Ratings based on 1,514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Concierge was wonderful.
Cons: I had wished there were self-serve laundry facilities on site. The valet parking is only affordable if work is paying for it anyway. ;-)
Location: Excellent location.
Positive experience. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

San Francisco getaway

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION. Staff very professional, concierge services great, overall conditions were top notch. Wifi throughout hotel.
Location: Centrally located to all...great neighborhood; Union Square
Nov 2014: Hyatt accommodated our early arrival with a fantastic room (2505). Everything was is perfect condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Very enjoyable stay.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Efficient staff. Close to all amenities.
Cons: A larger pick-up / drop-off area would be beneficial.
Location: A lot of the San Francisco 'Hot Spots' are within walking distance.
The front line staff were friendly and very helpful. All areas we encountered were clean and comfortable. Our room and atmosphere were quiet for a good rest. Other than a long bus tour, we walked to our destinations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

special birthday celebration

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Everything was top notch from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Nice hotel, friendly doormen, nice amenities.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Good experience, decent price. Good amenities, has an far-eastern vibe to it. If you select city view, you'll get some really nice views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Great, central hotel with free Wi-Fi

Posted Nov 8, 2014
We only had two days in San Francisco, so wanted a central hotel from which we could easily access shops and sights. I actually chose the Grand Hyatt at Union Square because it has free Wi-Fi (well, it is included in the price!) and this was a better deal than other hotels in the vicinity that charge around $15 a day, which is ridiculous in my opinion. The hotel is modern, comfortable and has friendly staff. We didn't use many of the services, or even eat or drink in the restaurant/bar, as there are so many cafes and Starbucks close by, so can't comment on those. Nevertheless, staff at front desk were helpful and polite. We had a problem with the blind in our room, mentioned it to the concierge and it was fixed with a friendly note left by the time we returned. The hotel is close to all the shops, and it's a pleasant walk (flat!) down Market Street to the Ferry Building, from where you can walk along Embarcadero and the various piers. We had booked tickets for Alcatraz in advance, and it was a 30-minute walk to Pier 33 from the hotel. You could have taken a street car or bus, but we chose to walk. It's easy to take the tram or no.30 bus up to Fisherman's Wharf from the hotel, so a great choice in our opinion.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Great views--bad service and dated rooms

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: the Views facing the bay are wonderful if you are above the 13th floor. The ladies who run the concierrege are great.
Crazy noisy heating system--no bathrobes or mattes--uncomfortable furniture--horrible internet connection and food trays that sat on the floor in the hallway for days at a time without being picked up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the less than ideal experience. We offer an amenity list for our guests ranging from bath ropes to slippers and everything in between and we are truly sorry that this was not properly communicated to you. Your comment about the internet connection and food trays is much appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate departments to review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great location near Union Square.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel was a definite plus.
Cons: My main observation was the last of restrooms on the first several floors. The only restroom was for one person off of the bar area.
Location: RIght on Union Square. Plenty of shopping, restaurants and transportation options.
The hotel is located near shopping, restaurants and transportation. Whether you want to walk, take the cable car, the MUNI, subway or street car, they are all close by. The concierge was very helpful arranging several tours, giving directions and recommending places to eat. They have an awesome happy hour that is from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. each day. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant, but tried several appetizers in the bar area. They were fine. I was there during the World Series and everywhere you went they were cheering for the Giants. It was great to see such enthusiasm for the hometown team. Our room had an awesome view of the city, which was a nice surprise. I enjoyed the view, especially at night. The housekeeping staff forgot the replenish our coffee one day. When I called for some they delivered in within minutes. I would definitely recommend and would stay there again if I were to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to union square

Posted Nov 2, 2014
nice view nice hotel close to union square nice view nice hotel close to union square nice view nice hotel close to union square nice view nice hotel close to union square nice view nice hotel close to union square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Augusta, SC

Nice hotel in BEST location!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location, also the beds were great and very soft linens.
Cons: Need to update the rooms. Need to leave more towels in room on daily basis. There were 2 of us and we only had 3 towels. Don't skimp!
Location: The very best thing about the location is being near Market Street and Union Square where all of the great shopping is located!
This is a nice hotel but does not have many frills. If you are just looking for a clean hotel near good shopping and great food, this will work. If you want something luxurious this is not the place. It is basic but clean. Staff was usually helpful and friendly. Several of the doormen could use some better manners.