Ratings based on 3,571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel close to Union Square

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Good value, friendly staff
Cons: Air con
Location: Very central
Two night stay while meeting friends in San Francisco. Good location for sightseeing and cable cars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aus

Great hotel, felt safe, great locatiodn

Posted May 21, 2015
Safe, great clean and neat. no a.c. but it is not required, opening windows onto union square was great. Has great character. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom inland empire, ca

Great location... Great Staff!!

Posted May 21, 2015
Perfect location in Union Square. Entire staff very nice. Rooms are very clean with a good amount of space. Only downside was noise from street. We were on 4th floor facing Powell street. Not a huge deal and was a good experience being in the city! Highly recommended...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent UK

Excellent hotel

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Liked all aspects of hotel
Cons: Cannot think how it might be improved
Location: Excellent location in centre of San Francisco
Excellent hotel in superb location, convenient for most SF touristy spots. Welcoming and helpful staff. No complaints, only fulsome praise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel, nice staff

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Everything is easily accessible by trolley car or walking.
Stayed for 2 nights in May. Other than the lack of air conditioning, we found the hotel very comfortable and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We were able to check in early upon our arrival which was great and housekeeping made sure our stay was enjoyable as well. Hotel staff seem happy which always makes for a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta,GA

Great Deal for San Francisco

Posted May 19, 2015
I went to San Drancisco with my sister to explore the city. we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. the building is old historical hotel exactly on Union Square which makes it the best location to go everywhere in the city. the cable cars stop right infront of the hotel, as well as many busses and trolleys . great location for shopping and fine dining . the only minus is that the rooms are not very large but it is normal for downtown hotel in San Fran, and the rate for this hotel is much cheaper that any other around. go for it if you want nice, clean and affordable place in the best location of the city. and there are always complimentary cookies and coffee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

Nice place to stay close to Union Square

Posted May 17, 2015
This was our second stay at the Chancellor. The rooms are smallish but the hotel is in a great location and is reasonably priced. The staff is excellent and the facilities are clean and very well maintained. The dining room is great for breakfast and lunch, it would be nice if they were open for dinner too. Highly recommended!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Friendly staff and excellent location

Posted May 11, 2015
One of the best independent hotels in Union Square area. Location is excellent and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ryd

godd hotel in all way

Posted May 5, 2015
there 24 hrs coffee, tea, milk, cooki just awesome. everything else is perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin

Stayed on two seperate occasions within 2 weeks

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: well located
Cons: Air conditioning all on breakfast menu NOT available
Rooms relatively small NO Air conditioning... a big NO NO in this day and age