Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, on, canada

Good hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Had a great vacation. While main attraction was baseball, was easy to add sightseeing, shopping and dining to the whole experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Easy walk to Ghirardelli Square, Fort Mason

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Great hot shower, tons of water pressure.
Location: Easy walk to Ghirardelli Square, Waterfront Fort Mason, Presidio. Uphill to Fillmore Shopping district but close Plenty of bars / restaurants nearby
Fantastic hot water for the shower. Helpful staff. Clean. A value option without frills. Was given the choice of a view or a quiet room. Chose the room at the back for quiet but some kind of delivery operation close by woke me around 5am each day. No breakfast option inside but available close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: location and free parking
Cons: HD flat screen TV
Good....I will stay there again. I like the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Free parking, great location
We stayed for two nights. Great location with easy access to transit. The hop on hop off tour stops right by, which we didn't know but might consider next time. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance as well as a grocery store and wine store. The rooms was comfortable and clean. We were in an outside unit on the Lombard side not far from the corner of Fillmore and didn't have any issues. I'm a lite sleeper, yes you could hear the cars drive by, but I slept sound every night. Maybe it was all the walking and fresh air :) Only downside, tv had only one working channel, but we didn't spend much time in the room. Internet was to slow to buffer amazon prime movie, but worked great for surfing the net and planning next days activities. Overall I would definitely stay again as it is the perfect location and you can't beat free parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel almost close to everything

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Location: I am used to walking so I walked up to the fishermans wharf. Close to crookedest street, Gheradelli square
Nice hotel with free parking and wifi. Room is big and bed is comfy. Maybe just upgrade TV to flat screen?Nice hotel staff.There's taco bell just across the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to tourist bus

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Good location for sight seeing
good and nice I don't want to write anymore. Just let me finish this stupid review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Visiting relatives

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, parking and friendly service.
Cons: Pillows! and perhaps needs some updating.
Location: Easy to walk to Chestnut street where great restaurant and shops as well as Union street. Great locally owned restaurant on Union St.-La Cocinas
We always stay at Chelsea or Coventry Motor Inn. Great location, easy access to public transportation. We ask for and inside room to avoid street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to restaurants

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location
My husband and I stayed here for a vacation and we really enjoyed it. I loved that it was so close to so many tasty restaurants. It was also near a Safeway grocery store. There are bus stops for the city buses and tourist buses right out the door. We found the location convenient, but it is a bit of a walk (1.5 miles) to the Piers and most of the other tourist attractions. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

We will be back !!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: CLEAN & centrally located.
Cons: OK, it needs a remodel, but it is clean !!
Location: Follow Filmore St one block to Chesnut for convenient access to bus transportation & many eateries -- Le Marais Bakery, Noah's Bagels, Starbucks, etc.
Sorry I am late with my review. Stayed for 3 nights the weekend of March 21, 2014 in Room 101. If you are looking for an all-inclusive, modern decorated, countryside quiet hotel. Go somewhere else. If in turn you are looking for a clean place to sleep and shower, this is your place. In addition, it is centrally located to bus transportation and many eateries along Lombard, Filmore and Chesnut Streets – Mel’s Drive-in, Patxi’s Chicago Pizza, Peets Coffee & Tea, Le Marais Bakery, Starbucks and Noah’s Bakery among others. Yes, there is noise. Yes, if your room faces Moulton St, like mine did, the next door US Post Office gets its delivery in the early morning. Yes, there is pedestrian and vehicular noise. Hey, IT IS A MAJOR US CITY, Hello !! But it is not like you are in the middle of a Rave Concert, a Monster Truck show, or in an out-of-control day-care … If you want quiet, go to a National Park. . We have no complaints about the front office or cleaning staff. The room/bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and if it applies to you, there is free parking. We are definitely staying here on our next visit, and recommended it only if you are interested in cleanliness, a place to shower, change and rest to then go enjoy the actual reason you are visiting the City by The Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Very accessible to cafe and restaurants

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Needs an upgrade in carpet and some furnishing
Location: Catch the tour buses from outside the hotel and go to Fishermans Warlf and boat tours to Alcatraz
We walked to a lot of the cafés and restaurants and enjoyed the tours day and night very interesting history.