Ratings based on 1,822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, AU

Good location, finish missing the "edge"

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: location, lobby
Cons: The rooms need a bit more work.
Great location. This is a refurbished hotel and you can tell that by simply looking at the rooms. The lobby is great and funky and all kinds of stylish but the room itself was a little "unfinished". The original bath was still there and I don't mean 1920s art deco original, I mean original from the 1990s. In fact, it's the little things like the bottom of the bath peeling and the mustiness of the cupboards that makes this place not quite right. Anyway, the hotel is in a good location and good enough. Just don't expect 5 stars, despite the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Great hotel right in center of SF. Swanky and cool, the hotel strikes a particular sophistication at just the right level. The dimly lit lobby evoked the thought that I might at anytime be walking past a rock star, tech executive, or undercover vampire. If you dig that vibe, this is a great spot. Only issue I had was that the bathtub in my bathroom had a few scrapes that tarnished the rest of the otherwise amazing junior suite. Would definitely recommend - alongside the character, it presented good value for the money when compared to other hotels in the vicinity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York NY

My favorite SF hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice and very comfortable. All have nice little desk area, and well designed.
Cons: Not poorly located, but not close to the main Market street transit hubs
Location: Just off Union Sqr
This is the original trendy hotel, and still the best. Beautiful facilities, great rooms (check out 1601 for a single), nice staff, lively bar, pretty good location. I go to SF once a month and have stayed in just about every hotel. If I can get a decent rate, this is where I stay. I use it primarily for business, but if you want to have a romantic weekend, the rooms, just saying...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Hip hotel, great location

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Very pleasant experience. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Hotel ia centrally located

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We like this hotel and this is our second stay. The bathrooms are a little small as mentioned in other reviews but not a big deal. The staff was attentive and pleasant. The option is decent as far as accessibility to what the city has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice trendy hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: very close walking distance to Union Square and Railcar
Cons: The washroom, although clean, clearly needs some further renovations
The hotel is hip and right next to Union Square, its pricing is pretty on par with the hotels within that area. The staff was nice and things were clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, gym and cleanliness. Amazing pillows, sheets and bed comfort.
Cons: Bathroom a it tired
Easy to check in after long flight. Friendly staff. Great security.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd choice of decorating style

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Room was larger than anticipated - but stark
Cons: More inviting atmosphere - lobby, bar and room and pricey
Arrived at night - a bit dark and overly modern for our tastes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Nice stay in San Francisco

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Everything was very nice.
Cons: I wished the bathrooms would be larger. The trash can under the sink was hard to get into.
Location: Cheesecake Factory, Apple Store, Lots of Shopping and Food. We walked everywhere. It was an awesome location.
We had a great time at the World Series - Giants versus the Royals. Giants taking the crown. WOOT WOOT! We enjoyed this motel because it was right down town and blocks away from the Cheesecake Factory. We also walked to AT&T Park. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean. The only thing I would change would be to enlarge the bathrooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Watch your credit cards & beware of poor mgmt

Posted Nov 3, 2014
We gave our credit card to the front desk at check in and she managed to put our credit card info down for another room and at the lobby bar we gave our credit card to the server to hold a table for us and our card managed to get skimmed and we were billed for charges after we paid our bill in cash and after we left the hotel bar. When confronted, management was so rude and accused us of being too drunk to know what was going on. I am actually pregnant and was extremely offended by her comments and the way they handled the entire situation. Be careful with your credit cards here. Toilets also do not flush here.