Ratings based on 1,639 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts, UK

Great location with fab view of Golden Gate bridge

Posted Jul 18, 2015
We had stayed at this hotel 17 years ago and liked the location, so booked again this time. The hotel has a brilliant location, 2 blocks from Lombard Street (wiggly bit) and an easy walk to Ghiradelli Square and Fishermans Wharf. The view of Golden Gate Bridge was fantastic from our room too. The negatives would be that the staff on the desk are not very helpful and upon check in were bordering on being rude, as in the middle of talking they walked away and began another conversation with someone else! The ice machine and drinks dispenser didn't work on our floor for the whole 4 days but our biggest gripe is with the wifi- it was useless, you'd get 5 mins if lucky! We complained several times, but were told to call their internet provider ourselves! Despite this we had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Middle of town; close to Muni Stops

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: It was close to the areas we wanted to visit
Cons: Blankets for the room
Location: Within walking distance to some areas; bus stop only a block away
Same room; view of city was mostly of buildings next door; view wasn't important since we only were at hotel to take a shower and sleep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel in ok location

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable
Cons: Parking is the main reason I would never return to this location.
Was there for 2 nights. Parking was almost impossible as we have a SUV . They couldn't give us 2 keys as they were running out. Room was on the street side and was noisy from traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Good location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
This hotel is in a great location to walk to everything downtown and by the piers. The view is awesome as you can get a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The breakfast is super busy so dealing with that was interesting. It was a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holly, Michigan

Within walking distance to the Pier

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Location!
Location: Within walking distance to several Piers, restaurants, etc.
First time travelers to San Francisco. We chose this location because it was close to most "tourist" attractions. The room we booked was a "bay view" which was beautiful!! Very comfortable accommodations and great breakfast. The staff was also courteous and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
rommelige, onverzorgde ontbijtfaciliteit. Personeel dat ontbijt verzorgt niet erg vriendelijk. Frontdeskpersoneel: ligt eraan wie je aantreft: de een doet ontzettend zijn best en is erg vriendelijk en behulpzaam, een ander is erg nors en ongeintresseerd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Overall good hotel for the money we spent. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was free, although that wasn't listed in the original booking info.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing Location

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: LOCATION! Friendly staff, clean rooms, house keeping always did an excellent job and always replenished our towels every day.
Cons: Extend the time allotted for breakfast.
Location: Lombard St, Eva's Coffee (right next door), Black Magic (bar directly across the street) Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, bars on Polk St.
Last year I stayed out in South San Francisco to save money, but decided to spend a little more to stay in the city. It was totally worth it. Comfort Inn by the Bay is in an awesome location! It was walking distance to so many things that we wanted to do and explore. I was hoping for a view of the Golden Gate Bridge like I have seen in the photo's of other travelers, however, it was still a nice view of some of the city. We walked to most things during our stay, however if we needed to go a little bit father we used Lyft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from seattle WA

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The bed was very comfortable, the room had a bit of a retro feeling that I liked, although the bathroom was a little small. Lobby and elevators seemed a bit outdated and a refresh would be nice, but overall this hotel is clean, staff was very nice and helpful, and you get free Wifi and breakfast, so it's a good value in a great area of the city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC ca

Good hotel, great location, pricey, but it is SF

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location..beds, peek view of GG
Cons: WiFi, also, ice machine on 4th floor was malfunctioning
Location: Accessible to Presidio, Fisherman's Wharf, No. Beach..... Location on Lombard and Van Ness which is one of the main arteries to traverse city.
Hotel was good and was a great choice for us. Parking at around $30 per day is a little steep and garage is very compact with tight turns...backup camera was almost a necessity. WiFi was extremely weak and frustrating. Staff was nice, free breakfast wasn't fancy but was ok. Tight quarters in bath, beds (2 queens) were comfy. Nice peek view from 4th floor of Golden Gate Bridge. Little pricey, but this is SF, and location was very good.