Ratings based on 2,777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location great for shopping ,sightseeing

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: location to union square
clean and tidy room,elevators very slow only one working all the time.Great bar staff and reception area staff are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Great little hotel well located. Right next door to Sears Fine Foods. Try their breakfast! A San Francisco institution.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Great location, small but nice room.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Charm and location.
Cons: Parking
Location: Union square and cable car in front of hotel. Walking distance to BART, cable car, shopping and Chinatown. Who could ask for more.
Enjoyed hotel and would recommend for a couple. Small for family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L.

Close to so much

Posted Nov 17, 2014
This was our first visit to San Francisco. My husband and I enjoyed the history of this hotel and will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Value for Money

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Redecoration and modernisation of bathroom.
Location: Very central, near to cable car and plenty of restaurants and bars.
Good hotel for central area. Hotel a bit tired but very good value for money. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Very pleased from check in to check out. Would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Classic hotel steps from union square

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Old-world charm, comfortable bed
Location: Right near union square and shops
Chancellor hotel is great if you know what to expect - this is definitely an older hotel so the rooms are smaller and the bathroom is quite tiny. That said, the staff was incredibly nice, the bed was amazingly comfortable, and we really enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

San Francisco Week

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the convenience of being located so close to everything we wanted to see.
Cons: The room was a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. It would be helpful if there was just a little more space.
Location: As stated above, the location was the biggest plus
We had a terrific time in SF - the city is beautiful and so are the people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
They assigned us a "quieter" room, but on the 2nd day, they started some repair work in the room underneath of ours and the drilling noise was terrible, like we were in the middle of a road construction. I called the front desk, and they changed the room to another in next 10 minutes, which I appreciated. The staff was very friendly. The 2nd room was very clean. (The first one had some smell in the walk in closet.) The location was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frustrating stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014
To sum it up: location is great rooms are small and super stuffy staff is not great parking is a joke - we ended up waiting 50 MINUTES for out car to arrive from valet. This is in addition to the $40/night charge. bar is awful Stay somewhere else.