Ratings based on 2,784 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Comfortable, friendly, very San Francisco

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Chancellor Hotel is located one-half block from Union Square, by the cable car. Room is small but complete and well-maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. I travelled alone and felt safe and welcomed. Restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only, but the bar has good food at dinner time, if you wish to dine "at home. Many restaurants close by. I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location great for shopping ,sightseeing

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: location to union square
clean and tidy room,elevators very slow only one working all the time.Great bar staff and reception area staff are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Great little hotel well located. Right next door to Sears Fine Foods. Try their breakfast! A San Francisco institution.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Great location, small but nice room.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Charm and location.
Cons: Parking
Location: Union square and cable car in front of hotel. Walking distance to BART, cable car, shopping and Chinatown. Who could ask for more.
Enjoyed hotel and would recommend for a couple. Small for family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L.

Close to so much

Posted Nov 17, 2014
This was our first visit to San Francisco. My husband and I enjoyed the history of this hotel and will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Value for Money

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Redecoration and modernisation of bathroom.
Location: Very central, near to cable car and plenty of restaurants and bars.
Good hotel for central area. Hotel a bit tired but very good value for money. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Very pleased from check in to check out. Would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient stay downtown

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: While the room is not huge it is plenty big and there is a very large closet. If you were travelling with kids they could easily sleep in there
Location: Location is convenient to shopping and the BART (subway) system. Easy to get to from the airport.
The chancellor was a nice place to stay downtown. You can't beat the free wifi and proximity to the BART to get to/from anywhere you need to go in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Classic hotel steps from union square

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Old-world charm, comfortable bed
Location: Right near union square and shops
Chancellor hotel is great if you know what to expect - this is definitely an older hotel so the rooms are smaller and the bathroom is quite tiny. That said, the staff was incredibly nice, the bed was amazingly comfortable, and we really enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Maui

Old style hotel in the heart of SF.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Excellent location! Close to shops, restaurants and public transportation. Good value for San Francisco.
Cons: There's not much the hotel can do about the noise, so bring some earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
Location: The hotel is close to Union Square with tons of shops and restaurants. Public transportation is very accessible.
My wife and I spent five nights at the Chancellor Hotel. It's a classic old style hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Our room was clean and comfortable. The room was a bit cramped, but this is typical of older downtown hotels. My only complaint would be the noise. Although the streets quiet down after 10 PM, my sleep would be disturbed by the sound of an occasional police siren or an early morning garbage truck. The hotel is located in front of a cable car line, so I would wake up to the sound of a cable car rolling by (I actually found the sound to be pleasing). Despite the noise, I would stay here again.