Ratings based on 1,345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Erik from Chicago

Looks trendy but not the cleanest

Posted Apr 9, 2014
The location was good and close to Union Square and shopping on Market Street, and despite being in an old historic building the lobby and rooms have been tastefully refurbished with trendy decor. However, the dark purple carpet was dirty and I didn't realize how filthy it was until I came across a nasty huge insect crawling from underneath one of the chairs. Never again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mac from Washington DC

Pleasantly Quirky

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff and a comfortable room in a pleasantly quirky hotel made for a relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from San Diego

Classy Hotel with great location

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The Art and garden terrace.
Cons: The complementary morning coffee was too weak.
Location: Great location. Easy walking to Chinatown, North Park & Union Square. The Powell Street Cable Car is 3 blocks away.
Originally given small room on busy street, which interrupted my sleep. I requested a different room the next morning and was given a larger room that was on inner court, so was very quiet. The staff was very helpful & friendly. The location is 2 blocks from the Gate to Chinatown, and near to Union Square. The art in the rooms and hallways was very nice. The 3rd floor has an outdoor terrace that is lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tight

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: location
Location: The location was easy walking distance to everything.
I really wanted to like this hotel given the location. I originally was going to book a double room but noticed that the size of the room was only 250 sf. Most 3 and 4 star hotels I consider are around 300 sf. I decided to pay more and get the Jr suite although it did not mention the size of the room I felt comfortable paying more thinking I would get significantly more room. I was wrong. I probably would have been fine with the size of the room if the bathroom was not soooooooooooo tiny. I mean small. There was no counter space which for my wife is essential and did seem to make it very difficult to get ready. The shower was extremely small as well. I think I was also a little put off by the fact that it was raining the day I showed up and when I pulled my car up to the curb no one came out to assist me with my bags. After I finally brought all my bags in someone came up to offer to take the car and take my bags to the room. Other than that, I would say the staff was very helpful and friendly made an excellent choice for dinner that night. The last negative was we had an outside facing room which I usually enjoy but given the single pane windows we could hear almost everything that was going on outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Finster from New York, NY

Charming and Comfortable

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Super comfortable bed and pillows.
Cons: The mini-bar in my room was not plugged in, so all the beverages were warm at first.
Location: Super convenient to Union Square.
Beautiful building and lobby, staff was friendly and accomodating. Free coffee in the morning and wine in the evening in the lobby. It was a nice opportunity to meet a few other guests, which is nice when you're travelling alone for business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful hotel in Financial District

Posted Mar 26, 2014
We booked this hotel last minute based on the reviews we read on Expedia. The only thing I didn't realize is how expensive self parking would be at $32 a night. It's a nice hotel very close to buses and the metro-line. The 30 bus line goes to palace of the fine arts, crooked street, fisherman's wharf, and ghiradelli. The hotel was nice and clean but the windows are thin. The staff is unlike any other hotel I've been to. They are extremely friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Elkhart, IN

Good, but watch out for hidden fees

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Location, wine hour, walking track/garden on roof
Cons: Enlarge the $5/bottle sign apparently placed on the desk or put the water in the minibar area.
Location: Sushirrito, Chinatown Gate, Montgomery St. shopping, Montgomery St. BART stop.
My small group (two twentysomethings) stayed here as part of a vacation. We were quite pleased to find that we'd arrived for the daily complimentary wine hour. After a quick change in the room, and more wine downstairs, we went out in search of food. Even though it was early evening in the financial district, we had a decent selection of dining options within easy walking distance. The next day, we ate brunch at Sushirrito (a must eat for any sushi fans!) before heading twoish blocks to the Chinatown gate, exploring most of Chinatown, and then walking to Pier 33 for the Alcatraz tour departure. When we checked out the following day, we were presented with a $20 extra charge for consuming the bottles of water left on the table in our room. The minibar area, with drinks inside the fridge and dry snacks in an alcove, is located across the room in a cabinet and near a menu detailing the prices for each item. We never saw the bottles of water listed on the menu. When we brought this to the front desk's attention, the clerk stated "lots of people miss the small $5/bottle sign on the desk," but that "it's definitely there." Our thoughts were that if people are missing the sign, perhaps it should be larger. The hotel ultimately waived $10 of the $20 fee, but it's still a lot. For the price of the hotel, complimentary water should be a foregone conclusion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Denver, Co

Nice hotel near the financial district

Posted Feb 7, 2014
The location of the hotel is near Muni and Bart. It's a nice area anytime and great location to some wonderful restaurants and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel, would stay again.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
I was unsure about trying out this hotel, but it's Union Square location and Double Queen room were my "must have's." High ceilings made the smaller rooms feel large and comfortable. The black out curtains were great especially after my long night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Chciago, IL

Very Pleasant Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at the Galleria Park Hotel. The location is excellent, staff helpful and rooms are really nice! All in all a very enjoyable visit!