Ratings based on 1,082 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

The right place for us

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Clean neighborhood, convenient location, affordable, nice rooms.
We considered staying near Union Square, but this hotel was less expensive and I am very glad we booked it. We hiked from the hotel to the Presido and Fisherman's wharf (it isn't a short hike). We learned how to catch the public transport and the hotel is well situated for getting most anywhere in town. The room was nice and clean. There were lots of food options nearby and a couple hopping bars if that is your thing. What was great was there weren't the crowds of panhandlers that are found in many areas of the city. For us it was a great combination of affordable, clean, and convenient to accessing the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Cheap with Free Parking but Noisy

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Free parking, very cheap rates, clean.
Cons: Noise
Location: Hotel is right on Lombard in the Marina district 20-30 minute walk to Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. Close to bus lines.
I booked this hotel because of free parking and low rates. The rooms are nothing fancy and have outdated decor, but are clean. The hotel does not have a restaurant/bar but there are plenty of places nearby in the marina district. Parking is free and convenient. My biggest complaint is the noise. The hotel is right on Lombard (US Hwy 101) so there is a lot of traffic noise -- bring ear plugs!! If I had to do it again, I would have paid a little bit more for something closer to Fisherman's Wharf.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get exactly what you pay for:

Posted Mar 18, 2015
1. FREE PARKING - in San Francisco this is a big one. 2. A bed to sleep in, a tub to shower in and clean towels. 3. Free internet access. 4. Courteous front office. Other than that, the creaky old elevator opens directly onto a soda machine and the ice maker, the carpeting in the hallways is worn and looks like it gets vacuumed maybe once a week and the general atmosphere is that of an inexpensive motel, which is what it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oviedo, FL

Nice King interior room away from the noise.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: I loved my King bed and the fact that the Big Bus stop was just across the street. Many restaurants within walking distance.
Location: We highly recommend the Big Bus night tour. Little chilly, but very neat to see everything all lit up at night. $10 taxi ride to Fisherman's wharf.
Fortunately I had read that some of the rooms could be noisy. So I asked for a less noisy room which led us to one of the interior rooms. Needless to say, the quiet was more important to me than the views. Hotel staff was extremely helpful and got us set up for the Big Bus and the airport shuttle before even checking in. King bed was nice and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Affordable

Posted Mar 7, 2015
They stay was easy. Check in and check out was easy. Rooms were clean and tidy and conveniently located to nearby restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Esparto, CA

Nice Location with Free Parking

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Clean, Friendly People, Free Parking
Cons: Bettter windows to keep out some of the noise.
Location: There was a great pizza place less than a block away and it was somewhat close to several of the places we were going to see.
When we arrived, we found that the hotel had free parking, which is a huge advantage in SF. Everywhere else we went, we paid between $15-$45 to park. It wasn't a large parking lot, but we were in an SUV and never had a problem finding a space. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. Checking in and out went very quickly. The only drawback that I can think of is that there is a bar across the street that was very loud. We could hear the loud rowdy people like they were right outside our room at times. In a city as big as SF, it would be weird not to have a lot of noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Valley in CA

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The location was great. Lots of things to do nearby.
Cons: The beds were not comfortable.
The staff was not friendly but the rooms were clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Convenient, safe and comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location was great- lots of eateries, shops, within walking distance to the Marina District, Fisherman's wharf, on bus line, and free parking in hotel
Cons: Upgrade the elevator waiting area on all floors, upgrade the hallways- old feel- put pictures on wall.
Location: Location was great- lots of eateries, shops, within walking distance to the Marina District, Fisherman's wharf- very convenient and safe.
Although an older hotel, we did enjoy our stay. Housekeeper visited our room everyday and we were well taken cared of. Room was big and clean and although we had the room with a view of the wall- It was ok. We were so tired from walking everywhere- we didn't mind at all. The free parking in the garage is a big plus in itself. Front desk staff was ok. Price was fine for what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Jolla, Ca

Clean hotel with friendly and cooperative staff.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Staff for the most part worked with me so I was able to keep Shabbat. I warned them prior to Shabbat of course.
Cons: My card key somehow got demagnetized or was not properly set up correctly so I had some challenges getting inside my room the first day. It was fixed!
Location: Walk up Lyon Street for exercise! Truly amazing view at the top of the hill.
I enjoyed my experience and the staff was helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus,Ohio

Close to Everything. On the Bus Route

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Large room, comfortable bed, large Bathroom. Clearn
Cons: Improve the wifi. Add pictures to the walls.
Location: Centrally located for a tourist. Everything we wanted to see was within easy driving distance.
The hotel is directly on the street with very small lobby. You can park right under the hotel with easy access from your car to your room. The rooms are large with a very large bathroom and nice windows overlooking the street. The room is decorated in drab colors but everything is new and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable with good pillows. Television was excellent with good reception. The furnishings for the room were upscale and there is a functional writing desk. The wifi was free and slow but not so slow as to be nonfunctional. For our trip to San Fran this was a great base of operations.