Ratings based on 2,532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Very close to Union Square.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Good clean place
Cons: They could do with the staff inquiring more about people
Location: Fantastic location. It is two blocks away from Union Square.
Since this is close to Union Square, everything is close by. Lots of places to eat and even shop for. If you are very paranoid about being close to/ in the Tenderloin district, then you may want to avoid this place but frankly my experience of the locality was fantastic. The cross street (Taylor) can have a homeless people but not near Clift as it is at the bottom of Nub Hill.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff not very helpful.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Change the furniture. Update the electrical outlets.
Toilet was leeking. Bathroom drain was not working.Bedstands are not functional. Funny smell in elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nice hotel in central position

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Hotel overall great only draw back no tea/coffee facilities in room. Alsopn the down side no residents bar and bar in hotel attracted young team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe, Ca

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We had a great stay at the Clift hotel. We were upgraded to a studio upon arrival. The room was quite large and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very friendly and they have a great bar/restaurant in the lobby. We will definitely be staying at the Clift hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Classy hotel with amazing staff and location.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Excellent hotel with great location to explore San Francisco
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nicely designed but run down

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Where it is located.
Cons: Needs total refreshment.
Location: As said, it is well situated
Nice design but run down in our room. Dirty carpets and old. The branding is inspiring with Philip Starck who designed the hotel and Morgans as owners. Unfortunately I would give this hotel 3 or 3.5 stars max. It is sold as 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice trendy hotel, the virgin airlines of hotels

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Stayed there for two nights and the hotel is really trendy and nice! People are proactive and the bar is a real bar you like to hang out! Small bites are available without having to sit on a table. For me that is a big plus if you travel by yourself!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Not bad. Great location. Big room (studio). Small bathroom. A bit dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Modern facilities but dingy rooms

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Great staff!
Cons: The rooms, especially the bathroom and the carpet, should be updated.
Location: The hotel is located in a very busy, congested area of the city. It was centrally convenient to a lot of things, but there is a lot of activity/noise
The staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly. The common facilities are modern and interesting. However, the room felt dingy and outdated. Although they have tried to make the rooms feel modern through the decor and the furnishings, the bathroom had dirty/moldy grout and the carpet felt old and dingy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overprice, food terrible ( do not order food there

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Cons: Should be advertise include the parking!!
Parking you will have to pay additionally $60. By the time you are done -------you are out of $300. Food not the best quality for a overprice price!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to see that the parking prices made your stay less enjoyable. Our rates are in line with the other Hotels in the area. We do not own our own parking garage and therefore outsource through another Company, which is typical of inner-city hotels. There are always plenty of self-parking options in the city for guests looking to pay a little less for parking.