Ratings based on 1,345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location
Great location, room, staff. Everything is as advertised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Jakarta

Excellent location with basic comfort

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: up grade the pillows and provide full toilet amenities.
Location: Shop, eat, union square and cable car
The lobby for the reception and concierge is a beautiful setting, it gives the San Franciscan style for free and easy atmosphere. The location is so convenience, close to cable car, major shopping areas. If you do not plan to rent a car and want to do a shopping trip to San Francisco, this is a good location. The pillows are not comfortable. Unlike the other Grand Hyatt I have stayed, the toilet amenities are very basic and limited to bath gel, soap, shampoo and conditioner only. The room doesn't give the 5 stars feeling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Potentially Pleasing/Excellent IF...

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: location, aesthetics
The aesthetics of the hotel & location are great. The issue I had was probably room specific and not the whole hotel so I would actually rate higher if not for the A/C was blasting the whole time - could not adjust or turn off. The tech had to come at 1:30am to finally yank the thermostat off the wall (I could have done that) - KUDOS that he DID show up fast though. Also I was in room 1209 (view of Starbucks @ Stockton & Post) and the room had a constant odor of what I would describe as similar to cheeseburgers w/grilled onions the WHOLE time I was there. I thought it was just the room next door had ordered room service right before my arrival - but no…it was a constant odor that drove me nuts. When i went to open the sliding door to get fresh air, the odor was stronger - so perhaps it was wafting upward from below so they need to secure that door & weatherstrip it if it can't be opened anyway. I WOULD stay there again - I would just make sure not to stay on that side of the hotel. Thankfully it wasn't a hot weekend so I didn't bother with the A/C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Fabulous service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located next to Union Square
The best service I have ever experienced at a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Upscale hotel near Union Square

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We were able to book this hotel at a very discounted rate, maybe because there is major construction going on in the street below. However, when we checked in, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a higher floor, and from there (floor 31), we couldn't really hear it--although they begin very early (I think even 6am), and continue well into the evening (possibly as late as 10pm). But for us, it didn't affect our stay, and we had a lovely time. The hotel seems to have pretty much any amenity you could want available either in the room or by request. It is a good location near Union Square, the Powell Street cable cars and Chinatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stonehaven, Aberdeen, UK

Lovely Hotel at Union Square

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, confort
Cons: Everything was fantastic and customer service was excellent
Location: It was right at Union Square and nearby shops, chinatown and theatre district. There is also a cable car which starts at nearby Powell Street.
On arrival at the hotel we were met by welcoming staff who checked us in. The trip was a special occasion as my wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff were already aware of this and sent a bottle of wine up to our room with a couple of cup cakes. A lovely gesture and very much appreciated. We ate only once at One Up which is the hotel restaurant but it was delicious and not over priced. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with coffee making facilities available. The TV was incredibly and was interactive which allowed you to review the area to find attractions, restaurants etc. On a couple of occasions we asked for items that we didn't have with us and they were delivered free of charge to the room a short time later. All in all it was a fantastic experience at a hotel which was nearby the bustling Union Square and shopping malls. Would definitely recommend and hope to return some time soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Penngrove, CA

Very noisy. Very Poor bar service. Indifferent

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Not much. It was close to a meeting I had to attend.
Cons: Everything. See above comments.
The room was ok. Clean and comfortable beds. The room was very noisy due to crowd noise from the street. It sounded like New Years Eve. Around 2AM the drunks went away but the construction noise from the new subway kept you awake the rest of the night. The bar service was poor at best. I ordered a specific drink. After a 10 minute wait in a not crowded bar the waiter brought my drink and informed me that it was a different drink than I had ordered. He wanted to know if I wanted this drink or another drink that I had not ordered. When I told him I did not want either drink and I wanted something else he seemed put out by may request. After another 10 minute wait I finally received my drink. I thought you were supposed to get what you ordered not what the waiter or bartender wants to serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Walking distance from everything . Cable car 1 block
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Overall good value, close to all main attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Central Union Square Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location and the fine amenities make the Grand Hyatt a great place to stay.
Location: Chinatown is two blocks away. Union Square is outside the hotel. BART is just blocks away.
Our stay at the Grand Hyatt was excellent! Chinatown, Union Square, BART stations were all steps away. The staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodated all of our needs. We will definitely stay here again.