Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: how big it was, the bar, the ambience
Location: south san francisco, plenty to do nearby
Everything flowed smoothly from the moment we stepped in to the moment we left. What I thought would be a big deal when we checked out early turned out to be minor hiccup thanks to the friendly, patient, helpful nature of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good hotel - little tweaks needed

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Overall comfortable and great breakfast
Cons: Quality of sofabeds!
Embassy Suites are a great chain for us as a family of 5. The two room suites and the inclusive breakfast serve us well. Overall this is a very good hotel. We had a couple of minor issues that we raised. Firstly our daughters (aged 16-18) were in the queen beds and my wife and I slept on the double fold down sofabed. The mattress on the fold down was basically shot and we could feel every spring. It was the most uncomfortable night I have EVER spent in a hotel. The staff gave us a mattress pad the next day which made it bearable, however it is clear that the mattress really needed replacing, and I didn't get the impression that the staff ever checked the fold downs. Secondly after a days sightseeing in San Fran we wanted a quiet swim in the pool. The hotel has a rule that it should be adults only in the pool after 10pm, however it is not policed, so at 10.10 I asked reception to intervene with the significant number of totally unsupervised young kids. By 10.20 I was still waiting so I ended up asking the kids to leave myself. Eventually a staff security member showed up at 10.25. It would be a simple thing to have a rota to check the 10pm cut off. If you are sightseeing in San Francisco it is not a convenient hotel. It is around 8 miles to Fisherman's Wharf, the local train station is not somewhere you want to be coming back to after dark, and taking the hotel courtesy bus to the airport and then a train takes over an hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MIA

Recommend to anyone going to SFO for bus./pleasure

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: felt like we were not out of the action, meaning the piers/fishermans wharf area. It is not as far as you might think for a vacation.would do it again
Cons: They are in the process of upgrading so from what they have done so far it looks like they are going to nail it.
Location: Not much in walking distance, but little town not far away. 5 minute drive. Also was great to go north to San Fransisco and south to San Mateo
They are upgrading now so will be all 5's when they are done. Parking fee was the only drag. Free breakfast / bar snacks / 2 cocktails everyday of your stay. Free shuttle to Pier on weekends Was nervous about the location having not been there but after deciding to get a car it worked out great to be not tied to just fishermans wharf area. Also I would recommend getting a car to anyone, I read reveiw after review and they were against renting a car. Parking downtown is bad but not as bad as they say. First day paid max all day which we used. other days meters have 2 or 4 our limits but planned day accordingly and you can bring it down to under half. Would of regretted this trip if we did not rent a car. Added some to the budget but would of been glad to pay after the fact of kids/wife telling me they are tired and want to go to hotel, or bored and want to go somewhere else. One flaw was asking a person at the front desk what kind of food was on the menu and his reply was its all on the menu over there. Would of prefered a reply like I am new and have not seen it but here is a copy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

An Excellent Stay

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Attentive staff and especially the reception even more than the free cook to order breakfast. We love the 10 to midnight adults only swimming.
Cons: Seems difficult to transition from the reception to the hotel restaurant for staffing.
Location: Everything is close and they will help you get there.
We stayed at this Embassy Suites Hotel because I love the chain. We were taking relatives with kids to the SF Airport and wanted two days in SF. The services were great and the free breakfast and receptions were more than you could have expected. We utilized the shuttle to union square and airport shuttle and all were flawless. We ate two days in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. The service is a little slow but it was well worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to AT&T

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Close to AT&T
Cons: Nothing
Location: Giants game
Weather was bad, very cold for summer, the hotel is old but very well kept and our stay was a pleasant one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Pretty nice

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Family friendly, good breakfast, nice beds, but the hide-a-bed felt like springs with a sheet draped over them. I've stayed in other Embassy Suites which were nicer than this particular one. I'd recommend Embassy Suites in general, but not this one necessarily.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno nv

good hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
This is my second time at this hotel and its good but they need to improve on everything, make new breakfast buffet and new drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice place but dated.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location and value.
Cons: Needs a facelift - pink tile with excessive caulk is not great in the bathroom.
Location: The city is a 25 minute free trolley ride away.
Property is in a decent location to visit San Fran without a $50 parking bill. The room was clean but definitely showed it's age. Both mornings the crows in the eucalyptus trees woke us up from 5AM - 6AM - the staff was accommodating but not much you can do about birds. Every interaction with the staff was very polite and professional - definitely a quality staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room heating/cooling not working

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: happy hour in the evening with unlimited drinks
Cons: basic room facilities like heat etc.. should be available
The room was clean and the happy hour in the evening with unlimited drinks was a great positive. But disappointing part was the room heat was not working . On asking they provided a mobile heater which heated only a small part of the room. Also it was quite rush in the morning as breakfast times were only till 9 am. On vacation with long drives, it was quite a challenge to make it in time..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel lobby beautiful! Breakfast great!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Manager's reception, breakfast, lobby.
Cons: Beds need to be replaced; room needs to be updated.
Enjoyed the hotel lobby and breakfast, as well as the manager reception. Was disappointed in the room. Stayed at an Embassy Suite in Columbus Ohio and expected the same room quality. Beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. Carpet in seating area stained. Bathroom dated with ripply wallpaper and mold stained grout. Outside door did not close securely.