Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The El Camino Inn

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Convenience to San Francisco State University.
Cons: See above.
Location: There was nothing to do nearby. Even finding a decent restaurant involved driving some distance.
For the price, I guess it was ok. But there was very little comfort. The beds were terrible, the sheets were stained. The toilet sounded like it was leaking all night, and I'd have drowned that sound out with air conditioning, but there was NONE. It's true that you get what you pay for, but the hotel should have more pride in its product.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson

Good hotel close to Bart

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The room was great, clean and perfect for just sleeping and showering. Bart station is really close.
3 out of 5
by cynthia from san diego

It's decent ,quiet,

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: Need referance to some goodfood around
Location: Close to hightway
The cleaning was ok but was too much bleach been used i had bad allergy on that night, There is no breakfast served
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by May from Hawaii

Comfortable, basic hotel.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Hotel was clean, free parking and close to eateries.
Cons: Daily supply of basic necessities such as soap, wash cloths.
Location: The location was near SFSU, and lot's of late night eateries.
Close to lot's of late night eateries. In & Out Burgers, Krispy Kreme, Coffee and donut shop across the street. We stayed for a short visit and hardly in the room. The beds are comfortable, although room was short on amenities such as soap, shampoo, wash cloths. Although the weather was cool in June, there's no A/C in the room only a heater. There's also a coffee maker and small refrigerator in the room. Hotel is very basic and near SFSU. Parking is free which is a plus! Don't count to heavily on the continental breakfast which consist on weak coffee a toaster for bread and a few pastries. All in all it was a good stay for our purpose.
1 out of 5
by Avijit from Seattle

Posted Jun 7, 2014
The lady at the front desk was very rude and the heater in the room did not work. When we told the lady about it, she said she was sorry and she could do nothing about it!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2014
Cheap place. Didn't expect much. Exactly what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nightmare

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: It was close to where the soccer match was being played.
Cons: The paint in the bathroom was chipped and coming literally off of the wall. Carpet looked outdated. TV had poor choice of channels.
Location: The hotel is close to lots of places like thrift stores, Jack in the Box, Wendy's, and grocery stores. It is on a dismal street.
The blonde lady at the front desk was hostile NOT hospitable at ALL. She was downright RUDE!!!! This was the WORST hotel experience I have ever had in my entire life. She escalated quickly and found it difficult to resolve simple issues. My daughter had made our reservation under her name and used my credit card. My daughter should have had me make the reservation. So the front desk lady told me that until I called Expedia we could not check in. She definitely was making a MOUNTAIN out of a mole hill. She escalated and told the guy at the desk that I had shown up at 8 am wanting to get a room. Yes, I had shown up early and just asked if we might by chance be able to get an early check in (as sometimes one can do) if the hotel is not full. You would have thought that I was asking to steal her mother's wedding ring. This attendant brought her own emotional issues to the job. I did get a hold of Expedia and the lady at Expedia was very nice and contacted the hotel immediately. It was a simple fix. A trained front desk clerk should have said something like, "Oh, I need to get a hold of Expedia to clear this up and that should be no problem." Now that would have been an appropriate response, but NO this clerk went out of her way to make it a CHALLENGE for us to check in. Awful experience. I would never go back. The room was also extremely small and had paint chipping off on the walls in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from Grass Valley, CA

Basic Room

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I needed a lower cost place to stay in near San Francisco and the El Camino Inn fit the bill. The room was small but clean, the staff friendly. I'd stay there again under similar circumstances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013