The front desk staff are very helpful and kind. Located 2 blocks from Union square, right in the middle of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Great location, near the public transportation, plazas, restaurants, museums, etc. And it feels safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Great central location but bathroom very out dated .... Bed felt dirty n caused uncomfort so had to sleep on chair. Feels unsafe at night so have good company. All staff is friendly and makes up for the one night bad stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte

Very much value for money

Posted Jan 7, 2015
It was really value for money stay in downtown , amenties where excellent . Yes, rooms are small ,but the things were arranged smartly to fit it compactly Happy stay…