Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel was antiquated with stains on the ceiling, pipes making a lot of noise if someone around your room uses anything in the bathroom. Elevator wasnt working so had to constantly walk up stairs to get to my room. Wouldn't stay there again. Good experience to teach me what a hotel SHOULDN'T be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location of the hotel is very good but unfortunately the hotel is in very bad shape and I didn't like how the hotel smell.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Not terrible, but don't recommend

Posted Jun 25, 2014
I stayed there for a long weekend, for 2 nights. Hotel facilities are bad! Walls in the room falling apart, carpet very stained, so small I almost couldn't walk around the room. At least the towels, sheets, bathroom were clean. Also, the concierge was a very nice person, who gave me all the directions I needed to get around town to the sightseeing points. Those were the only upsides. No heating and no air-conditioning. The hotel is in the first block of Chinatown, not a nice place to walk around at night. But at least it's located very close to Union Square, bus, train and cable car stops. That was good too. The hotel is not terrible, the low price compensates when you need to stay 1 or 2 nights, but wouldn't recommend for a longer stay or for people who are used to hotels a little more classy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

Great location!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Very sweet hotel in Chinatown-loved being in one of the hearts of the city!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Convenient location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location and service
Location: Walking distance for shopping at the small or bigger stores, restaurants, pharmacies, tour store.
We stayed at this hotel while taking several tours to visit San Francisco and Yosemite Park. It is located on a very busy street with plenty of small Chinese stores and street singers. Our room faced the street but we didn't have any noise problem. Good location to visit the Financial Center, to walk for shopping and eating. The hotel doesn't offer breakfast, but you can have your coffee in the morning. It also has free WiFi and computer and printer to facilitate the online Check In.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Hotel condition and features are totally different from website pictures.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Australia

Quite a good location close to Chinatown.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Old style with some character and location.
Cons: Needs air conditioning or at least fans, wouldn't like to be there in mid summer.
Location: As mentioned many good choices of restuarants nearby in Chinatown which was what we desired.
We didn't expect a lot for the price and that was how it turned out. It is a reasonable basic hotel with a good location but don't expect too much. The room on the first night was pretty terrible, small and pokey for older travellers like us so we requested or at least demanded a better room. This was organised so that made the stay a lot better. I would only really recommend this older style hotel if you wanted to be within handy walk to Chinatown and the California Street cable car. Also provided you have a reasonable sized room.
3 out of 5
by travel lover! from Seattle

Great location but...

Posted Jun 16, 2014
I didn't have the highest hopes for this hotel. I knew for the price we were getting it at and the fact it was so central that it wouldn't be fantastic but we tried anyways. My friend and I had 2 uncomfortable, noisy twin beds. We were on the 5th floor and constantly heard people walking heavily upstairs. The linens were old and the room was dark and facing a courtyard... If that is what you want to call it. Basically you were 10' away from another rooms' window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from Cleveland, OH

Comfortable and affordable, no frills

Posted Jun 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Grant Plaza. The hotel is definitly older and you get what you pay for. This is a no frills place but our stay was very comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. I read a lot of complaints about the noise but it didn't bother us at all. Also, there is no air conditioning but that is pretty standard in SF. It cools down enough at night that opening the windows works just as well. The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the Bart and 5 minutes from a lot of Union Square shops. For the price and location I think this is a great hotel to stay at.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an ok hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Good location, but a bit expense for what it offers.