Ratings based on 2,495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Good choice.

Posted May 29, 2015
The Clift Hotel is located in a great part of San Francisco for tourists. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, room was clean and nicely furnished, bed was comfortable, restaurant was attractive with a responsive wait staff. The only observation was that there wasn't any closet or place to hang clothes but that wasn't a problem as we were only there overnite. We had a great stay and will return next time we are in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Excellent hotel right by union square. Beds were amazingly comfortable and fairly large rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

great location, tired property

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: rooms need to be remodeled and the restaurant needs to be better managed
Location: great location, heart of the city
decided to try the clift, good location and a beautiful bar staff was nice, room was very outdated, breakfast was overpriced and mediocre
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom L

Well situated but overpriced.

Posted May 19, 2015
We slept to the sound of the lifts constantly running and could easily hear our neighbours across the hall at one stage. The fridge had no space at all to put anything (like fruit) in it. And there was no wifi which is uncommon. These aspects were disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Nice hotel , walking distance to union square and other tourist attraction
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great lobby, great/small bar, lousy room.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The staff, the concierge, the doorman.
Cons: Attention to detail starting at the second floor up to the 17th - which by the way - the elevator only goes to the 16th.
Location: Great location but there are no shortage of hotels in this area.
Firstly, stay away from 'deluxe' room 1705 at all costs - it's adjacent to the elevator engineering room and the gears could be heard ALL NIGHT. And yes - that was the 'deluxe' room which was more expensive! To their defense, the staff (very helpful and professional) tried to move me to another room (even before I checked-in which now makes sense!) but they couldn't. They comped my dinner/drinks when I commented about it at checkout but for $850/3nights I really expected more. Also, I travel 50-70% of the year and frequent hotels from 2-stars to 5-stars and this place falls into a category of bait and switch. The lobby was beautiful, the bar (small) is well-appointed and stylish, and great/professional staff (5 stars), but all the investment was done on the first floor leaving the rooms feeling like a mod version of La Quinta. And if I was renting the lobby and bar I'd be happy but I definitely felt disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Nice hotel for young people

Posted May 18, 2015
They had great bar, good music, great location to walk, good size bedrooms and good bed, just the bathroom had no space to put your stuff but in general a very good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo

Hotel agradável, excelente localização.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: A localização, o atendimento e a linpeza foram itens que me deixaram bastante satisfeita.
Cons: O café da manhã.
Location: Excelente localizaçao.
Fui muito bem atendida, desde o check in ao check out. o hotel fica proximo de outros principsis hoteis da regiao da Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Boutique convenience

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The spacious room, attentive staff, boutique furnishing, proximity to city.
Cons: Bathroom renovation possibly which would suit the rest of the plush hotel.
Location: Walked to China town, powell street famous trams, polk street, nob hill, financial district and a ferry ride to Saulisuto.
When I flew in from an international flight the reception and entry to the hotel was very refreshing. Hotel staff were very pleasant and accomodating. I was even happy to find out that I had complimentary wi-fi in my studio room for the 4 nights. As a business and leisure stay it was fantastic. My plush adorned well light room had all the nice amentities and spacious king size bed. I would however liked a more modern bathroom setting but a slight blemish on a more than beautiful first stay in San Fransisco. I will be returning again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Favorite Hotel in SF

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Rooms are great
Cons: Starting to show some ware and tear.
Location: Well located by US
The original boutique hotel in SF. Nice and large rooms, friendly staff, lively bar downstairs with a slightly misbehaving crowd, little bit dot-com, little bit international.