Ratings based on 1,626 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Overall good hotel for the money we spent. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was free, although that wasn't listed in the original booking info.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing Location

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: LOCATION! Friendly staff, clean rooms, house keeping always did an excellent job and always replenished our towels every day.
Cons: Extend the time allotted for breakfast.
Location: Lombard St, Eva's Coffee (right next door), Black Magic (bar directly across the street) Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, bars on Polk St.
Last year I stayed out in South San Francisco to save money, but decided to spend a little more to stay in the city. It was totally worth it. Comfort Inn by the Bay is in an awesome location! It was walking distance to so many things that we wanted to do and explore. I was hoping for a view of the Golden Gate Bridge like I have seen in the photo's of other travelers, however, it was still a nice view of some of the city. We walked to most things during our stay, however if we needed to go a little bit father we used Lyft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from seattle WA

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The bed was very comfortable, the room had a bit of a retro feeling that I liked, although the bathroom was a little small. Lobby and elevators seemed a bit outdated and a refresh would be nice, but overall this hotel is clean, staff was very nice and helpful, and you get free Wifi and breakfast, so it's a good value in a great area of the city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC ca

Good hotel, great location, pricey, but it is SF

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location..beds, peek view of GG
Cons: WiFi, also, ice machine on 4th floor was malfunctioning
Location: Accessible to Presidio, Fisherman's Wharf, No. Beach..... Location on Lombard and Van Ness which is one of the main arteries to traverse city.
Hotel was good and was a great choice for us. Parking at around $30 per day is a little steep and garage is very compact with tight turns...backup camera was almost a necessity. WiFi was extremely weak and frustrating. Staff was nice, free breakfast wasn't fancy but was ok. Tight quarters in bath, beds (2 queens) were comfy. Nice peek view from 4th floor of Golden Gate Bridge. Little pricey, but this is SF, and location was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel. Nice location.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location. Breakfast provision. Views of Golden Gate Bridge. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bathrooms could be updated as quite small and difficult to move in. Microwave in room. Better tv guide.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf within walking distance. Loads to explore there! Good base for public transport.
Was very nervous choosing a hotel in San Francisco where prices seemed expensive and I did not know the city well. Was pleased with this hotel in the end. Was about 20 minutes walk downhill (and uphill, but reasonable slope, not too steep on the way back) from Fisherman's Wharf area and about 10 minutes walk to a safeway supermarket. The Muni public transport system was easy to work out and stops were within easy walking distance of hotel. We had a room on the top floor and great views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Bay. Traffic noise was reasonable despite being on corner of Van Ness and Lombard Streets and it felt reasonably safe to walk around hotel in the daylight hours. Staff were helpful in storing luggage and providing maps and directions. Bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze and decor not new, but the room and beds and pillows we found comfortable and the room became our home away from home for 5 days. Breakfast is provided and totally adequate for our needs (as someone who prefers a bowl or porridge or cereal and perhaps some fruit, yoghurt or toast!). It was nice to have a microwave provided for making porridge oats yourself and we had fun making our own waffles. When we asked we were permitted to use the microwave in dining room to reheat some leftover takeaway which was appreciate although I am not sure if this is the norm. The hotel provided access to lots of tourist information and takeaway restaurant information and even discounts at local restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Good location

Posted Jun 8, 2015
This hotel is in a good location for walking around near fisherman's wharf. We only spent a weekend here and the room was clean and adequate but nothing fancy. The breakfast buffet was convenient but the choices were very limited. Did not spend any time at the hotel ,therefore, I am making my recommendation as a a clean place to sleep and shower in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from São Paulo, Brasil

Conforto

Posted May 28, 2015
Bom hotel, cama muito confortável e quarto espaçoso e limpo. Café da manhã bem satisfatório. Apenas o preço que fica um pouco acima da média pra um hotel deste nivel mas em San Francisco a maior parte das diárias são mais caras.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

15min walk to the pier

Posted May 26, 2015
Great staff. Clean rooms. Walking distance from the pier and free breakfast in the morning. Overall great place. Definitely my go to hotel every time I visit sf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff, really clean. Great location !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Clean and comfortable

Posted May 16, 2015
I like it very much it's clean and comfortable I came with my wife and baby we enjoyed it