Ratings based on 2,201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Comfy room, great workout equip, good location, redwood room awesome
Awesome hotel, can't wait to stay again soon. Staff was friendly and helpful, loved the decor, great location
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wash, DC

Needs updating, but...

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Comfy Bed.
Cons: Update.
Friendly Staff and Very Comfy Bed. Rooms are not all the same size for the same price our friends rooms were twice as big, we stayed in Room 812, it was a shoebox. Hotel overall was fine for one night stay. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 12, 2015
My boyfriend and I really liked this hotel. It's a great location. Walking distance to so many great places. Only complaint I have is the shower. It takes forever to drain. Might've just been our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Great location close to Union Sq

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great location 2 mins walk from Union Sq. Very comfy rooms, helpful staff at front desk. Had a great experience and would recommend to all travelling with family too..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom H

I sent an email regarding issues during our stay.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
See email. I sent a very lengthy email already. Not going to re write everything again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Randi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your e-mail and a manager will be personally reaching out to you to discuss your concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not like it used to be

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Location: Well located near good public transportation.
Great location near Union Square. I preferred the Clift when it had its old world charm, seen now only in the bar area. The staff were very helpful but the concierge didn't even have a decent sized map of the city. There was no information about what to do in the city in the room. Some bathroom tiles were chipped as were the door frames and the paint on one wall in the bedroom. The decor of the bedroom was mostly elegant but ruined by the orange acrylic nightstands and inside legs of the desk and desk chair. I'd give this 3-1/2 stars. Touch up paint, fix the tiles and get rid of the orange and I'd give it 4 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
all bar and lobby. rooms are meh. bathroom's umm...petite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Randi, Hotel Management
We are a historical building with many of the charms of old-school San Francisco. We have rooms with many variations of design and layout to accommodate the various needs of our guests. Should you ever be unhappy with your original room, the friendly Front Desk Staff are available 24 hours to fins the perfect room for your comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to union square

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, contemporary ambience
Cons: Please WALK towards union square but NEVER in the opposite direction, or else you will be in a very bad neighborhood.
Location: Nice shopping, and dinning nearby as well as union square, and 1 block away from the cable car stop
Very welcoming, the staff made our stay very pleasant, however they DID NOT advise us that if you walk in certain direction you'll find yourself in a very bad neighborhood. The concierge and front desk staff were amazing, and the hotel is contemporary. Our first night a fire alarm went off, and there was an order to evacuate, However the hotel staff check immediately and found that there was a false alarm, unlike another hotel in Houston in which the staff took forever to let us back in the room. On a negative note there beggars on the side walk but I think the hotel can not do anything about it, but request more police presence
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Classy hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Staff was great, easy checking in and out. Doormen at the doors were helpful. Room was nice but no fridge/micro. Found big clumps of hair on the bathroom walls and a shaving razor. Many food/clothing spots within a block. Would stay again, I'm sure they don't always forget to clean the room well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Location was convenient, near many restaurants and shopping. For the most part safe part of SF.