Ratings based on 3,392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasant Hill

Very nice hotel and centrally located.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: It's location, price and European charm!
Location: Centrally located for shopping, theater, dining and night life. Breakfast at Sears, Lunch at Mocca on Maiden Lane, drinks at the Sir Frances Drake.
I was very pleased with many things: How easy it was to walk to from the Powell Street BART station; how centrally located it was in the heart of Union Square with the shopping dining and entertainment; the cleanliness; the European type charm; the friendliness of staff and the amenities. The price through Expedia was great! Eating at Sears right next store for breakfast was fabulous. I will return often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield UK

Very convenient location

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Some bits need refreshing
Location: Opposite cable car stop.
A very convenient location just above Union Square. Although I had a room overlooking the main road there was no problem with noise. Staff very friendly. Free hot drinks available in the reception area 24 hours. Free cookies and muffins in the morning. Free WiFi with reasonably fast speeds. Some parts of the hotel feel a little tired (e.g. carpets on stair cases, bathroom) and would benefit with updating. However I would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Girls week

Posted Feb 19, 2015
My 16 year old daughter and I stayed here for a 3 night girls trip... Was everything we needed and more. Perfect location as we did not have a car. We Walked most places but did use the bus and the occasional cab. I have never reviewed a hotel before but decided to since we have such a good experience here. The only warning I would have is not to stay here during the summer as the hotel does not have AC. We stayed in February and it was in the 70'S-the room was a little stuffy when we would return in the evening-we opened the window for a little while and it was perfect. Loved the city noise from the street when the window was open, really could tell you were in a big city. Rooms are small and have a European feel to them. Perfect place to stay, would not change a thing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Perfect

Posted Feb 19, 2015
This hotel was perfect. Perfect location, good price, great food. I haven't been to the SF for a very long time. I cannot wait to go back! I would stay here again for sure! The room was perfect, Very comfy bed, clean room, nice decore. Located in the heart of Union Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the price....

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping, visit to Chinatown, cable car trip
Good service and nice, clean room. Staff were very friendly. They had coffee/tea/cookies/apples at the front desk and in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Perfect location. Good price. Helpful staff . Facilities are old but comfortable. Will stay again..
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Update needed urgently

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Noisy and smelly room. Everything needs update. Not coming back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

立地が魅力的!

Posted Feb 15, 2015
サンフランシスコへ一泊だったため、立地の良さで選びました。ユニオンスクエアの目の前で、ケーブルカー乗り場も近くて便利。少し暗くなってもパウエル通り沿いで人通りも多く、女性の一人歩きも大丈夫でした。 部屋はこじんまりしていますが一人で泊まる分には十分です。(スーツケース一つを広げるのが精一杯ですが、ウォークインクローゼットのようなスペースがありました。) 隣がシアーズファインフードなので、朝食を取るのにも便利です。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
We had a great stay at The Chancellor the Staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the complementary fruit and cookies. It was close to plenty of shops, and a short trip to the main attractions on a cable car. The concierge went out of his way to help us beyond our expectations. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente opción calidad-precio

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Al principio tenía dudas por las fotos y algunos comentarios, pero al final me decidí entre otras muchas opciones y seria mi opcion si regreso a San Francisco, camas muy cómodas en realidad de lo mejor, solo un detalle algo que utilizan para limpieza deja un aroma que no es agradable abrimos un poco las ventanas y asunto arreglado