Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Good for one night

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: price
Cons: questionable characters mulling around
Location: right in the heart of questionable but entertaining sf
I spend one night a month in SF. I choose to go here because it's cheap and they have parking. A lot of homeless and questionable activities going around but you would pay 2 or 3 x more at a better hotel. However, I would not even think about putting my family up in this hotel. But it's a great price if you can deal with street noise, sirens, and questionable characters. However, bottom line is I never encountered a situation where I felt completely deterred from returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Checking in process was great and confidential, courteous front desk assistant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty

Posted Jan 21, 2015
On arrival only had 1set of towels. Asked the housekeeper for another set and was told to contact the manager. The rug is stained and torn. Always homeless people on street in front of motel. Very noisy all night long. I questioned the safety of the neighborhood and was given specific directions to walk in. Not a nice place for the faint of heart. Only thoughtless the central location.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great proximity to where I needed to be.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Not bad for a last-minute booking, I was lucky to get a room. However, very rough area if you don't know which streets to stay on while walking to downtown. After the first day I figured all that out and it really wasn't that bad for the money I spent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and Unnerving

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Cheap. Decent TV
Cons: Not enough characters to start on this question.
I know the neighborhood and the conditions around the hotel. I booked this for an overnight due to a good price for the room. However, what's unnerving is anyone from the street can access the room. No gated security in a neighborhood with many homeless and unsavory characters about, with not a lot to lose. Also, the towel (as in only one) was the size of a hand towel not for showers. The pillow cases were dingy and stained and the noise from outside was ongoing, all night. Ice was broken and according to numerous and dated reviewing has been in this state for a long long time. The guy at the desk was nice but said I had to go across the street to the neighboring motel and get ice from their machine. Really?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homeless Shelter

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Tear it down & rebuild it.
This is quite possibly one of the worst hotels in San Francisco. The bedding was dirty, smelled terrible, and possibly hadn't been washed since the last guest. The pillows smelled like ashtrays (non-smoking room), and there was what amounted to a homeless camp sleeping under our truck, along with broken bottles in the bed of the truck. Short of needing shelter due to a zombie apocalypse, you'd be more comfortable sleeping in your car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr gute Lage

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Lage sehr gut, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel, Busse gleich ums Eck, Erreichbarkeit von Golden Gate Bridge und Alcatraz Cruises sehr einfach. Wer allerdings nach Alatraz fahren möchte, bestellt die Tickets früh genug vor, waren bei uns 5 Wochen lang komplett ausgebucht,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Springs, CA

Better than expected. Free parking.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: The elevator. More hot water for the showers. Better WiFi connection.
Location: It's across the street from Subway Sandwiches. Many eateries nearby. A couple blocks from Walgreen's.
I was expecting a creepy hotel in a creepy neighborhood. OK - the neighborhood is creepy, but it is in a very convenient location. The free parking was worth the price alone. I booked through Expedia and got $59 and $69 pricing - an excellent price for San Francisco. The room was clean, the front desk staff and the maid were very helpful. I liked that there is a security guard at night - patrolling the halls as well as the parking lots. The bed was comfortable. I used to stay at San Francisco Inn or Adante Hotel, but their pricing went through the roof this season.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: More commodities
Location: About 1 mile from Market/Union Square
Overall, the hotel was clean and the staff was nice, but the Tenderloin is not a safe area. Be willing to hear bums outside all night, or stay in a different area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible neighborhood; no elevator

Posted Dec 31, 2014
We stayed there because it was supposed to be close to Fisherman's warf but it is NOT. Terrible location. Dirty and homeless people surrounding the hotel. Didn't feel safe. Elevator didn't work. Had to carry suitcases to 3rd floor. Noisy place. Could hear the TV and guests next door. Very bad experience. Won't go back. Not worth my money.