Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Not good

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Will not recommend it to anyone Sorry but not good at all
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Room was so small you could barely walk in. Neighborhood was scary. Parking was good as they lock the gate at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san jose,ca

Close to night life/comfy

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This hotel is a little retro, but it's comfy and Clean . A few friends and my husband were going to a concert in SF and it wasn't too far from the venue. We liked this hotel we would probably stay again because it's so close to the night life too
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: location
pretty sad place. not in a safe area of town. i was not a fan. had to cross street to different building and did not feel safe at all. did not sleep the entire trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ukiah

Would not allow me to check in.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Terrible experience. Slept in my car due to 3 pm check-in. Would not refund or credit me. Really 3rd World desk staff. Terrible customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have been cheaper

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Location: The hotel location was perfect if you are interested in the San Francisco leather scene.
I was surprised to find that the City Inn is really a motel and not a hotel. The door to my room had an inch gap under it and the TV was a small set with only 6 channels. The continental breakfast was very minimal. I chose to walk to a nearby coffee bar for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Dirty shower and floors. Old hair dryer. Not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Debra Klotzfrom 7th street, San Fransico

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night for we were going to a baseball game. Parking was free which was one of the reasons for staying there other than the price. Clean room but toilet plugged up, room smelled very musty and one light switch was intermitant.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Juliefrom Sacramento

Rate to high for hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very unhappy with our stay at City Center Inn. From the moment of check-in to the time we left. They are very strict about their 3 PM check-in. We arrived at 2:45 and were told that we couldn't fill out any paperwork or check in until 3 PM. At that point there were 5 people in line and we had to wait, where is this could've been taken care of and we could receive your key after 3 PM. Once we got into a room, it was very outdated which is kinda expected for an older hotel. The ice machine on the floor did not work, the shower had a constant drip and the toilet seat was falling off. One perk was they had free parking the downside, no security cameras anywhere in the hotel. This area, south of market is not particularly the tourist area. If you do stay here make sure that all your valuables are out of your car. If you can afford the rate posted spend a little bit more and go to a different hotel. This hotel is not worth your money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DS4885from Orlando, FL

How did this place rate two stars?

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The good: The front counter people are very nice and friendly. The area felt safe to walk in at night. It's a three block walk from Market Street and Bart connection to the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good water pressure and ample hot water. The Bad: The elevator was malfunctioning when we checked in. It quit working a couple hours later and was not in service for the rest of our four day stay. The free internet worked for a minute or two then nothing meanwhile it was telling my phone that it had a strong connection I finally had to shut off Wi-Fi on my phone and use my mobile connection to access the internet. Room service only put two towels and one wash cloth in the room each day we had to go to the front counter and ask for additional wash cloths and towels. I told the front counter three days in a row that the heat lamp in the bathroom was burned out and they said they would have someone change it but they never did, finally . The vent fan was not working in the bathroom. The carpet in the room was tacky and worn the room had a musty smell to it. When we returned to the room at the end of the day we would find the air conditioning turned on max speed and max cold. So it took about 45 minutes for the room to warm up to normal comfortable temperature. The stairs leading up to our room had several steps that were rotting wood so they felt spongy and unsafe. The bathroom in the front counter area was out of service