Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay close to Van Ness!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Don't walk from Civic Center to use Bart - take a bus one block over. This hotel is fine, the staff is helpful and the other guests look normal, but if you walk the wrong direction in this neighborhood, you will regret it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Parking lot isvduffucult to use and limited space. Continental breakfast not available as was srared
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Jun 22, 2014
The hotel itself is quite nice however the location lets it down. Working in the hotel business myself I know that this is the hardest piece of criticism as you can't help the location. The staff were wonderful and couldn't help out enough, thank you very much!!
3 out of 5
by world traveler

Downtown hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Very old building...no air conditioners,restrooms constantly radiate an unpleasant smell,no printers ,too expensive for what it is but great location .Maybe Napelon was right...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location & free parking
Cons: bath & shower area
Location: Civic Center, Fisherman's Wharf, Symphony, Opera and a whole lot more.
Helpful staff, and free parking in the protected lot next door is excellent! Room was quiet and comfortable, but hot water was wanting in the morning. Otherwise no complaints.
2 out of 5
by Marcie from San Diego

So much potential ... but poor execution

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Good towels ... and good location.
Cons: See above.
Stayed at the Embassy because I participated in the Rock 'n Roll Half-Marathon ... and the hotel was near the finish line. Great architecture but not very clean and absolutely NO amenities (with the exception of wireless). Couldn't even print the boarding pass for my flight home. Returned to the hotel immediately after the race ... and was told I was "too late for coffee." Good grief. Bed seemed clean enough but the pillows atop the bedspread were downright scary. Wore shower shoes in the shower -- just to be on the safe side. Cabinets were falling apart and the hallway looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in a long time. Dingy ... Again, beautiful lines ... but not well exploited at all. Not sure what I'm going to do next year -- if the R 'n R keeps the same running course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Bill Graham Civic.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
A great hotel close to Bill Graham civic auditorium. Good staff and good rooms. My friends and I come here often are always happy with are stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lindsey from mount pearl, newfoundland

Cheap for a reason

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Decent hotel, but terribly sketchy neighborhood. Layout of hotel is confusing and parking is weird.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under renovation

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Not bad, but wouldnt stay here again. The location isnt great. The hotel isnt very pleasing, but hey if you get it for cheap its a fair deal. The staff would definitly be the only positive part.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good and inexpensive

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Stayed here for a night well some friends were in town, it was a nice cheap place to stay, but the room had a musty smell, but it wasn't to bad. Staff was cool, didn't have any problems.