Ratings based on 893 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Already stated above.
Cons: Rooms now looking old and in need of refurbishment. Bathrooms in particular require updating.
Location: Easy walking distance of the Bay, restaurants and bars. Buses available for those who do not wish to walk too far.
Warm welcome and female staff member on reception remembered us from our last stay, which was 2 years ago. Hotel is situated on Lombard Street which is a very busy road, so front rooms can be noisy. We had requested a quiet room, however, and though it had a view onto a brick wall it was indeed very quiet, which more than compensated for the lack of view. Large room with king bed, 2 chairs and a table. No fridge, but we could have requested one for an extra charge. Breakfast not included, but there are many eateries within easy walking distance. Free parking, which is a real advantage in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Value for money at this location.
Location: Ten or twelve dollar cab ride to most attractions. Buses running close by for other longer trips. Alcatraz at night is a great experience and interest
This hotel is not the best hotel in town but is good for its value and location. Staff are helpful especially Tony I think it was who checked us in in under a minute for four rooms, very efficient. Staff helpful with advice and tips. Position of hotel close to most things and a bus or cab ride to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Great big rooms very comfortable nothing to moan about
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, Ca

Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Only stayed one night after going up to see a giants game. Called the hotel before arriving and they were very accommodating. Would let us park there before check in and recommended ways to get to att park (cab, bus). Plenty of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Nice simple hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Checked in later which was no problem, room was fine, air con not working which was a shame. Staff helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Nice room and accommodating staff.
Cons: They should offer a simple continental breakfast.
Location: It's an easy walk to the Marina area and Pier 39 if you enjoy walking. It's close to where the cable car can be taken to Union Square area.
The hotel staff, particularly Vince, was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. There aren't any extra amenities, such as a continental breakfast, but the room was very nice; beds were very comfortable; the room was nicely furnished and very clean. The Thai restaurant across the street has great food. Our room was on the third floor on the Buchanan side, somewhat close to Lombard,and it was very quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Rooms ok, large but noisy at front of hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Room ok for the cost. On arrival I said I had requested a quiet room but they did not have any available only inferior rooms looking at a wall. We were allocated a 3rd room on the front Main Street and we were there for 3 nights - needless to say we did not get any sleep even using earplugs! There were sirens, loud music from cars and drunks outside that at one time had 4 police cars there. The room was comfortable enough it was just the noise and based on that I would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London England

Motor Inn in good area.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Good access
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hey its San Francisco.
Good value with parking pretty convenient.Spacious rooms comfortable beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Three nights in San Fransico

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Good size room with some facilities that we didn't have in more expensive hotels. The hotel was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The hotel would benefit from a throughout decoration as the decor was a little dated. The windows did not shut so traffic noise was a problem.
Location: Bay View Cafe on Lombard street, ideal for breakfast. Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Downtown, Golden Gate Park, etc all short taxi rides away.
We booked the hotel after reading several reviews on-line and mainly based on the price. Although the hotel was out of town a bit taxis were cheap enough to get to most places $10 to Fisherman's Wharf, Downtown, China Town. The hotel was okay for using it as a base to explore SF. The hotel was on the main road did create some noise issues in the mornings, being on a junction the rush hour traffic woke us up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Pleasantly unexpected

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The inn is in great condition and clean. We were very comfortable with two queen beds, a table, flat screen T.V., and a shower with a bathtub for my little one. The hotel and surrounding area is very family friendly.