Ratings based on 2,727 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Nice hotel but don't get lower level room!

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Tea/Coffee in Lobby.
Cons: Noise from Air Conditioning/ Generators outside. ?Double glazing.
Location: Really close to Union Square, shopping and restaurants, on Trolley line and easy access to Wharf Area and other attractions.
Hotel was in great location for Union Square, and all attractions on one of Trolley lines. Room was small but clean, only problem was being on lower floor 4th at rear, outside were the industrial air conditioning units which could be heard all night, if you're a light sleeper make sure you ask for higher floor level. Hotel even put sponge type ear plugs in room so obviously knew of this problem. Nice touch in hotel was free coffee/tea etc and cookies in Lobby area, great after long day walking about. Also on site restaurant good for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Quaint hotel near Union Square

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, helpful staff, comfy bed, good location, quiet.
Cons: AC units.
Location: Near Union Square. Kitschy diner around the corner. Great place to leave out from in order to see different areas of the city.
First time in San Fran, traveling with my 6yo daughter and wasn't sure what to expect. Pleased with the decision to stay at Chancellor. Our room was very clean, and although it was small, it was the perfect size for the two of us. Front desk staff were very helpful. Asked for a room on the 14th floor with a view of Union Square, and didn't hear a peep from outside when the windows were closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location next to Union Square.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, free wi fi, access to ice, and complimentary tea and coffee albeit in the foyer
Cons: Temperature control in the room.
Location: Central to everything; shopping, tour buses, famous cable trams, with China Town, Little Italy, and Fisherman's Market within walking distance.
Room and facilities were good but unless the window was open it was difficult to keep the room cool. When the window was open outside noise was significant. Otherwise in every other respect we were really pleased with our choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
No complaints. Good time. Nice hotel. Clean hotel. Location can not be beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

Great location.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Location: Right by Union Square. Lots of shopping and access to the cable car.
Good experience. Coffee & tea always available. Delicious cookies. Small room but everything there. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Central and comfortable

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The hotel suited our needs perfectly and seemed better than the rated 3star. Staff were friendly and obliging. Great to have a little bar downstairs and the breakfast menu was superb. We dined in all three mornings and on one of them we needed an early start for a Napa Valley Tour we arrived at 7:05 and had finished within 20min. Great seeing we needed to be at the ferry by just after 8. The rooms were beautifully furnished and the bed was fabulous which was just what we needed after sleeping on hard beds and pillows in Europe for a month. Tram outside was very handy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Great location for first timers

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The location was ideal and it had a lot of charm on the inside.
Cons: I'm not certain that it would be fully accessible for all people.
Location: Union Square, cable cars, tours, Macys, lots of high end shopping, easy access to Market street, bars, restaurants, patios and Walgreens.
The hotel is located in Union Square, which is a hub of activity and great for tourists. If you've never been to San Fran, the tour buses are nearby, as well as the cable cars, so it's easy to find your way. The hotel also provided maps of the city, the staff were very courteous and sometimes they have even have cookies at the reception. It's got a lot of old world charm (it's 100 years old this year), but that also means narrow stairs and tiny elevators. The housekeeping staff should be tipped and they are appreciated. The hotel restaurant was also worth checking out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

100 years old, perfect for today

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Classic charm. Lovely architecture and a gorgeous lounge (complete with fresh lemon- or strawberry-infused water and fresh cookies).
Location: Close to Chinatown, Union Square (tour buses leave from there), bike rentals, good restaurants and shopping and the trolly!
We stayed three nights at the Chancellor, which is kitty-corner to Union Square (nicely positioned to go anywhere in downtown San Francisco, and just four blocks from the BART station, which we used to get into town from the airport). The staff at the Chancellor were friendly and polite and helpful, and the building itself is great. The room was smaller than a more modern hotel, but not small. No air conditioning, which was an issue the first night, but given San Francisco weather, not a problem the other nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great Location.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Nice staff. Walking distance to almost everything including AT&T Park. Bed was comfortable, shower was average, room was clean but small. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Central SF location, old compact hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Central location, discount on the breakfast for first day helped us get oriented. Very good service from staff who helped relocate us to diff room
Cons: It is what it is, I think it's shortcomings will be take it or leave it with such an historic building.
Location: Right on Union Square, direct access to fine shopping, cable car and tour buses. Right in the centre of the action.
Very good service from the staff. The Chancellor is a 1914 era hotel, very compact rooms and hallways. No air-con, overhead fan only. Water pressure in shower is very weak. Rooms are compact. Be aware that if located on the front side of the hotel it will be very noisy from traffic and trams. If you are looking for location, this can't be beat.