Ratings based on 2,737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sewell NJ

Great Union Square location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location. Right on the cable car line. However cars were very crowded and difficult to get space on. We used the bus as a good alternative.
Cons: Upgrade and facelift are definitely needed.
Location: In the heart if SF district. Many nice upscale and unusual shops and galleries. Walking distance to many good restaurants and wine bars.
Hotel was pleasant but old. The rooms do not have air conditioners which we knew, however they were warmer than expected. Ceiling fan kept air moving and windows opened at night were fine. The staff are pleasant. The tour desk manager is very helpful. Buy a multi day pass for use on the cable cars and buses. It is quite a savings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Location, location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff and location
Location: In the heart of Union Square, shopping, restaurants and transportation
First visit to San Francisco and couldn't have been in a better location everything in easy reach and cable cars passing hotel entrance!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia perth

Fantastic location. Very welcoming staff.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Had a great stay. Walking distance to major stores. Easy to get taxi or tram. The reception staff bar staff and bell staff make this an excellent hotel. Is san fran which has old buildings and hotel so expect that. Found bathroom small as in some european hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to shopping.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We had a wonderful time in San fransisco. This hotel was clean, comfortable bed but needs a facelift Old hotel which needs upgrading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great location. Good value.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Great location, across the street from Union Square. Staff very friendly, helpful, and professional. Older hotel with cozy somewhat dated rooms and small bathrooms but clean, quiet despite bustling location, comfortable bed, and good water pressure in the shower. No air conditioning but rooms have ceiling fans and windows open so was not a problem during my stay and given San Francisco's weather patterns unlikely to be a problem most times of the year. Restaurant on site serves breakfast and lunch with limited room service which I did not try but right next store is a good full service restaurant. All in all good value and a low key, peaceful, friendly alternative to the impersonal mad house atmosphere of the fancy high rise convention hotel where the meeting I was attending was held. Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Nice hotel but don't get lower level room!

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Tea/Coffee in Lobby.
Cons: Noise from Air Conditioning/ Generators outside. ?Double glazing.
Location: Really close to Union Square, shopping and restaurants, on Trolley line and easy access to Wharf Area and other attractions.
Hotel was in great location for Union Square, and all attractions on one of Trolley lines. Room was small but clean, only problem was being on lower floor 4th at rear, outside were the industrial air conditioning units which could be heard all night, if you're a light sleeper make sure you ask for higher floor level. Hotel even put sponge type ear plugs in room so obviously knew of this problem. Nice touch in hotel was free coffee/tea etc and cookies in Lobby area, great after long day walking about. Also on site restaurant good for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Quaint hotel near Union Square

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, helpful staff, comfy bed, good location, quiet.
Cons: AC units.
Location: Near Union Square. Kitschy diner around the corner. Great place to leave out from in order to see different areas of the city.
First time in San Fran, traveling with my 6yo daughter and wasn't sure what to expect. Pleased with the decision to stay at Chancellor. Our room was very clean, and although it was small, it was the perfect size for the two of us. Front desk staff were very helpful. Asked for a room on the 14th floor with a view of Union Square, and didn't hear a peep from outside when the windows were closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location next to Union Square.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, free wi fi, access to ice, and complimentary tea and coffee albeit in the foyer
Cons: Temperature control in the room.
Location: Central to everything; shopping, tour buses, famous cable trams, with China Town, Little Italy, and Fisherman's Market within walking distance.
Room and facilities were good but unless the window was open it was difficult to keep the room cool. When the window was open outside noise was significant. Otherwise in every other respect we were really pleased with our choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
No complaints. Good time. Nice hotel. Clean hotel. Location can not be beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

Great location.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Location: Right by Union Square. Lots of shopping and access to the cable car.
Good experience. Coffee & tea always available. Delicious cookies. Small room but everything there. Would stay there again.