Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA CA

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Would not stay there ever again, no a/c and total run down hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Rooms too old, carpet dirty, parking space not secured, no A/C. Price per night 160D not worth it. Really bad experience.!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Go To Spot

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, location to food and entertainment
Cons: For where it is, I'm just glad they're there
Location: Perfectly located to numerous eateries, music venues, and nice walks to nearly anywhere in town , other than the far west portion of the city
Always a Pleasure...been coming here for many, many years...if you're good with the tenderloin district, this is the spot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Scary

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Bare minimum to be expected. Noisy. A bed and shower can be had provided you don't scare easy and of sturdy stock.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Hotel itself run down, very basic. Take your own towels.Lots of homeless people on back side of hotel, very enlightening to observe how respectful they were and very clean and tidy when they moved on. All that said parking was included, that was worth the price alone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

A Total Dive

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to pretty much anything.
Cons: Cleanliness. Room comforts (maybe hang a picture on the wall?). Ability to control room temperature. Try to get the smell out.
Location: Anything you want to do in downtown San Francisco is walking distance, if you are into walking.
This is the kind of hotel where you're torn between leaving everything in the car so that you don't take home bed bugs or cockroaches vs bringing everything into your room so when your car gets stollen or broken into in the parking lot you don't loose everything. We stayed in some budget hotels on this trip but the Civic Center Inn takes the cake for being the worst. It's in a pretty seedy area of downtown San Francisco and the view out our window was the homeless guy that lives in the alley who seemed to always be hitting his (crack? meth?) pipe, so we kept the window & blinds closed the whole time. He had a few friends join him overnight and they had a bit of a party in the alley. What made this worse is that the room had no temperature controls so it was hot, muggy, and really smelly in the room, but you didn't really want to open the window on account of the drugs that were being smoked right outside of it. The room had been cleaned but wasn't very clean. The bathroom floor was sticky and left your feet black. We all had to share the one small towel. And we all picked up a slight funky smell after sleeping in the bed. Do yourself a favour and spend the extra $$ to stay anywhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Bad neighborhood and facilities.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, change all rooms including the restrooms, improve the parking facilities,
Location: The location of this hotel is one of the worse things they have. It's a very discomfort and unsecure neighbor of the city.
We opts for this Hotel because has free parking and internet and close to downtown in San Francisco. When we arrive, found the parking lot very small, a very, very bad neighborhood, you can't walk after 6PM; the room facilities are terrible, short and very old beds, terrible louds during nights... Actually, we checked out one day before... Certainly I never recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tempe AZ

high rate but poor facilities

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: I donot like it !
Cons: make the rate worthwhile. (at least to prvide the basic facilities)
Location: walk to some senic points
There is no air conditioner ! no fridge! no breakfast ! but the price is quite high. fortunately the staff at the hotel is nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad. Except a little bit dangerous location.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Not bad. Except a little bit dangerous location on night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison,Wi

Posted Jul 5, 2015
First of all there was no air conditioning. Heard a sound like maybe there was a mouse running around at night. It was in a pretty bad area in my opinion. Had to get a quarter from the front desk to walk across the street to get some ice. Staff was pretty good, but just felt unsafe and like the Building could use some updates. The towels we got were insufficient