Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was the worst place I have ever been in.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: NOTHING, NOT RECOMMENDED TO WALK IN THIS AREA. I WOULD DO EVERYTHING I HAD TO DO DURING THE DAY AND AFTER LOCK MYSELF UP IN HOTEL.
Now I know why there are no refunds on this booking. The area is the worst in San Francisco. The alley way where I had to park smelled of pee because the homeless sleep there. The room had no coffee pot, no microwave, no refrigerator.. The TV stations were only local channels. The towels were from the age of the dinosaurs only enough to wipe a baby. The ceiling in the bathroom had a hole in it. The rug was shaggered. The only thing I can say, is that I will never stay there again. The staff was helpful, but other than that, there is nothing else I can say.
1 out of 5
by Gaby from Los Angeles

The hotel is near drug users & homeless

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: There NOTHING I liked about this hotel except the cost. However, I will pay more to stay in a better location!
Cons: Everything needs to improve. Front office staff was rude and unfriendly. They need better/active security who address issues among the occupants.
Location: Nothing good nearby except drug users, homeless people and shady transients.
The hotel is in one of the worst parts of the city. It is near drug users, homeless people and shady people in general. It felt unsafe to be out after dark. The tenants next to us argued all night till 3:00 am. While we called front desk staff to address the situation....they didn't "send security" as they said they would. The front office clerk was very unfriendly and not welcoming whatsoever. The room looked ugly and there were not not enough towels for 3 people (seriously...not even 1 washcloth was provided). Regardless of the cost, I will NEVER stay in this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by Disappointed

Not worth it. Find something a little better...

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Bad neighborhood. Lots of people hanging out at night, loud noises, desk clerk was not friendly at all. You feel like you are somewhere unsafe and dirty. Definitely will pay more to stay somewhere else next time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel near homeless

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We didn't sleep well. There was a loud party next door. The front desk called at 12:04AM to verify we'd received our room keys, knowing we were getting up early. The stairwell smelled of urine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK~!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: I like the car park they provided.
Cons: please improve clean.
Location: very near by downtown.
location is Good, close to downtown, but this area not very safe feel, will not stay again in this hotel.
2 out of 5
by Xio from Santa Cruz

The Hotel is okay, the location is disappointing

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was near a lot of things
Cons: If there was security that could deal with the arguing that happens late during the night that would be great.
Location: There were a lot of night clubs, so if you're visiting SF for that reason you're in a good spot.
The overall quality of the the hotel room that we go was okay, it was a bit crammed though. But the location was pretty bad. The Civic Center Inn is located in a not so safe location. At night, we would overhear people arguing which was a bit unsettling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good part of town

Posted Mar 31, 2014
room itself was clean, but it is not in a good area of town, back parking lot especially.... lady at front desk was not very friendly at all... and you have to walk across street to ice machine at other hotel. Won't stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not Bad

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Cons: A little bit more soap would have been nice and improve the wifi connection.
I was expecting much worse because of the reviews but reviews are kind of misleading. There are some complaints and that was when I was showering there was no way to switch from the bottom faucet to the shower head. I spent several minutes trying to figure out how to do it because why have a shower head when one cannot use it. But all my efforts were wasted and it was not until after the fact my friends (who were staying in another room) told me how to do it. All I am saying is that if weren't for them then I would have not had showers, just baths. That's not a big deal but the main thing is why not have a piece of paper on a table in the room or something. I am sure that is not too much to ask. Another issue is the check in times are odd. My friends and I arrived early in the morning and wanted to check in instead of waiting five plus hours just to drop off luggage and settle so when we called to ask if we could check in earlier they said we could check in anytime and that there was no fees. After travelling on foot for over an hour we went to check in only to find a $35 fee. I mean just don't lie to us. As far as the stay goes it went pretty well. Staff members were nice and respectful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jong from KOREA

It was very reasonable hotel.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: Wifi in the room
Location: There are various restrants at near the hotel.
It is near the downtown. There are various restrants at near the hotel. Parking are very simple. The price is very low compare the facilities. But It is impossile to connect internet at room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jayne from Sonoma County

Basic, but not much more

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: parking, quiet, clean and secure room, clean linens and bath fixtures, good mattress, location
Cons: fix the shower connection, fix the left side of the curtain rod, put some art on the walls,
Location: At Ellis and Polk - about four blocks from Civic Center (one block east of Van Ness), so walkable to all the Arts activities there.
We chose this hotel because of its location and reasonable price. We were attending an event near the Civic Center and didn't want to drive home late at night. We slept well there, but were disappointed with some of the features. Good points: parking, quiet, clean and secure room, clean linens and bath fixtures, good mattress, location Not good: shower didn't work, aesthetically dull