Ratings based on 1,493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hamsa juma from bahrain

Perfect location perfect staff

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I was alone but they didnt make me feel alone. Excellent concierge staff. Very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BDay Weekend Extravaganza for the Wifey

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The club was a pleasant surprise downstairs in the lobby. Moscow Mules were yummy and did the nightcap trick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacqui from Essex UK

Clift hotel. San Francisco

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Hotel was central and had a spacious room in a contemporary design. Dining facilities good.
Cons: Bathroom was small but functional - prefer separate shower cubicle.
Location: Very central - great shopping and dining very close by. Walkable distant from piers ie Pier 39 for tourists, China Town, Union Square and Market St.
Was revisiting San Francisco as a tourist having visited many times on business. Wanted to walk down memory lane. Great city to walk around and weather was surprisingly warm for April.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice lounge

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Fun night and good location- red room lounge was a great scene
1 out of 5
by Joe from Chicago, IL

Extremely Disappointing

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Showers that work and that are kept up. A cleaner room with clean windows would be nice… And at least SOME kind of soundproofing between rooms...
Location: Somewhat dirty area but a short walk to nice shopping and restaurants.
First of all, I've never complained about a hotel stay until now and I do a fair amount of traveling. Here goes my rant... The walls were very very thin and we woke up to people talking both mornings. We were in an adjoining room and our neighbors were partying (felt like they were in the room – we could hear every word they said). The rooms were much smaller than cheaper and nicer hotels in the area. Don't worry about your view because you can't see out of the dirty windows even if there is a view. The shower did not work… The tub had chipping paint and the water literally dribbled out of the shower head at constantly changing temperatures. Absolutely horrible experience after paying good money. I would never recommend this hotel to a friend; I'd recommend checking out the Hotel Monaco across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clift hotel....

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Stayed for two nights. It was nice, the rooms are big.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stewart from long beach CA

Edgy Clift

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious and comfortable. Bed was comfy. Furnishings were trendy.
Cons: There was a kind of lack of storage space in that there was no chest of drawers, no armoire and all storage was in the single walk in closet.
Location: Almost next door to the Curran theatre and ACT. Two blocks firm Union square. Three blocks from shopping. Restaurants all round. Right in the action
We had wanted to stay at the Clift for a while but things hadn't lined up before. It was worth the wait! The Clift has and edgy feel, from the decor to the furniture to the color palate. Aa LNG established hotel that has been repositioned for the 21st century.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley from Newport Beach, CA

Trendy but nice

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Decor.
Location: Near Union Square, Powell BART station, nice walk to Chinatown, Union Swuare, The Embarcardero and all the sights in San Francisco
The hotel room was spacious and nicely appointed. Great view of the city. Friday night, when we checked in, was a bit of a club scene with doorman and music bumping, but the rest of the weekend was much tamer. Great location near Powell BART station and walking distance to all the sights of San Francisco a tourist would want to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Fresno, CA

From old to new.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The ambiance was very nice some thoughtful work went into decorating the hotel.
Cons: We had a superior king, and their was ample room for a desk. Plus this hotel charges $50 for parking and the parking lot next to the hotel was $38.
Location: Your a 5 minute walk from Union Square and Powell st. Cable cars and shopping, good restaurants all around their is a French cafe across the st.
It is an older building that has been refurbished. I have to remind myself that San Francisco is a very expensive city to spend the night. Next time we will stay south of town as I really didn't feel that I was getting my money's worth. We recently stayed in Long Beach at the Pike for similar price but their could be no comparison. If you like convenience this is a good location and near the cable cars on Powell street. Shopping is very good, good food and theaters near by. We saved about 120 a night by using Expedia over the regular hotel price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Middletown NJ

Great location - central to everything in SF

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Not much
Location: Very close to Union Square
Great staff, updated rooms good restaurant and fun and lively bar