Ratings based on 2,750 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Union Square

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Cons: Bigger rooms airconditioning
Close to Union Square,shops and cable car. Also very handy to some nice restaurants. Excellent staff especially Mao at breakfast. On the negative side hotel room bit small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Close to union square. No Air Conditioning

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Location, Charm.
Cons: Airconditioning?
Room was older, but very clean. No air conditioning so I wouldn't stay there during a hot spell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and in the middle of everything

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: cool, old hotel; central location; nice staff
Cons: restaurant and room service close at 9:30, that's a little early
Location: It's right in union square, super central, but also a very busy touristy area. if you're looking for tranquil, this ain't it.
Very solid hotel in the heart of SF. Courteous staff, good breakfast, the room was small, but the bathtub was enormous. I'd stay there again, no question. 4 minute walk to Bart and Muni. It's a little loud, but the windows are actually very effective in blocking noise.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Very good for all day serve coffee and muffin and cookie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near Union Square

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, great location, wi-fi. Loved the farrow for breakfast and other healthy options.
Cons: Very noisy area of town. Air conditioning.
Location: If you are a good walker, everything is accessible. Excellent restaurants nearby, street car just outside.
Great central location. Rooms are very small, but clean and with all necessary amenities. Loved the on site restaurant, healthy food options, 24/7 coffee and hot water in the lobby. Only read complaint was no air conditioning and it is a very noisy area with and without the window open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Nice Hotel. Awesome place to stay closer to downtown,SF
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice hotel in union square

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Hotel and room were nice. Right in union square. Cable car stop right out the front to go to Fishermans Wharf. Only downside was room was hot with no air conditioning in any of the rooms. Just a ceiling fan. Lucky weather wasn't too warm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, near lots of shopping.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Location: Near Union Square, lots of shopping. Walking distance to a handful of must see neighborhoods.
Needed a hotel near my conference. This hotel had a good price and good ratings. It's an older building, but I liked the old charm it had. The bed and bedding were one of the most comfortable I've had in a long time. I felt at home. I loved the apples, popcorn, cookies, and water the hotel offered. I would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel in great location.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Great location, good value.
Cons: Very noisy as both nights we had our window open due to mild temperature. Would be nice if rooms were air conditioned.
Location: Loved Union Square. Close to great restaurants, cable cars and public transit.
Prim location, close to everything including public transit. Rooms were neat and clean, staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

In the heart of downtown!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The boutique feel. The personal service.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Right up from Union Square, on the trolly, Muni and rail lines close. Embarcadero is in walking distance. Numerous good resturant and shopping.
We stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed every night. The staff was wonderful and had great recommendations for dining. Vanessa was great and always so welcoming each afternoon. Mike was great in booking our tours. The rest of the staff was great. Moa was a terrific encourager each morning we dined in the restaurant. It is the small things that make an impact and they truly excel in them!