Ratings based on 1,510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nikki from Reading, pa

Nice hotel alittle far from fishermans wharf..

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Overall the hotel was great! Clean and staff was friendly. My only draw back would be that it's a distance from fisherman wharf which is where many of the attractions were. You can get the Powell street line which is half a block from the hotel, but if you aren't familiar with the city you really have to pay attention to where to get off on the way back. You can get tours and day trips with pickups and drop offs in front of the hotel through extranomical and grayline which was a great option for a solo traveler! A taxi ride to and from the San Francisco airport is around $50! There is also a shuttle you can get to and from called "go-lorries" for only $14! Overall the experience was great and I would suggest it. If you are looking to really hangout at the wharf I would pay the extra money to stay at a hotel there but if you willing to do a quiet hotel with day trips or be willing to find ways to this hotel it is an awesome option!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, clean and comfortable

Posted Apr 18, 2014
This hotel was recommended by a friend who had stayed there some years ago. It is very central and convenient to Union Square and the Powell-Market cable car. Very comfortable bed, very friendly helpful staff, especially Vincent the Manager. My first room was dark, internal and a little smelly. In request they moved me the next day to a nicer, brighter room. The food/bar facilities in the hotel were disappointing but there are many caf├ęs, bars and restaurants close by. Their recommended for Scala bistro was excellent. Walking around the area my first evening (and each day in SG) it was not expecting to see so many people sleeping on the streets. Outside one of the fancier establishments on Union square was a guy who seemed to be cooling his butt cheeks on the pavement with his pants halfway on/off. It's just a part of SF. Each evening they have wine tasting (free red or white wine available) from a single vineyard for an hour. Not an event just wine available should you want a glass and staff were very attentive. Only other issue was the problem my airport shuttle driver (and company) had locating the hotel. I didn't have the correct address and the hotel is listed under Vintage Court not Executive Vintage with the taxi companies. Pleasant, safe, comfortable, very central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty room comfortable.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Room was lovely. Location was great. Walking distance to China town, Union Square, and North Beach Restaurants.
Comment from
Jan 16, 2014
Thank for your stay and we hope we see you again. Our hotels location is great and I am happy you found the room accommodations well suited for your needs! Best regards, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of attention to details

Posted Apr 11, 2014
First impression, room smelled a bit like urine. An employee was very friendly and helped me move to a new room, which only smelled marginally better...my clothes also absorbed the unpleasant smell. This hotel could be nice if they paid attention to the small things. Specifically, the layers of dust on everything didn't impress. The carpet was lumpy and felt rough and dirty. Overall, the place is a bit run down and needs some TLC. Plan on spending a very limited amount of time in the room if you stay here.
Comment from
Jan 16, 2014
Our apologies for any poor experience due to odors or dust in the guest room. Our hotel staff is here to assist and your stay should be pleasant, clean and refreshing. Our hotel staff is always here to assist you to make sure you found value in your stay and the right experience. As you noted, if the smell and cleaning did not highlight you senses and clothes, you may have had a better stay. Based on your notes you did enjoy our hotels central location and helpful staff. I will review and change any inspections with our staff to better the hotel and appreciate your comments too. Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lori from Canada

cozy hotel near cablecar lines

Posted Apr 10, 2014
we enjoyed our stay .The room was comfortable the staff was helpful and the complimentary breakfast and wine hour were a nice extra touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - between Union Square and Nob Hill

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Lovely hotel with old world charm. Rooms were not large (no dresser) but charming and attractive. Bed was comfortable and nice view out of window to side street below. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and there was complimentary wine in the evening - very civilized! Good location to walk to many neighborhoods - Chinatown, Nob Hill, Union Square. Short Muni ride to Castro. Only draw back was the 5 am trash truck that was exceptionally loud. Nonetheless, we will definitely stay here again if we come back to San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in heart of San Francisco.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, reasonable rate.
Location: Great location.
This was a lovely boutique style hotel with a very friendly staff. The facitlites were older and the rooms small but very functional.
3 out of 5
by Wendy from Surrey, BC Canada

Not comfortable

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The gentlemen in lobby ( I supposed he is a doorman) was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: smell in the room. the slow running water in shower.
Location: The location is convenient just at the edge of China Town. Not far to restaurant and cafe. One block to the cable car station. Walking to Fisherman's
The room I stayed has a window face the garbage cans. So I was scared of the huge noise in the early morning about 3 or 4 clock. Even I had prepared to have a small room because the location is busy area, I still be impressed by the small room and small shower space. The drainer of shower didn't work well so when I took shower my feet was in the slow water and had to shut down the water to wait. The smell in the room was unpleasant. The internet is another problem. It often disconnected and I had to try again and again to open a email. The parking is expensive as valet parking $40 per day. When I checked in I told the gentleman in the front desk we would have a valet parking the first night and self parking second night which price is $30, he said no problem but he didn't told us we must remove the car the second day and re-enter the parking lot to change to self park. When we check out we were charge 2 days valet parking because we didn't use the car at all so the status of the car was still in valet parking. The lady who helped me check out said the guy checked me in should told me reenter the parking lot but he didn't. She said the parking lot runs by another company so the hotel just collect money for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Everything is nice, especially the friendly staff. Very comfort except the smell of the room.
3 out of 5
by victor from g.a

Ehh

Posted Mar 27, 2014
I like the room and look. But the a.c. system is so old and the room smelled like a wet dog I left it off because it was bringing in the smells from the nasty ally... another room could be better but thats how my stay was. Bring a candle......?