Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Good location value for money

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The location and the decor
Cons: no
Location: Union square about 3 blocks away
Excellent location. Once inside hotel the whole experience is excellent. Value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Brisbane, Australia

Quaint hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Nice hotel, clean and tidy a little on the small side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Considering and classy

Posted May 29, 2014
Room is good and clean, breakfast is really good. I really love the restaurant decoration, all french style. Old hotel but very comfortable!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Cornel

Posted May 8, 2014
No air-conditioning, only a double bed and the room was 10x10 for 178 per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Grass Valley, CA

Cute hotel with French flare.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: French decor and French paintings in the hallways and rooms.
Cons: Need more people to help with arrival and check-in.
Location: Conveniently located near San Francisco's Union Square, Chinatown, and major shopping.
Each floor is named for a French artist, Modigliani, Matisse, etc. with accompanying prints of paintings. The elevator is charmingly old fashioned, and walls and ceilings are painted with French Country motifs. The rooms are small, but comfortable. In the Joan of Arc Restaurant, complete with stained glass windows, you're given a filling complementary breakfast. The only inconvenience was check-in, with one woman trying to deal with a number of arrivals. A slow process.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central location on Nob Hill.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Very central location with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast provided.
Cons: For the price, it would be nice to have two bedside lamps.
Location: Lots of shopping, easy access to public transportation, including the cable cars.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The gentleman who checked us in was welcoming and very pleasant. It does have a boutique hotel ambience in an old building. I'm sure there are a variety of room sizes in the hotel. Ours was extremely small with a view to the brick wall about 10 feet away and consequently quite dark. We were just in the city for a couple of days so weren't in the room much anyway but I think the room was quite expensive in relation to what it provided. Definitely paying the premium for location. Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs and were freshly prepared to order. All of the staff were very professional and pleasant. We were able to access public transportation and restaurants easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Sedona AZ

Great stay!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Spent 7 nights. Quaint hotel. Wonderful French restaurant. Location is perfect for catching cable cars, for walking to Union Square or for walking to Chinatown. Room is comfortable and old-fashioned. Very French! Mais oui!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ceyda from istanbul tr

nice hotel,near the facilities

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: ambiance
Cons: breakfeast
Location: evriting is excellent
breakfeast is good but,only one kind of swit bread
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jud from Seattle

Older property near Union Square

Posted Apr 11, 2014
This hotel has a friendly staff and a solid location. It's within an easy walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, and Nob Hill. It's also a 5-10 minute walk to the Powell BART/MUNI station. It definitely is older, with somewhat dated interiors and a nostalgic cage-style elevator. My room was also cozy, closer in resemblance to what I've seen in Tokyo versus your typical American hotel. I would still recommend it based on its great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George & Joy from Lindon, UT

Delightful French style hotel near Union Square

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Well situated, close to trolley stop and Union Square. Fun atmosphere and hosts.
Cons: It's an older hotel, European style. Not sure I would change anything.
Location: City tours begin just a short distance away. Fisherman's Wharf a quick trolley ride away. China Town a short walk. For shoppers it's ideal.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again. Dining area in the lower level is as charming as anything we've seen anywhere in Europe, including Prague and Paris. Overall rating really should be 4.5.