Ratings based on 2,769 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

San Francisco Week

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the convenience of being located so close to everything we wanted to see.
Cons: The room was a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. It would be helpful if there was just a little more space.
Location: As stated above, the location was the biggest plus
We had a terrific time in SF - the city is beautiful and so are the people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
They assigned us a "quieter" room, but on the 2nd day, they started some repair work in the room underneath of ours and the drilling noise was terrible, like we were in the middle of a road construction. I called the front desk, and they changed the room to another in next 10 minutes, which I appreciated. The staff was very friendly. The 2nd room was very clean. (The first one had some smell in the walk in closet.) The location was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frustrating stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014
To sum it up: location is great rooms are small and super stuffy staff is not great parking is a joke - we ended up waiting 50 MINUTES for out car to arrive from valet. This is in addition to the $40/night charge. bar is awful Stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom windsor ontario

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Nice small rooms. Great selection of pillows and a very comfortable bed. In the heart of Union Square and close to the financial district. Front desk wasn't the friendliest but cleaning staff were amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel in a busy area

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Cons: Replace the windows with double pane glass to block out street noise.
I stayed at this hotel for one night since I needed to an appointment early the next morning nearby. The room was small but clean with a comfortable bed and a nice desk for working. Unfortunately even with the windows closed the noise from the street was very loud all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, PA

A Neighborhood Gem!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were simply wonderful and the best asset of the hotel!
Cons: Some of the rooms could do with some sprucing up.
Location: Located right in the heart of union square!
We had a wonderful stay at the Chancellor Hotel. It was located right in the heart of union square and close to many wonderful things to do and see. The staff were simply wonderful, from those checking you in and working the front desk to the very friendly staff working in the restaurant. The rooms are rather small but as you do not really spend a lot of time in your room it's hardly noticeable. The hotel has lots of charm and character - something you will not find in chain hotels. The Chancellor Hotel is truly unique, I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anaheim CA

Nice hotel and comfortable

Posted Oct 23, 2014
On a business trip and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodations and the location. Flew into Oakland, took Bart to the Powell Street station and a short walk to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montreal

Great location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Location was great--right downtown. Plenty of restaurants and shopping, public transit. Room was comfortable and clean, although the hotel could do with a little reno job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz

Nice hotel with old style charcter

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: It was right on Union Square
Cons: If there was air conditioning
Great customer service, clean hotel, a little noisy because of the location on Union Square, definitely not disappointed. Got this hotel at a good price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Union Square

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Cons: Bigger rooms airconditioning
Close to Union Square,shops and cable car. Also very handy to some nice restaurants. Excellent staff especially Mao at breakfast. On the negative side hotel room bit small.