Ratings based on 1,829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Great hotel in the perfecy location!

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Decor, bar, lounge in the hall outside my room.
Have had drinks in the redwoon room many times but this is my first stay here and it did not disappoint!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Experience

Posted Nov 25, 2014
I pulled up to the hotel for a two night first anniversary celebration with my wife. The staff is super helpful, the lobby is full of art pieces, including Dali works, we felt very safe and secure. Our room was great, the shower was like a gushing waterfall. One of the nicest hotel experiences I have ever had. The bar is a great place to kick back and relax, the room service runs until 3 am on the weekends...good for when the munchies hit. A unique San Francisco experience. We are definitely coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Randi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for choosing Clift to help you celebrate your special occasion. I am thrilled that our staff was able to help you create this memorable experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Livermore, CA

Premium Experience, Great Memories

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Decor. Rooms.
Cons: The bar is crazy expensive.
Location: Everything SF has to offer.
The Clift is in the best location in San Francisco. Imagine going to Broadway quality theatre, world-class shopping, and multiple restaurants all without leaving your neighborhood. Our stay was magic. Tip: If you want a martini just order one and share it. Wow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ventura, ca

marvelous hotel in the heart of san francisco.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: centrally located in the heart of san francisco....shop shop shop
marvelous, from start to depart. staff, accomadations, location...all 5 star in our book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, AU

Good location, finish missing the "edge"

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: location, lobby
Cons: The rooms need a bit more work.
Great location. This is a refurbished hotel and you can tell that by simply looking at the rooms. The lobby is great and funky and all kinds of stylish but the room itself was a little "unfinished". The original bath was still there and I don't mean 1920s art deco original, I mean original from the 1990s. In fact, it's the little things like the bottom of the bath peeling and the mustiness of the cupboards that makes this place not quite right. Anyway, the hotel is in a good location and good enough. Just don't expect 5 stars, despite the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Great hotel right in center of SF. Swanky and cool, the hotel strikes a particular sophistication at just the right level. The dimly lit lobby evoked the thought that I might at anytime be walking past a rock star, tech executive, or undercover vampire. If you dig that vibe, this is a great spot. Only issue I had was that the bathtub in my bathroom had a few scrapes that tarnished the rest of the otherwise amazing junior suite. Would definitely recommend - alongside the character, it presented good value for the money when compared to other hotels in the vicinity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York NY

My favorite SF hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice and very comfortable. All have nice little desk area, and well designed.
Cons: Not poorly located, but not close to the main Market street transit hubs
Location: Just off Union Sqr
This is the original trendy hotel, and still the best. Beautiful facilities, great rooms (check out 1601 for a single), nice staff, lively bar, pretty good location. I go to SF once a month and have stayed in just about every hotel. If I can get a decent rate, this is where I stay. I use it primarily for business, but if you want to have a romantic weekend, the rooms, just saying...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Hip hotel, great location

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Very pleasant experience. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Hotel ia centrally located

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We like this hotel and this is our second stay. The bathrooms are a little small as mentioned in other reviews but not a big deal. The staff was attentive and pleasant. The option is decent as far as accessibility to what the city has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice trendy hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: very close walking distance to Union Square and Railcar
Cons: The washroom, although clean, clearly needs some further renovations
The hotel is hip and right next to Union Square, its pricing is pretty on par with the hotels within that area. The staff was nice and things were clean