Ratings based on 1,460 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Interesting

Posted Apr 23, 2015
The staff was very nice. The hotel itself is old but that is understandable in San Francisco. The room was freezing cold so I called the front desk and the engineer came up and he informed me that the heaters run off of water so it would bring moisture into the room, so he brought me a portable heater, which was very thoughtful and definitely warmed up the room. The light on the ceiling fan kept turning on and off on its own which was weirding me out. The hotel room was very clean. The hotel breakfast is all carbs, no eggs or anything for the healthy customer so I passed on that. Overall the hotel is descent if your looking for a place to stay thats reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Our family of 5 were really pleased with the hotel. The family suite was huge and the complimentary continental breakfast had a good variety and filled us up each morning. Hotel staff very warm, friendly and helpful. Hotel was within walking distance to Lombard Street, Fisherman's Wharf and plenty of places to eat, making it easy to see the sights without the need of public transport. Definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: decent size rooms
Location: good chinese restaurant in building
heated swimming pool a plus own self service laundry facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest

Great location, Great Value

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, wonderful bed.
Cons: Room was a little dark, would like to have more light.
Location: Nice central location halfway between SFO Airport and Oakland. Very walkable area, close to Golden Gate Bridge.
The location was quiet. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was a nice size and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The complementary breakfast exceeded my expectations. It was a great stay overall. I would stay there again. Parking was $30 per night, but that is typical of any hotel in the city. At least i didn't have to drive around looking for street parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The location, close to Polk street, Union street and the Marina.
This hotel had the feel and amenities of an average motel. First we were assigned a room on the ground level next to the pool. It was small, dark and very loud. The floor was vibrating from the pool pump and the pump noise didn't let us sleep at night. The next morning we complained and received a room on a higher floor. There was no more noise from the pump, but from partying college students in the adjacent rooms instead. We noticed that this hotel was very popular with larger groups of college students. If you are a regular traveler with some need of basic comfort and a good night sleep, then this is definitely not the right place for you! We felt very uncomfortable in this hotel. While the first room had a portable air conditioning unit, the second one had only fans. No matter what the temperature was outside, our inside temperature was always around 80F. It felt so hot and stuffy the entire time (we stayed 4 nights) that we had to leave the room door open frequently in order to let in some fresh and cool air (rooms go directly to the outside). For the same amount of money I have stayed in much better places in San Francisco. They charged us an extra fee of $20/night for the friend my daughter brought with her, while not providing any extra towels etc. and we paid $30/night for parking. So the $50 in addition to the room fee did not make this hotel a very good deal and I wish that I had never booked it in first place. Needless to say that we will not return.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Almonte

OK and close to the Warf

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Old converted motel. Clean and close to Fisherman's Warf ( 10 minute walk). Breakfast included, super nice staff. Free wi-fi, computer room with printer. No central AC but portable unit. One of those where people walk by your picture windows and stare in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Great place for a large family.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The room was large and the facility was quiet.
Cons: The breakfast was okay. It was not great, but I have had worse. They did had things like toast, bagels, cereal, juice, yogurt and oatmeal packets.
Location: It is near Fisherman's Warf in San Francisco- more to do than I could begin to mention. Note, however, it is a bit of a walk but not a bad one.
It is hard to find hotels large enough to accommodate a family of six, but this hotel was perfect. There was a large (but very hard) couch and three queen size beds, so no fighting over who would get stuck with the pull-out bed. It was within walking distance to both Fisherman's Warf and China Town, however, it is not across the street so if walking up and down the hills in San Francisco are difficult for you, it might be a bit far. It is a no-frills hotel, so don't expect room service or a bellhop but it was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean. Good value.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Clean room. Nice staff. Slow elevators. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Long weekend

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness
Cons: Elevator is slow and continental breakfast is very plain with too few choices.
The hotel is located near Van Ness and Union which is a great central location without being in too touristy of an area. The staff is friendly and helpful. My only gripe is the weak continental breakfast and the one elevator that is very slow and has seen better days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Agoura Hills, CA

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Our favorite thing about this hotel was it's location. We walked to many great restaurants and pubs. We walked down to the wharf. The room was fine. It was clean and pretty quiet. It had a nice fitness room with a sauna (that we didn't have time to enjoy, but seemed nice). All of the staff were very friendly.