Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

We Would Stay Again

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location, free parking, free wifi, microwave, fridge, quiet.
Cons: The mattresses are a bit bouncy.
Castle Inn is conveniently located near many attractions, restaurants, and shops. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. My only complaint is that the mattresses are bouncy: if your bed partner moves, you're going to feel it. But this is a minor issue with our stay. We had plenty of pillows, the room was clean, and everything worked. We would absolutely stay there for future visits, and we've already recommended it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great for the price

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Clean room, comfortable bed, good shower, very helpful, friendly staff
Location: Safe, good food nearby, close to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and other attractions.
I stayed at the Castle Inn for four days. I was in town for JP Morgan, a very large conference, and all of the hotels near Union Square were booked so I ended up here. The Castle Inn was perfectly fine. It isn't the Ritz Carleton, but for $150 a night during a very high-demand week I had a clean, comfortable room with a good mattress, a nice hot shower with good water pressure, and very attentive and helpful staff. The neighborhood has some lovely restaurants and bakeries in it, and it is walking distance to many tourist areas. It felt safe, though I did not go out walking at night. The furnishings are pretty basic but I don't need marble countertops in order feel at home. One thing I would suggest is to ask for a room far from the street. I was very glad to have a room in the back because the street noise and the elevator would, I imagine, be quite loud if you are near the front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Grants Pass, Oregon

Business traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location in the city was ideal
Cons: speed of WiFi could be improved or perhaps LAN ports to hard wire into internet connection.
Location: Sorry I did not get out to the sites - I was on a business trip
The room was clean, the WiFi was OK - not as fast as I would prefer but very workable. Parking was good with motion detection in place for security. Overall I was happy with the accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ca

Water leaks in bathroom

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Water drips all night from a leak in the ceiling a strong musty odor fills the restroom so it's been going on for some time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I can't see how this hotel has a gets a score of 4

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive relative to the rest of SF hotels. Good location.
Cons: The wifi is free but abominably slow: slower than dial-up. Cleaning the carpets would be nice.
From the outside and walking up the stairs it looks like a rent-by-the-hour hotel. My room was comfortable but basic. There was a constant electric-motor hum but gracefully I have a hearing loss so I was able to sleep through it. I don't recommend it for anyone other than tourists on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad, Not great

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Good location. Room was ok. Most important to me, bathroom was clean. Beds were a little too "lived in." The complimentary breakfast was not good at all. It wasn't set up on time, orange juice was closer to water and the expiration date on the yogurt was expired by 2 months! Staff was nice tho.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cannot ask for anything better.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Price, location, parking
Location: On Broadway and Polk. Polk has a lot of restaurants. It is a 15 minutes brisk walk to the Wharf, and 30 minutes to Pier 39.
Great place to stay with family. Clean room. Parking was included in the price, and it is very, very well-lit, at the center of the building. So it appeared quite safe. Room was nice - away from the Broadway St. Hence there was not much street noise. The neighborhood seemed to be safe. The Wharf and China Town were not too far. The breakfast was ok - oatmeal, danish, apple, granola bars, juice, coffee. You have to collect the breakfast items from the reception area and take it to your room. They provide trays which made it convenient to carry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great for sight seeing

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Cons: More breakfast options and fruit
Location: theatres, pubs, Taxi to shopping, transport to golden gate bridge, short taxi / transport to the piers
We stayed for 3 nights in a king room. Great location on the main road. Has parking facilities. Nice size room, iron, and fridge. big mirror. Expected less for a 2& half star. Breakfast snacks and tea and coffee available to collect from the reception and take to room. No where to sit though. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Comfortable stay, even allowed us to check in early.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but very limited

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
The stage was good but the FREE BREAKFAST is a joke. If I have knew this I would not book this hotel.